We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing- Great birthday!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing- Great birthday!!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We had the BEST time in Niagrara on the Lake and the Harbour House is very special. Great beds, wonderful deep tubs, friendly and helpful staff and amazing breakfasts. Joseph ( who drives and picks up from restaurants) is a hoot and very much filled with local folklore. Thank you Harbour House for a special birthday weekend.
V & T
Bethesda, Maryland
USA

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tolaplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    135
    43
    18
    7
See reviews for
78
861
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2009

From the moment we were greeted at the door by the friendly, helpful hostess we were impressed. We have stayed in 5-star hotels that did not have rooms this nice - very spacious with a gas fireplace, windows that opened for fresh air, large bath and incredibly comfy bed. Loved the water pitcher and glasses rather than bottled water many hotels charge for. Excellent dinner recommendation and a free shuttle there. The entire staff was excellent and very professional. I wish we had planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWOOZIESTLOUIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby,ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This inn is absolutely amazing! We got the life experiences package through Shoppers Drug Mart which included an overnight stay with whirlpool and fireplace, dinner at Charles Inn (including shuttle service), Wine Tour, and Continental breakfast for $349,much better value then if you just book with Harbour House. The staff were the most friendly I have encountered. More than willing to answer any questions, or help you feel more comfortable. The wine and cheese tasting in the lobby was really nice. We got complimentary truffles and cookies in our room. The bathroom floor was heated!! so nice!! The whirlpool is great to soak and relax in. There are DVD's at the front if you want to watch a movie. Dinner was so amazing, the food was so high end and fancy. Would definitely reccommend to anyone who just wants to get away for a nice weekend getaway or special occasion. A little expensive but worth every penny. The town is nice too to just go look around! The beds are SOO comfortable we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raptorfan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We decided we needed to get away for our 25th anniversary and booked two nights at the Inn. We purchased a package that included two nights stay in a premium room, credit at the Shaw Spa, dinner and breakfast. First, the atmosphere was quiet, intimate and welcoming. All the staff were very professional, accommodating and pleasant. For example, at breakfast, I requested something that was not sugar based and thewaitress brought me two scramble eggs. Breakfast is continental style, and although there was a hot egg dish, it was pretty much empty when we got there and was being replaced with a apple bread pudding. I really appreciated the eggs!

The room itself was nice, good comfy bed, clean and fresh. Only complaint was the fact that the TV in the room was very dated. We expected a flat screen at those prices. Movies are free in the lobby so we took advantage of that. Afternoon wine and cheese was a nice bonus. They make their own "potted" cheese and it was delicious. No other cheese was offered.

The location was perfect and everything was walking distance. The front desk is helpful and we felt well taken care of. If you can spare the extra cost of this Inn, I think you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

The room was expansive and nicely furnished; every amenity one could ask for, including a DVD service. The bed was amazingly comfortable. There is a garage under the hotel for guests' cars. Most importantly, the staff was very accommodating and just plain nice. The hotel is only a few steps from Lake Ontario. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2009

What a great place to stay! We loved it. The service was remarkable and the room was magnificent. They helped us plan a great set of tasting tours and really knew what they were talking about. Can't beat this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Literally the nicest, most attentive staff I've ever experienced. The guy at the front desk actually walked us to our room. After showing us around, we were talking about restaurants in the area and he asked if we would like to have a wine and cheese plate in the lobby while we look at menus.

Really, really nice place. Rooms were awesome. I stayed in room 209 (a corner suite) and had a nice view of the harbor. Bathroom was very large with an extra wide tub and large glass shower.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swirv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
929 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,978 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing