We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel cannot be judged by its entrance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The hotel cannot be judged by its entrance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We always find the locale of this particular part of Niagara-On-The-Lake attractive to us and have stayed in a hotel or two in the past! The opportunity came up this year that we could stay at the Harbour House but the way the hotel looks on the outside and the entrance way always kept us from doing so! Since the facility pictures look good and we had a great rate so we figured it was only for one night and how bad could it get!
To our unexpected and pleasant surprise, it is a lovely place in so many ways! The room is spacious and we had a view of the lake from our room. The night was almost cold enough to light up our in room fire place!
We were well received and a personal tour by the receptionist all the way to our room also took place. The place was quiet even though we were told that there was group in the morning. The quaint little continental breakfast with real china and linen table cloth were splendid!
We had a delightful stay indeed!

Room Tip: I personally prefer the rooms facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsangs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    132
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
75
841
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our first stay at Harbour House and probably not our last. We have stayed at other hotels in NOTL but the level of service is absolutely incomparable. From the minute you check in until you unfortunately have to leave, you are treated as an honoured guest and not just another statistic. Our large, well appointed, king room was extremely quiet and had a nice view of the harbour. The hotel is located only 2 blocks from the main street so it is close to the theatre as well as many excellent restaurants. The hotel provides a shuttle service to restaurants that are a little further out but we walked everywhere. Harbour House provides a wine tasting in the early evening and a good breakfast buffet in the morning so you start and end your stay in gracious surroundings. We will definitely be recommending this hotel over our former favourite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbso73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed at most of the hotels in NOTL and Harbour House is my favorite. All staff are very freindly and always make a comment or engage in conversation. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and clean. Location is great 2 blocks off the main st and close to the lake. The daily wine tasting and cheese dip is a welcome bonus. The included breakfast is amazing and be sure to sample the homemade peanut butter cookies that are in the lobby area throughout the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that our Harbour House is your favorite in Niagara-on-the-Lake. It is wonderful to know that you were able to indulge in our homemade European style breakfast with over 28 items prepared fresh daily and take advantage of our wine & cheese sampling as well. I hope to have the opportunity to say hello to you personally on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are old enough to remember what GREAT service is then you want to stay here!!!!!
if you are not old enough to remember what GREAT service is then you will learn here!!!!!
A must place to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

An overnight stay to celebrate my husband's birthday. It was really nice. Beautiful room with a fireplace, a king size bed and a beautiful bathroom. The staff is very friendly. Nice touches like a bag of cookies and a birthday cake in a jar. Wine and cheese before supper in the dining room and a delicious buffet breakfast. Looking forward to going back to this great hotel.

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that your husband enjoyed his birthday celebration with us. It’s wonderful to know that you were able to experience all of the amenities we have to offer, from gas fireplace and king sized bed that each guest room offers to the daily wine & cheese sampling in our lobby. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team and I hope to say hello to you on your next visit to our Harbour House in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo,ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Everything about the Harbour House Hotel is flawless. My husband and I spent a night there and from the moment we walked in the door until we left, we were so impressed with everything. In fact, when we were shown the room, I said " we may never leave ".
The staff was marvelous, super friendly and sincere. The breakfast abundant and superb.
We definitely will return, as soon as possible

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cassandra9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel! We bought a Travelzoo voucher, and stayed just one night. The staff were uniformly helpful, friendly and polite; the room was lovely; the wine and cheese reception was fun, and we met a very nice couple there; and the breakfast was to die for. The personalized attention to detail is unparalleled. Where else will you get personalized stationary, and a personal note on your bag of cookies in your room? The staff will drive you to the theatre or restaurants (although the hotel is so close to everything that we just walked).

The only criticism I have is that there was a fan-noise during the night which we couldn't locate to shut off; perhaps it was on the roof, as we were on the top floor. It wasn't loud, but I'm a light sleeper, and it was slightly annoying.

Anyway, what a delightful place. I hope Travelzoo features it again. Its regular prices are a bit high for me (I'm retired, and cheap!)

Room Tip: 305 had some fan noise in the ceiling area, but otherwise was a charming room overlooking the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackwoodsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that you were able to indulge in our wine & cheese tasting and meet other guests staying in the hotel. We strive to offer attention to every detail from the décor in the rooms to the personalized stationary and I am thrilled to hear you took notice of this. I am sorry to hear that your sleep was interrupted by a light fan noise; our maintenance department has corrected this concern. I hope to welcome you back to our Harbour House on your next visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing