We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balzac's

Balzac's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

In downtown NOTL this is easily my choice besting both Starbucks and Timmy's - quite a feat. Full bodied brews nicely priced. Wish I had one at home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    67
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best coffees in Niagara region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Positively - the place is adorable. Well situated, cozy interrior, friendly staff, professional coffee makers!!! The atmosphere inside is really nice. Minor side is the lack of nice selection pastries to match their top quality coffee. Other than that - the place is really nice

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeNatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Fun Cafe in Heart of Niagara on the Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Balzac's is a nice little café located in the heart of Niagara on the Lake. There are a variety of espresso-based options, as well as traditional drip-coffee and teas. The café also offers various pastries and snacks.

The atmosphere is fun, clean and well-looked after.

I would highly recommend Balzac's for a coffee to start your day.

If you found this review helpful, please click "YES" below. Thank you for reading!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GarfieldGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent cappucino and coffees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stumbled upon this coffee shop which is just off the main road on a side road and we glad we did. The coffee was prepared to perfection and beautifully presented. Staff is always friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flstn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little coffee shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We love Balzacs - we have one back home in Toronto. It's a cute little area, with unique seating and great tea. Love it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balzac's also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Balzac's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing