We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Harbour House Hotel is reasonably priced and better than the big hotels. We loved it and will stay there again. We stayed one night and then stayed one night with friends at the Pillar and Post which our friends had booked. The P and P was double the price, did not include breakfast and wasn't as nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    136
    44
    18
    7
See reviews for
79
870
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our first stay at Harbour House and it will not be our last. Everything was better than I hoped for in this Hotel. The staff was so nice, friendly and helpful. The room had such a lovely view of the harbor and the bed was so comfy. We selected the Living the High Life package and that’s exactly what we did for two day. The spa treatment was excellent, the private wine tour and tasting was truly wonderful and the dinner at the Charles Inn was fabulous. The hotel is about two blocks from the town but they do have transport if you desire. We walked to most places and I felt like I was in the pages of some travel magazine. The Hotel is close to the lake and the walking, biking or running path is just great. They also have a delicious morning buffet from 8 to 10 and from 4 to 5:30 you can sample some wines from the area and snack on the special Harbour House Cheese Spread. We also went to one of the Shaw festival plays and had dinner at Treadwells. I just loved everything about this special place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryTambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our “Taste of the Good Life” package and all that it has to offer. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to our sister spa; Shaw Spa and the team for the excellent treatments that they provided. We are the closest hotel to the water and this allows for a great view of the river and yet a close and convenient location two blocks parallel from the main street. I am happy to know you could take notice and appreciate our location. I look forward to welcoming you back on your visit to our Harbour House in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warmest Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hubby and I arrived at the Harbour House after spending 3 nights at the 5star Boston Langham, which then paled in comparison to the personalized touches of the Harbour House which i would rate 7 stars if i could! The staff were extremely friendly (even prior to our stay on the phone with Larissa the manager arranging our stay and dinner at the Charles Inn, or deciding activities with kristine), the complimentary breakfast spread and afternoon wine/crackers were fabulous, the complimentary shuttle by Bruce was reliable and appreciated, and the selection of music in the cozy lobby and knick knacks in the room were so thoughtful. The rooms are clean, spacious, airy and light, with new high end finishes in the upscale bathrooms. We really enjoyed that this was a new hotel (2006) and that it had both the feel of a luxury hotel as well as the friendly homey feel of a bed and breakfast. Best of both worlds. Plus the price is right. Location is excellent within walking distance to shops, restaurants, fort etc. There is free parking just underground with easy access to the cozy lobby. As a professional couple in our mid 30s, we enjoyed a getaway from the city. Inlaws who joined us also had an experience to remember! Don't hesitate to book! And don't miss checking out the cheese shop 1 lane behind queen street.

Room Tip: Every room is different and has its own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrgirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here on our honeymoon and it was so comfy and cozy we didn't want to leave! The highlights included a super comfy bed, deep soaker tub, and THE BEST breakfast! The staff is super friendly as well. We highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CSells_Sea_Shells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that your honeymoon getaway was such an enjoyable time. All of our king size beds are equipped with a feather top mattress, a light weight feather down duvet and 320 Egyptian cotton linens, and I am glad to hear that you found such comfort. I will be sure to commend our breakfast team for preparing a wonderful breakfast buffet. I look forward to welcoming you back to our Harbour House on your next visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warmest Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend at this hotel which I booked based on the reviews on tripadvisor. I'm happy to report that the great reviews are not over rated and in fact encourage anyone looking at this site to do yourself a favour and stay here. We've stayed at many hotels and I don't usually write reviews but felt the absolutely stellar service here was worth noting. No attention to detail has been spared in making your stay comfortable and memorable - from the delicious cookies waiting in your room, the complimentary wine and cheese tasting, wine glasses and cork screw waiting in your room for the bottle of wine you've picked up on your tour , wonderful bath products including bath salts , luxurious linens, fine china for your breakfast in the conservatory and my personal favourite - a carafe to fill from a water cooler located beside the ice machine on your floor ( no plastic bottles!!!). The location was perfect for us with the view of the Niagara river from your room, and the easy walking distance to the center of town through lovely neighbourhoods. Even though the hotel was fully booked the rooms were so quiet that we slept in both mornings. Luckily we didn't miss the breakfast which was served between 8-10 because it was quite good. Even though it was a complimentary buffet style and there were only about 20 -25 guests at a time they had 4 or 5 staff delivering beverages, clearing plates or replenishing the buffet. It was a very relaxing way to start the day. Take away coffee, tea and hot chocolate was available in the lobby as well.

The staff were also very helpful and were able to find us a last minute wine tour with Niagara Vintage Wine Tours which was a fun and informative way to tour 3 different wineries (Southbrook was our favourite). Also dinner at the Charles Inn, their sister property was a wonderful experience. We were driven to and from the restaurant by a very charming man(sorry I'm terrible with names) in their complimentary shuttle. At the end of the meal when the bill arrived we just informed our waitress that we were staying at the Harbour House and the shuttle arrived just after we had paid the bill. This type of smooth and well timed service was characteristic of all our interactions with the staff of Harbour House.

If you are looking for a place to stay where you will have personalized service and a relaxing environment where all the little things are done right, then this is the place for you.

The general manager asked us on the way out if there was anything they could improve on. At the time I couldn't think of anything - however upon reflection I thought how nice it would be if there was a welcoming drink at check in like they do in the Caribbean. After spending hours on the QEW on a Friday at rush hour, a sip of something cool and bubbly would be a treat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great view of the lake and harbor; nice short walk to shops and restaurants; van service in cold weather (or when you just don't want to walk) is a fabulous benefit; fireplace nice, warm and cozy; bathroom with louvers convenient, clean and well appointed. Great breakfast; and afternoon wine and cheese were a nice touch and gave us an opportunity to talk to other guests and staff. Great customer service; quiet and restful break from our busy lives. We and another couple traveled together, all enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Lake view if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you could appreciate and take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service that will take you to any restaurant located in “old town” Niagara-on-the-Lake. Our wine and cheese tasting offers an opportunity to meet other guess and I am glad that you were able to take advantage of this. I will be sure to commend the staff for their great customer service. I look forward to saying hello to you on your next visit to our Harbour House.

Warmest Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We took a mid-week break last week and booked Harbour House Hotel for a Wednesday to Friday stay. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Chickory Suite which is absolutely beautiful.

Staff are friendly, helpful and cannot do enough for you. Because the upgrade was done spontaneously, the General Manager apologized because the complementary cookies were not in the room. They arrived within minutes of our arrival.

The hotel is tremendous and perfectly located away from the Main Street in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Its location overlooks the marina and is a perfect base to take walks in the town from.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara-on-the-Lake
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
478 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
576 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,599 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing