We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and Elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spent one nite here while attending a winery's music concert. What a delightful place to come back to after the frenzied music. Elegant is the best word I can think of to describe the rooms in this lovely B & B. Then there was BREAKFAST!! Wow!!! Julie & Mark were wonderful host and made everyone feel very special.
worth a little extra to treat yourself.

Room Tip: All three rooms are beautiful and make the guest feel pampered
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank othelloCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This gorgeous house with a spectacular garden and such charming owners, Julie and Mark, was a very special treat for me and my wife. We plan on staying more than one night the next time. The bed was so very comfortable and the bedroom (#77) was spacious and very well decorated, much like all the other rooms of the house. Breakfast was lovingly prepared and thoroughly enjoyed. One would be hard-pressed to experience a better B&B experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephthedeafchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A friend and I stayed here last weekend while visiting some of the wineries in the region. It is an absolutely charming place. Impeccable and well thought out. The hosts are incredible: warm, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is beyond description. You cannot go wrong here. The setting is also perfect and the front garden a lovely place to sit. We were going to the "Wine down Fridays" at the Peller Estates and were able to walk there from the B&B (Julie lent us a flashlight, which was helpful for the walk back).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SylviaFanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Darlington House B&B very much. It was our first experience staying in a B&B and Julie and Mark were wonderful hosts. Our room was extremely welcoming and our breakfast was absolutely delicious. We really appreciated how close we were to the downtown as we walked everywhere! We would definitely book this accommodation again the next time we are in NOTL.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

By far the best B&B we have ever stayed at. Julie and Mark are the most wonderful couple, so accomodating and really take pride in making sure their guests have a the best stay possible. The breakfast is to die for....never thought I would like gluten free food but Julie makes it taste amazing (one of the guests was gluten free), she is a fantastic cook and cannot think of anywhere where I have had a better breakfast.

The rooms are comfortable, cosy and probably had one of the best sleeps of my life in the bed.

You will definately not regret staying at Darlington House, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayMcInnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Darlington House was the perfect accommodation for our trip to Niagara on the Lake. Incredibly charming and welcoming, Julie and Mark were so attentive - not the mention the breakfast's were absolutely delicious! We were just a short walk from downtown, looked onto the beautiful Butler Barracks, and comfortably cool in our room over the humid weekend! Julie and Mark had the perfect recommendations for meals, sight seeing and vineyards to visit. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I found Darlington House on Trip Advisor and it lived up to the reviews. Julie and Mark are fabulous hosts- there when you need them and invisible when you don't! The location is great- close enough to walk to the town, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms were nicely decorated without being overly fussy and very clean. It was a great idea to have a pantry with fridge, snacks, tea and coffee etc for the guests to share.
We were most impressed with the food- they did all gluten and nut free and the other guests thought it was fabulous as well. It was a very thoughtful touch when Mark appeared with cut up oranges for us to take on our bike ride.
The other group that was there had been a few times before and said they always try to stay here when in NotL. They were a couple with their daughter and her fiancé who were planning her wedding there in the fall.
I certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has two single beds which was perfect for my daughter and myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#33 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#10 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#37 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Bre...
#38 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darlington House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darlington House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 100 John St. E | PO Box 100, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £116 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darlington House, a premium bed and breakfast in a luxurious Early Canadian Loyalist home overlooking the historic military grounds of Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are inside the Old Towne and only a short walk to Niagara's award-winning theatres, restaurants and shopping. An elegant retreat with privacy, comfort and view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Darlington House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing