We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magnificent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A magnificent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This gorgeous house with a spectacular garden and such charming owners, Julie and Mark, was a very special treat for me and my wife. We plan on staying more than one night the next time. The bed was so very comfortable and the bedroom (#77) was spacious and very well decorated, much like all the other rooms of the house. Breakfast was lovingly prepared and thoroughly enjoyed. One would be hard-pressed to experience a better B&B experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephthedeafchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A friend and I stayed here last weekend while visiting some of the wineries in the region. It is an absolutely charming place. Impeccable and well thought out. The hosts are incredible: warm, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is beyond description. You cannot go wrong here. The setting is also perfect and the front garden a lovely place to sit. We were going to the "Wine down Fridays" at the Peller Estates and were able to walk there from the B&B (Julie lent us a flashlight, which was helpful for the walk back).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaFanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Darlington House B&B very much. It was our first experience staying in a B&B and Julie and Mark were wonderful hosts. Our room was extremely welcoming and our breakfast was absolutely delicious. We really appreciated how close we were to the downtown as we walked everywhere! We would definitely book this accommodation again the next time we are in NOTL.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

By far the best B&B we have ever stayed at. Julie and Mark are the most wonderful couple, so accomodating and really take pride in making sure their guests have a the best stay possible. The breakfast is to die for....never thought I would like gluten free food but Julie makes it taste amazing (one of the guests was gluten free), she is a fantastic cook and cannot think of anywhere where I have had a better breakfast.

The rooms are comfortable, cosy and probably had one of the best sleeps of my life in the bed.

You will definately not regret staying at Darlington House, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayMcInnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Darlington House was the perfect accommodation for our trip to Niagara on the Lake. Incredibly charming and welcoming, Julie and Mark were so attentive - not the mention the breakfast's were absolutely delicious! We were just a short walk from downtown, looked onto the beautiful Butler Barracks, and comfortably cool in our room over the humid weekend! Julie and Mark had the perfect recommendations for meals, sight seeing and vineyards to visit. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I found Darlington House on Trip Advisor and it lived up to the reviews. Julie and Mark are fabulous hosts- there when you need them and invisible when you don't! The location is great- close enough to walk to the town, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms were nicely decorated without being overly fussy and very clean. It was a great idea to have a pantry with fridge, snacks, tea and coffee etc for the guests to share.
We were most impressed with the food- they did all gluten and nut free and the other guests thought it was fabulous as well. It was a very thoughtful touch when Mark appeared with cut up oranges for us to take on our bike ride.
The other group that was there had been a few times before and said they always try to stay here when in NotL. They were a couple with their daughter and her fiancé who were planning her wedding there in the fall.
I certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has two single beds which was perfect for my daughter and myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Darlington House and had the most wonderful time. Our hosts Mark and Julie were absolutely amazing at making us feel welcome. The meals and our accomodations were the best. The location is perfect, close enough to walk downtown but far enough from the hustle and bustle. We highly recommend this B&B and definitely will be returning in the future.
Thank you Julie and Mark

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.7 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darlington House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darlington House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 100 John St. E | PO Box 100, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darlington House, a premium bed and breakfast in a luxurious Early Canadian Loyalist home overlooking the historic military grounds of Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are inside the Old Towne and only a short walk to Niagara's award-winning theatres, restaurants and shopping. An elegant retreat with privacy, comfort and view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing