We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2008

This unique boutique hotel nestled in the historic village of Niagara-on-the-Lake embodies the essence of a deluxe hotel and is the perfect romantic get-away. It is a leisurely stroll to Shaw Festival, the main street with its quaint shops, and several restaurants. And it is just one short block to the mighty Niagara River and Lake Ontario.

Everything about Harbour House is luxurious and elegant and the attention to detail is superb! Under the guidance of Ryan Murray, General Manager, all the staff were friendly, attentive, helpful and yet unobtrusive. We were pampered with late afternoon wine tastings featuring Niagara wines, shuttle service to area restaurants and a sumptuous breakfast. Our room was an oasis of serenity with a fireplace, whirlpool tub, ultra-comfortable bed with luxury linens, personalized stationary, decadent chocolates – these are just a few of the amenities that Harbour House provides to earn the well-deserved award as the #1 Hotel in Canada. We shall return to nourish our body and soul!

Stayed: May 2008
3  Thank Mim952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2008

The Harbour House Hotel was everything we hoped! The hotel is quaint and the rooms are beautiful and the beds are soooo comfortable. But above all the service is amazing! The staff remembered our name and was more than willing to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We loved the personal touches in the room and the breakfast was to die for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone a hundred times over, its a great addition to a great town like Niagara on the the Lake!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank banna0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

I don't want to spend to much time repeating what you have obviously been reading about this hotel. I simply want to tell you that this hotel is everything you will read. The service is unlike anything I have ever experienced, the staff actually seem happy to be working! The beds and rooms are luxurious and beyond comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. Go, Go, Go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FoodieJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

My husband and I spent the chilly, rainy afternoon and evening of Friday, May 2nd in a cozy suite at Harbour House. This hotel is located just about 2 blocks from the lakefront gazebo at Queen's Royal Park. So you can enjoy all of the hubbub of Queen Street, then retreat to your room in this quiet neighborhood and relax. We were pleased to find very friendly, professional staff. Upon check-in, someone gave us a tour of the main floor and of our room. When we asked for help with dinner reservations, another staff person provided us with menus of local restaurants and arranged our reservation and a shuttle. Upon returning from Queen Street in the late afternoon, we enjoyed some complimentary wine and socialized in the lounge area of the reception with some of the other guests. We really enjoyed our ride over to and back from dinner at the Charles Inn with Joseph, our shuttle driver. He is a real gem and entertained us with Niagara-on-the-Lake history. Dinner at the Charles Inn was fabulous. Our suite at Harbour House was tastefully decorated and was meticulously clean. We really enjoyed all of the amenities provided in the room, including a very comfortable, king sized bed with featherbed and down comforter, lots of natural light from the many windows, a gas fireplace, fluffy robes, a double jacuzzi tub and separate shower, and a window seat in a bay window which overlooked the Niagara River and marina. We slept peacefully, we didn't hear any street noises, or other guests. The hotel provided us with a fantastic "picnic" breakfast delivered to our room the next morning ($5 per guest to have the breakfast brought to you rather than trekking down to the first floor - its worth it). We enjoyed large bowls of fresh fruit (honeydew, blueberries, strawberries, kiwi, canteloupe), an array of scones, sliced whole grain breads and chocolate chip bread, cold cuts, cheeses, fresh preserves and spreads, and coffee and orange juice. We emerged from our Harbour House coccoon refreshed and ready to rejoin the real world. We will enjoy returning to this oasis when the weather is a bit warmer and plan to take advantage of the rental bikes provided onsite in the underground parking area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kirchy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

My husband and I received a Life Experience Gift Card for the Harbour House Hotel. We combined the pampering we received at the Hotel with the Shaw Festival and Winery Tour. We will certainly return - but next time for a longer period of time.

The staff at the Hotel went above and beyond !!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanky55Puslinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

My wife and I stayed at Harbour House April 16th to 18th. This was our 4th time staying at Harbour House so that should give you an indication of what we think of this hotel. We booked their "Babymoon" package (see their website for details).

Location: The hotel is not on the main strip of Niagara-on-the-Lake, but is well within walking distance (5-10 mins.). The hotel also has a shuttle service and is willing to take you pretty much everywhere. We were lucky to have great weather during our stay, so we walked the whole time.

Hotel room: All the rooms at the hotel are beautiful. Each room has a fireplace and beautiful bathrooms. Our bathroom had a 2 person whirlpool tub. The king sized bed was very comfortable, a warm duvet and plenty of pillows.

Staff: The staff here are great. They are extremely friendly and always willing to cater your every need. I have absolutely no complaints about the staff. They are the best that I have ever encountered.

Other items: The hotel has a complimentary breakfast each morning and it is nothing to sneeze at. Fresh fruit, baked goods, warm breakfast pie and smoked salmon. Each afternoon, they also have complimentary wine tasting. Each time we have been there, they have featured a different winery.

Overall, this is a fantastic property. I'm afraid to stay at any other hotel in the area, because I know what I would be missing at the Harbour House!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disneynorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We received a giftcard for this place and were so excited after reading about it. Harbour House exceeded our expectations! The service was excellent. Well decorated room and reception area. There's a tingy porch area for you to sit and chat at night as well. Very friendly and helpful with telling us how to get around. Location is close to main shops.

Dinner at one of it's sister resturants(inns) was pretty good. The breakfast they offered was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel!!! Fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, cold cuts, cereal, smoked salmon (locs), baked apple dish and more! I wish all hotels had breakfast like theirs. A wonderful buffet breakfast to start the day.

The room was spacious, very comfortable bed, ability to borrow DVD's from Reception, very nice and modern bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, cozy fireplace...a very comfortable room that you almost don't want to leave! They even leave you a bag of delicious cookies for when you arrive.

There was a wine and cheese time. Don't expect much but it was nice to be able to try some of the local wine with a bit of cheese. Be sure to go on a local wine tour while you're there and enjoy the little shops and resturants.

Overall, a wonderful experience that I will continue to recommend! Definately worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpyoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,114 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £117 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing