We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just came back from two nights at the Darlington House Bed & Breakfast. This is our third visit and once again everything was perfect. From the beautiful room with the comfy bed to the delicious breakfasts ( best eggs benedict ever) to our amazing host Julie and Mark. They treat you like royalty and family at the same time. We will definitely be back and will recommend the Darlington to all our friends and family. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank londongoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

OK- everything is perfect, let's begin there. The breakfast was amazing and just the right amount. We had eggs benedict on croissants and a fruit cobbler. The rooms were beautiful and SO comfortable (I did not want to get out of bed). The building is quiet and walls well-insulated. There are 4 guestrooms & we had the 77 Yarm (largest room with a queen bed). If you wanted privacy and quiet time, this is the room! There is plenty of space, a desk, chairs, a love seat, fireplace, and TV. The view is delightful, overlooking a park. It's a short walk to the Shaw Theater.
Julie has a separate room with water, coffee, tea, and a recycle container (thank you, Julie).
The only suggestion I have (and this is true for most places I stay) is to put a hook or two on the back of the bathroom door. I never have any place to hang my clothes, towels, or vanity packs.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but the 77 Yarm is particularly warm and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fliesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Brilliant suggestion. The bathroom doors all now have hooks on them. Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We traveled to Niagara-On-Lake from Texas and could not have found a better place to stay. We were there for four nights and felt at home the whole time. Julie and Mark were very kind and helpful....not to mention the 5 star breakfast each morning. The best way to sum it up.....we were there four nights and noticed all the other guests were return guests, to me this says it all. We hope to visit Niagara-On-The-Lake again, and if so we will definitely stay with at the Darlington House! Save travels.

Room Tip: Just make sure your room is at the Darlington House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BretRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Owner at Darlington House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Was our pleasure to meet you and we look forward to your return. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My spouse and I recently spent two nights at this B&B. Fantastic! We were finishing up our holidays and what a wonderful respite it was. Quiet, yet a short walk from downtown NOTL and The Shaw Festival. Julie and Mark, thank you for being such gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My family and I spent one night at Darlington House. We got delayed and arrived very late. Nevertheless Mark welcomed us and was very helpful, despite our late arrival. We were all amazed to discover the beautifully decorated bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The breakfast was amazing and so delicious!!! Julie is a wonderful host. We all wish we could have stayed longer. I definitely plan to come back. I have stayed in many B&Bs in North America and Europe and Darlington House is at the top of my favourites.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was my first time staying at a B&B and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. Julie and Mark were very welcoming. The house, and more importantly our room and ensuite were very clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was delicious and as someone who loves a home-cooked meal, I appreciated the effort and attention to detail. The breakfast provided enough energy for us to get to Port Colborne by bike without needing to refuel. And thank you to Mark that drove out to meet us before we reached St Catherine's to give us our map that I had inadvertently forgotten. Excellent location too! A bit of a walk to the main strip but definitely doable. We rented bikes and so it was easy to get around. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdimambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spent one nite here while attending a winery's music concert. What a delightful place to come back to after the frenzied music. Elegant is the best word I can think of to describe the rooms in this lovely B & B. Then there was BREAKFAST!! Wow!!! Julie & Mark were wonderful host and made everyone feel very special.
worth a little extra to treat yourself.

Room Tip: All three rooms are beautiful and make the guest feel pampered
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank othelloCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Bre...
#35 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
416 reviews
6.4 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#15 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darlington House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darlington House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 100 John St. E | PO Box 100, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £102 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darlington House, a premium bed and breakfast in a luxurious Early Canadian Loyalist home overlooking the historic military grounds of Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are inside the Old Towne and only a short walk to Niagara's award-winning theatres, restaurants and shopping. An elegant retreat with privacy, comfort and view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Darlington House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing