We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Anniversary stay,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Anniversary stay,”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We spent the weekend there for our 15th year anniversary and the service was extremely excellent. We were surprised to find truffles and sweets in our room upon arrival with anniversary wishes and our own letter head. The rooms and hotel are very clean and everyone there makes you feel very comfortable. No mater what race, gender or age – you are treated with respect and equality.
I highly recommend this hotel for an enjoyable romantic stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay.

I am thrilled that you chose Harbour House Hotel as the romantic getaway to celebrate your 15th Anniversary! We look forward to hopefully celebrating your 16th Anniversary with you!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    133
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
75
852
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My wife and I wanted to go somewhere nice and quiet just for a nice short relaxing getaway. We were extremely pleased with the hotel. The rooms were clean and well kept, the service was amazing and the staff extremely accommodating and polite. Breakfast was very good and a great start to the day.

Room Tip: We had a harbor view room which had very nice scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Attention to detail is everywhere, you won't be disappointed - this hotel is the best!
Wonderful harbour and marina views, a short walk to the main street, and gorgeous well appointed rooms makes it the perfect place to stay while visiting Niagara on the Lake.

J. Page

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JBP4-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you for your kinds words! We are very thankful to work with such a wonderful team who strive to exceed our guests expectations.

I look forward to the opportunity to say hello during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I did not stay here but stopped by to purchase some cookies for my children and I based on all the reviews mentioning them. The place looks just like the photos beautiful, quaint and the front desk staff had five star hospitality. I stayed in Niagara Falls but will be returning for a stay at Harbour House in the summer and I can't wait. Wish I hadn't pre paid for my accommodations before seeing Harbour House rebiews. My only complaint is that I wish I had stayed in Niagara on the Lake, it is a magical place that should not be overlooked and the icing on the cake is the Harbour House cookies!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank desy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife & I stayed for one night in the premium room with a view of the harbour. We were greeted with freshly baked cookies in our room (the whole place smelled like cookies baking!) The staff was friendly and courteous and the room was very clean and comfortable. The room had a nice fireplace, comfortable bed and a cozy layout. There was wine and cheese available after 4pm in the reception area and they also offer free shuttle service to and from any restaurant in the area. We went to the Oban Inn for dinner which had excellent service and delicious food presented very artfully (the only draw back was the elevator music playing in the restaurant :) The breakfast at Harbour House was adequate with a decent selection of food (we were expecting a little more quality after reading some other posts). Its within walking distance of the main street and a great place to stay for an overnight or weekend get-away!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrari07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your wonderful weekend! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed all that Harbour House has to offer, especially the cookies. I can’t tell you how hard it is to work in that wonderful aroma every day!

We look forward to your next stay at Harbour House Hotel.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Bring your dog. This is the best place I have ever stayed with my dog. I don't travel with her often, but if all hotels made this type of effort for guests on two or four legs I would take her everywhere.
Amazing, yes amazing service and warmth from every staff member we encountered. The breakfast described to us as "French continental"... Not sure what that meant and I assumed it would leave us hungry...oh contraire mes amis.. It was fabulous, filling and complete.
We'll be back, all of us.

Room Tip: Just book a room, they are all terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We booked a one night stay at the Harbour House so we could get a taste of the Lake Niagara area. We couldn't have made a better choice. The staff was welcoming and went out of their way to make sure our visit was a memorable one. The room was large, the king size bed was comfortable and the gas fireplace was a perfect touch on the cold snowy night we spent there. There was a shuttle available to take you to dinner or downtown but we enjoyed the short walk into town. There are many fine restaurants to choose from and interesting shops to explore. I am sure in the summer there are even more businesses open. On our way out of town we stopped at one of the many local wineries and bought some ice wine, a local speciality. We plan to return this summer when the warmer weather returns.

Room Tip: "We had a Snique away deal so the value was outstanding!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are happy to hear that after enjoying a wonderful dinner in town, and were able to relax in the comfort of you bed with warm glow of your fireplace. And yes, ice wine is something everyone should experience! Niagara-on-the-Lake hosts an annual Ice Wine Festival each January where the local wineries & restaurants can showcase their products, it is a great experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House this summer….if not sooner!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing