We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service in lovely setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Everything from the welcoming staff - ALL the staff, including the cleaners - to the complimentary wine and cheese daily, to the delicious breakfasts and the room were superb. We spent two nights and would have stayed longer but for other plans. We'd return anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbpTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
There are newer reviews for Harbour House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was one of the loveliest stays I've had in a long time. My mother and sister and I chose the Girls' Getaway package and it was all we could hope for and more. The hotel is next to the harbour and about a 10 min walk to town centre, and there is also a very accommodating free shuttle service. What's best about it in the busy season, is that this hotel is away from the noise and crowds, and close to the picturesque harbour. Rooms, service, impeccable. Wine and crackers before dinner. The associated restaurants (Charles Inn, Zee's Grill) are fabulous. Don't hesitate to book here! We all loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our “Just Us Gals” getaway package and appreciated our quaint and convenient location down by the Harbour and yet still close to the main attractions. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to The Charles Inn and Zees restaurant and I look forward to welcoming you back to our Harbour House on your next planned getaway to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warmest Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We loved this hotel. From the thoughtful extra touches, to the delicious breakfast, and lovely room ... It was a fabulous stay ! Our view of the water, the gas fireplace, the whole experience was so special.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have heard a lot of great things about this hotel through Trip advisor. I am so happy that I was able to experience all the wonderful comments first hand. You cannot even begin to imagine how everything was absolutely so perfect there! First off, the grounds, and the hotel itself. Small (meaning, not a huge hotel feel), quaint, and the room we stayed in was just gorgeous. Ever so clean, both our room, and the hotel itself, and so very welcoming and comfortable. You do not have to bring anything in terms of personal needs, and toiletries. Everything is covered, even Q-tips and make up remover! The bathrooms are a complete Wow factor! The staff pay attention to every detail for their guests, and even pet guests. We stayed for 2 nights in the middle of the most recent March snowstorm, and it was just so great to be able to rest, relax, and have everything taken care of for you. My pet dog had his own bed, treats, a toy, food and water bowls. And, although it was a pet designated room, you would not know it. It did not have the usual musty dog smell like other big chain hotels. The breakfast was really good ... And the food so fresh- scones, croissants, smoked salmon, huge fruit bowl, hard boiled eggs, real butter, yoghurt, cereal, and I can go on and on. From 4-5:30, they have an awesome wine and cheese in the sitting room, and later on at night, cookies!!!!!! As mentioned, they also have a shuttle in the evening. Lastly, I should mention that I came here with my BFFL, her daughter, and myself with my son for a March Break retreat. The kids loved it as they were totally spoiled with the food, and loved being able to just relax, read, play with the board games they had, all in another environment other than their home. And, being on holiday, we were able to spoil ourselves with the breakfast, and wonderful dinners in the area. Seriously, if you want a totally relaxing get away, come here, and you will not regret it! Thanks, Harbour House for an amazing 2 night stay! You can be sure that we will be back again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a relaxing getaway. Thank you for taking notice of all that we have to offer, from the amenities available in the rooms, to the wine and cheese sampling and over 28 items available to everyone at breakfast. Although we cater mainly to couples, we are so delighted when we hear that even their children enjoyed their time at our Harbour House Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warmest Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I recently stayed at Harbour House for the first time. I have stayed in several other hotels in Niagara on the Lake, and have always had a good experience. However, the few days I stayed here were some of my best yet! The room was immaculate and my friends and I were treated like royalty. The staff are friendly and so accommodating, and the attention to detail is first rate. The "little" touches leave a "big" impression - from the complimentary wine and cheese tasting each day, to the handwritten notes in the room upon arrival, to the treats (those peanut butter cookies live up to their reputation), to the DVD library, to the jacuzzi tub, and to the wonderful breakfast - this hotel has thought of it all. The shuttle service was also a wonderful touch. During our stay we experienced a blizzard in NOTL and it was so reassuring to be staying in a place like Harbour House, where it felt like a "home"....albeit a very fancy one! Will defintely stay there again, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you travel in the winter, a nice touch is the fact that the hotel has fireplaces that actually wo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Always an exceptional visit when we stay here. The size of the hotel lends itself to a very friendly and personal experience. The staff is always there to help out and share their knowledge of the area, as well as being utterly accommodating in every way. The "happy hour" local wine sampling is a nice way to get to meet the other travellers, while sitting in front of the fireplace. A very relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are immaculate, the peanut butter cookies are a delicious touch, and I can't get enough of the rubber ducky waiting for me in the bath.
I always look forward to their breakfast as it is not the standard complementary breakfast. Smoked salmon, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola...the finest touches in everything they do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to hear that our knowledgeable staff were able to accommodate your every request. Our wine and cheese reception offers the opportunity to meet other guests staying in our Harbour House and I am thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy this in our relaxing sitting area. I look forward to saying hello to you on your next visit Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We went to Harbour House for a weekend getaway in February. What a fantastic experience! The room was wonderful, the wine tasting and breakfast were amazing! We had a very romantic dinner at the Charles Inn and the shuttle service to and from the restaurant was very much appreciated on the cold winter night! Larissa at Harbour House was absolutely phenomenal, the level of service she provided was unparalleled! There is no doubt that we will return to Harbour House!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,039 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £132 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing