We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful engagement holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A wonderful engagement holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

My fiance and I stayed here the weekend we were engaged and it was absolutely perfect, I only wish we would have been able to stay longer. We arrived late afternoon and received a warm welcome from the staff. Our room was immaculate and showed no signs that anyone had stayed there but us. Our only disappointment was that we were told our room would have a jacuzzi and it did not. Nonetheless, the room was very comfortable. The small touches made it feel like home. I enjoyed having a rug in the bathroom instead of having to throw a bath towel on the floor and having an actual coffee mug and spoon instead of a disposable paper cup and plastic stirrer. We enjoyed the pampering and intimacy that a smaller hotel is able to offer. Unfortunately, we had to leave early the following morning to catch a flight, but the staff told us we mustn't leave without breakfast and we're glad we stayed, the scones were delicious. We plan to stay again and I'm hoping this will be our holiday location for many anniversaries to come.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    132
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
74
834
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alliston, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We spent our anniversary (once again!) at the very hotel we were married in 2008. We love, love, LOVE the Harbour House and look forward to a visit every year. Although the hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are amazing...it's always the people that keep us coming back! The staff is wonderful and make us feel like family every time! We also HIGHLY recommend the Charles Inn for dinner (and it is lovely to stay there too!) The food is OUTSTANDING and this time we brought my family for dinner, and they now understand why we always go ON and ON about the food there! Fantastic! Also, if you get a chance the Shaw Spa and Winery Tour are such fun! Can't wait to return...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sillygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

This was our 4th time staying in this hotel. We really enjoy the cozy atmosphere. However this past stay was just okay. We stayed in a suite because we discovered that's what we prefer - it's not worth the extra money though. I found that the house keeping was not the greatest. I don't mean to get picky but when you are paying $475.00 a night you don't expect to find candy wrappers under the TV stand, an empty kleenex box. (that wasn't even refilled the next day).
Unfortunately we will stay else where next time. Small details matter!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourHouseGM, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
We completely agree that this type of housekeeping is not acceptable, nor is it the norm of our hotel. We are known to be incredibly detail-orientated in everything we do and take great pride on offering clean, wonderful rooms. We wish this was brought to our attention while the guest was in house as we would have corrected our error immediately and been happy to offer something for any inconvenience caused. We sincerely apologize and hope that this guest will give us the opportunity to show the level of professionalism and cleanliness that has brought them back 3 times prior. I would love for this guest to contact me directly at the hotel as I would love to speak to you personally about the matter.

Ryan Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 10 year anniversary at Harbour House. It is quite expensive, but we were so happy with our accommodations the price was well worth it. The room is spacious, beautifully decorated with a fireplace, jacuzzi, and lovely view of the harbour. When you return to your room in the evening, the bed is turned down and soft jazz is playing on the radio to set the tone for a romantic evening! The bed is SO comfortable, I wish I had the same one at home. We slept very well. The hotel is within walking distance to the downtown and many wonderful restaurants. If you need a lift to a restaurant, Joe will happily drive you there and pick you up when you're done. Breakfast in the morning is delicious and satisfying, we never missed it!
We also planned a wine tour which was also deliciously fantastic. All in all, a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillyuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,181 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We highly recommend this inn. You couldn't ask for a more comfortable bed and the place is peaceful as well. It is a great place for couples to get away for a long weekend. Joseph was there to take us to our restaurants in the evening and pick us up from the theatre. The breakfast is truly gourmet - we didn't want to leave. This is truly a gem in Niagara on the Lake. The front desk staff couldn't do enough for us. Did I mention the freshly baked cookies each afternoon and the wine tasting before dinner? Need I say more?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Because of Trip Advisor's rave reviews, I decided to splurge for our 20th anniversary trip. While the Harbour House was lovely, clean and the room was beautiful, I can't say it was worth $300. We have stayed at many hotels just as nice for half the price. The bedding was not as soft as I would have liked, the walk to town wasn't bad, but would be far for anyone with any type of health problems, the breakfast was lovely and good, but nothing spectacular. We were in Room 308 (top floor) and there was a constant banging or rumble caused by something in the HV system. I finally traced it to a locked door down the hall. In walking thru town, I would definitely stay somewhere on Queen street next visit. The Prince of Wales, the Shaw Inn, or any place on the main strip would be more convenient. It just wasn't worth the high cost for us. If money is no object for you, you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We loved Harbour House! We weren't sure about taking our 2 year old, but he loved it too and it wasn't a problem. He slept with us in the king size bed and enjoyed the jacuzzi a lot! The room had a great view of the marina and a fireplace, luxurious robes and was very cozy. My husband and I really loved the shuttle service to dinner and the homemade cookies in the lobby, as well as the books and movies to borrow. It was a really nice break for us and the weather was great even in November. We shopped on Friday night and Saturday, and ended our trip with a visit to the Butterfly Conservatory and the Falls nearby, another hit with our son!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estrellica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing