We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a great place to stay????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Looking for a great place to stay????”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Well we have just spent the past two days at a great hotel... From the moment we checked in to leaving time we couldn't have asked for any place better....

The staff are both friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are wonderful that are changed daily, the decor couldn't be better. Don't want to use your car while in Niagara on the Lake, the hotel has a car to drive you where you need to go...

All in all the General Manager must be walking the hotel and town with a air of pride of their house....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that your stay was pleasant from the moment you arrived, right up to your departure. I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service available 7 days a week and willing to go to any restaurant located in “Old town” Niagara-on-the-Lake. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to our Harbour House Hotel.

Warmest Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    132
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
75
840
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our experience at Harbour House was very memorable, relaxing and oh so comfortable. As soon as we entered this cozy hotel and throughout our stay, we were made to feel at home by all the women at reception and the girls in the breakfast room. Complementary wine & cheese provided a lovely pre-dinner 'chill' before we left for dinner at Zee's...which was a taste sensation!Breakfasts' were included, very tasty and plentiful each day. The room was lovely, clean & spacious and the hotel minutes away from downtown so walking was a pleasure! We would recommend Harbour House to any and all looking for a wonderful experience! We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Great service! Very nice accommodations and an excellent breakfast!

The hotel is located a short walk from the Main Street for shopping and dining.

This was our first visit to Harbour House.

We will definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation located within walking distance of the shops and restaurants on the main street. I will pass your compliments onto our Kitchen Manager and her team for providing an excellent breakfast. I look forward to saying hello to you on your return visit to our Harbour House Hotel.

Warmest Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I absolutely loved the experience we had at the Harbour House in Niagara. Walking distance to all the old town shops, water front and restaurants. One day I was able to light a nice Cuban cigar and stroll through from what I understand is the oldest operating grave yard in Ontario. I believe it was called St. Marks, steps from the hotel. I enjoyed the cigar and walk then down to the water front where there is a plaque showing all the swimmers that have swam the 32 miles across Lake Ontario. The hotel has a nice breakfast dining room, reading area with fireplace and the rooms are fabulous! The staff was wonderful and pleasant and we also were driven to dinner and back twice with their free shuttle service. A great place to stay when touring wine county, or taking in the area. Top notch service, old fashioned respectable service, the way it should be. This won't be our last stay with the Harbour House.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinthomas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

All we can talk about it "when do we get to go back?"!

Everything was absolutely perfect. The staff was fantastic - special note to Kimlin (front desk) and Bruce (Shuttle driver) who were so welcoming, kind and helpful and who helped make our weekend away so memorable.

The Harbour House is a perfect get away. Its location is ideal as its within walking distance to Queen St. and situated on a quiet street right at the harbour. The hotel is immaculate and welcoming in every area. The breakfast is very well done and the peanut butter cookies are addictive.

Staying here has caused us to re-think our all inclusive vacation planned for this fall and instead coming back to the Harbour House.

Perfect! Fantastic! Relaxing!

Room Tip: Pay for the room upgrade. Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that our team assisted in making your weekend so memorable. We try to pay great attention to each and every detail and we appreciate that you took notice of this. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team. I look forward to welcoming you back to our Harbour House on your next visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warmest Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Everything from the welcoming staff - ALL the staff, including the cleaners - to the complimentary wine and cheese daily, to the delicious breakfasts and the room were superb. We spent two nights and would have stayed longer but for other plans. We'd return anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbpTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was one of the loveliest stays I've had in a long time. My mother and sister and I chose the Girls' Getaway package and it was all we could hope for and more. The hotel is next to the harbour and about a 10 min walk to town centre, and there is also a very accommodating free shuttle service. What's best about it in the busy season, is that this hotel is away from the noise and crowds, and close to the picturesque harbour. Rooms, service, impeccable. Wine and crackers before dinner. The associated restaurants (Charles Inn, Zee's Grill) are fabulous. Don't hesitate to book here! We all loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our “Just Us Gals” getaway package and appreciated our quaint and convenient location down by the Harbour and yet still close to the main attractions. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to The Charles Inn and Zees restaurant and I look forward to welcoming you back to our Harbour House on your next planned getaway to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warmest Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing