We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals ever!”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals ever!”
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We had dinner here over the Thanksgiving weekend, and had the table d'hôte. I wondered how they would "fancy up" a traditional turkey dinner, but I was so surprised how amazing the meal was. It was accompanied with a corn chowder that I will continue to crave for years, and wonderful local wine pairings. The price tag was a bit hefty but well worth it. Every bite was better than the next. My husband and I were there to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and it made for a memorable night ! This I am sure is the first of many visits to this culinary delight. Although we did not stay in the rooms, it looked lovely. Great service as well! Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OctoberBride13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    75
    33
    18
    10
See reviews for
23
294
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

We really like the food at the Charles Inn and have enjoyed it over the last five years. We stayed in the Inn for the first time last summer, but found it disappointing. We had a relatively expensive room (downstairs), which I can only describe as weird. It must incorporate the original kitchen.

There may be nicer rooms, but do not write off the food: it's one of the best 3-4 restaurants in NOTL and has a lovely dining room.

  • Liked — food!
  • Disliked — room that had space that could not be used; subpar bathroom and we love old places
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freshLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

This was our second visit to The Charles Inn. For accomodation in Niagara on the Lake this is well priced and value for money. Even though we enjoyed our stay the first time round, we compared it to many bed and breakfasts and old Inns, However this last stay was amazing and compelled us to write and congratulate the staff for their amazing hospitality.

Since our last visit in 2006 the management has changed and they are young and fresh, bringing a lively atmosphere to the Inn, and they complement each other well in the service you receive in the guest rooms to the service of their to die for dining room.

If you are looking for value for money during your stay in Niagara look no further, the Charles Inn has it all, and what they dont have they find for you. Exceptional service!!

Extra tip, choose the Newark Room and have the beef!!

  • Liked — Comfiest Beds!
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was amazing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

My husband and I, along with our then 12 month old son and 3 year old daughter, spent several days at the Inn. My parents also stayed at the hotel and were celebrating their 50th Wedding Anniversary. The staff and management were wonderful in accomodating us with our children, including dietary needs. They prepared a complimentary dessert for my parents' anniversary and were just wonderful. We have stayed at this hotel annually on our trek to Canada for the Shaw Festival, and have always found the staff and Inn itself simply charming. While I can't speak for anyone else's experience, I can say that I would highly recommend this property, and can't wait to stay again this summer. Also, the food at the Inn, including the breakfasts, are scrumptious. Highly recommended fare.

  • Liked — the charm, the location, the food and the staff
  • Disliked — liked everthing
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kensington98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

My husband and I decided to head to Niagara for a little getaway and were very pleased with our stay! We had a lovely view of the old golf course, enjoyed our beautiful bed and most of all the warm welcome received from everyone - so nice to get out of the city sometimes! And the restaurant is amongst the nicest we have ever been to: try the beef tenderloin - amazing :)

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RamblingAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

My fiance and I were really excited to spend some time in Niagara on the Lake. We found the Charles Inn on the internet - it was exactly what we were looking for (old and beautiful). When we arrived, we were taken to our room... we went up several flights of stairs into the attic... when I looked around, I told the desk clerk this was not the room we had requested (we wanted the Newark Room) and she started walking out of the door saying "Sorry! That one is under construction!". Needless to say, I was pretty upset. We ended up in the Safari Room - two tall people in a tiny ceilinged attic! We bumped our heads on the ceiling several times a day in a room that was not old looking and not beautiful. Everything looked as though it was bought at Homesense... cheap. Anyway, this was not the type of room we had envisioned for our romantic time away. I must say that the bed was nice and the bathtub was amazing! The shower, however, didn't work... it went from hot to cold so frequently that my shower was actually painful (it's a shower in an old closet in an attic...). Also, the sink was broken in the bathroom when we arrived, the plunger thingy was stuck. We told the front desk and they said they would have it fixed by the time we came home from shopping. When we returned to our room, the sink was still broken... we called the front desk, she came up to try and fix it, couldn't, then finally called someone in to fix it. This was about 10pm at night. The Charles Inn was kind enough, however, to offer us a free breakfast for our troubles. However, we would never go back... there were just too many problems and headaches... bad service... oh, and did I mention the spider the size of my hand that was on our wall when we came home the second night? We had to capture it in a glass and throw onto the balcony... sleeping that evening was difficult... and the building was undergoing renovations at that time as well, so we had to leave the building early in the morning and come back late at night just so we didn't have to hear all of the construction. Anyway, all of this could have been remedied if we had received an apology for being given the wrong room (or better yet, told in advance that the room we wanted was unavailable) and for the many inconveniences associated with the room we did get. We filled out a comment card letting them know what a bad experience we had, but we never heard from them.

  • Liked — The Bathtub
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Tips/Secrets — If you must stay here, go in the off season when its cheaper!
  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Beaujolais8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

We stayed in one of the nicest rooms and really enjoyed the hotel. The staff is very friendly and willing to accomodate any request. The surroundings are beautiful, and dinner was extraordinary. Amazing food for such a little place. The chef was great.

Very sophisticated breakfast (but low on choices), and in room spa services.

We're going back in 2 months!

  • Liked — Warm and friendly
  • Disliked — The building was old, so there were a few quirks
  • Tips/Secrets — Shopping in the area and wine tasting there are great
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
574 reviews
6.6 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing