We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Get Away, will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing Get Away, will return!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a relaxing 2 day stay at the Harbour House Hotel. After visiting Niagara Falls last year and staying at the Falls and just happening upon the adorable little town of Niagara on the Lake last year quite by accident we knew we wanted to return and stay here. After researching hotels in the area the reviews of Harbour House were so good we had to try it and I must say our visit did not disappoint! We booked the Whirlwind of Wine 2 day package and stayed in a Premium Room. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating. When we checked in they provided us with an envelope that explained our package including our dinner reservation that night and arrangements for our wine tour/tasting the following day. After they showed us where breakfast would be served etc. we were taken up to our room and showed how to use the jacuzzi and fireplace. When we got to our room we instantly felt the stress of our long drive disappear, it was just just so relaxing and inviting, right down to a little bag of cookies waiting for us in the room. They take care of all of the details, robes in your room, a cozy blanket on the chair, cookies, even a little rubber duck sitting by the bathtub :) After a little rest we went down to the lobby to partake in the wine and cheese sampling and we met some of the hotels other guests.

We enjoyed dinner at the Charles Inn our first night (I will be posting a nice review for our time spent there too) we took advantage of the complimentary shuttle service that they provide to take us to and from dinner and our driver showed us around a bit a gave us a little history of the town.

The next day we enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the conservatory and we were picked up from the hotel lobby to go on our wine tour and returned to enjoy more wine and cheese in the lobby at 4:00 PM.

The hotel is in a great location and we had a view of the river from our room. It is about 5 minute walk up into town and once we parked our car upon arrival we didn't use it again until we checked out.

I cannit wait to return again next year as we plan to make this an annual trip, my only hope is that we can stay for 3 days instead of just 2 - it just went by too fast!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything! The two day Whirlwind of Wine package is a great way to experience some of the highlights of the Niagara Region. I’m not sure of a better way to spend an afternoon then wine tasting followed up with a wonderful dinner at The Charles Inn. Maybe with your next visit you can experience one of the first Vinotherapy Spa treatments at our sister property The Shaw Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    136
    44
    18
    7
See reviews for
79
868
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, ON
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

This was my wife and my second stay at Harbour House, and it was just as great as the first time. The rooms are, spacious and comfortable, with everything you need including a gas fireplace.. Our room had a nice view of the marina. The hotel is located a five minute walk from the town's main strip and theatres. Your stay includes free parking. The included breakfast is an amazing buffet as almost everything is freshly made or baked with unique recipes. The blueberry french toast and homemade granola are particular standouts! Each afternoon there is a wine tasting of local wines with onsite baked cookies and a unique cheese spread with crackers. The personal service only makes the entire experience even better. We can't wait for our next stay at Harbour House!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budsfan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Niagara-on-the-Lake is one of our favorite getaway destinations. Harbour House provides both great service and location. We like the fact this it close to the Niagara River and Lake Ontario. Queen Street can be very busy, but with a five minute walk you can be back in a quiet and relaxing environment. We love the personal touches that the Harbour House uses to enhance our stay. The personal welcome notes, fresh baked cookies, daily newsletter, and room journals enhance the guest experience. The entire staff is truly guest focused and they look for ways to make your stay memorable. During your visit, don't miss Cows on Queen Street!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djh8_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are truly lucky to have such a great team to work with. I agree, Cows is a fantastic store on Queen St. and definitely worth a visit.

I look forward to the opportunity to say hello during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We spent the weekend of April 19th - 21st, 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The little touches make all the difference. We stayed in room 202 and it was cozy and romantic - we used the fireplace and the whirlpool tub as the weekend was very cold so it was nice to warm up after getting back to our room. We had dinner at The Harpe Irish Pub on both nights (the food was awesome) - we also did the Ghost Walk tour on the Saturday evening which was interesting and fun. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyRN40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I've stayed here twice .. mainly because it feels like home. Extra touches such as free DVD library, free local wine tasting and cheese upon arrival, yummy home made cookies in room ... not matched anywhere else.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. It is great to hear that our extra touches have added to your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you “back home” very soon!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at the Harbour House on a travelzoo deal. For $179 I think it was we got the room, wine, breakfast (always included) and $25 for dinner, which we used at Zee's (we really like it there).

Check-in was a bit crowded, but we went immediately after our matinee, as I think everyone else did. But, it was quick and efficient, and the lovely young ladies working the desk were very pleasant.

The inn is quaint, although slightly larger than I envisioned. The public areas actually feel a little bit too small comapred to the number of rooms they have. But, I can get over that quite quickly. The front recpetion area, with sitting area and fireplace is lovely. In the late afternoon they have wine tasting with some light snacks. The breakfast was quite tasty as well.

The room was quite lovely -- we were on the top floor and had a view of the river. It was terrific. The bathroom was also very nice. I'd say it was probably the nicest room we've stayed in in Niagara on the Lake -- it was very spacious and comfortable (complete with a bottle of wine and some fresh-baked cookies, personalized stationary, etc). This is a level of service that you just don't receive at the other properties.

I'd say that the Harbour House has the best service in Niagara from the places I've stayed (Shaw Club, Queen's Landing, Pillar and Post). The room was terrific as well. What it does not have is the amenities of a place like the Queen's Landing, although, it being right across the road, it is very easy to wander over and enjoy the property.

The troubling thing about NOTL is that I have no loyalty to any one of the properties in particular (except I'm very loyal to Zee's). I still need to try Charles Inn, Oban Inn, and Prince of Wales. So, at the end of the day, I will stay at whichever elite property has the best rate. Maybe if one of them started a loyalty program, I might be more loyal. ;-)

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river is splendid. I bet there isn't a bad room in the joint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A very enjoyable two nights at the Harbour House. Part of a package that included a dinner at the Charles Inn, a winery tour and spa certificate, etc. Our room was a good size with a gas fireplace, which was cozy in the cool April weather. The shuttle service was very handy. The included buffet-type breakfast was nothing exotic, but more than enough to fill one up. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank NVCBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your package with us along with the fireplace in your room.

I look forward to the opportunity of saying hello during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara-on-the-Lake
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
477 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
573 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,598 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing