We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Had the opportunity to stay at the Charles Inn over Easter Weekend 2011 in the Daisy room. Charming room, excellent service and would recommend dinner here even if you aren't staying at the Inn. Some might find it a bit out of the way for walking to the main theatre for the Shaw - but it's really not. Hope to be back again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWriterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    68
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
19
275
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

As many of you know, there are a thousand B & B's at NOTL. For that quiet stay followed by the delicious morning breakfast and close conversation with fellow travelers, this is not the best place to go. To be sure, the "Library" is one of the cozier rooms we've stayed at at NOTL, but forget the morning continental breakfast, served on a small dish to your table, a bitty collection of cold items bound to leave you wanting (for which the Inn happily adds a $7.50 hot menu to give you something half-way decent). And there is no close conversation with fellow travelers--you can choose any number of table areas, bar, verandas, and landings to rest yourself and you will be served, but probably alone--at least that's our experience--we barely saw anyone partaking ot breakfast at the Inn. In fact, for a better breakfast, there are plenty of fine restaurants in the heart of town. This is just a little bit of B & B, a little bit of Inn, and quite a bit of disappointment all combined.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkoen1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at the Charles Inn while doing a wine tour. The service at the hotel was great. Everyone was very helpful. It has a great location beside a golf course - yet only a 2 minute walk to the centre of town. Restaurant was also fantastic. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Golferjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Roy, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We went to Niagara on the Lake for a one night get-away and had no reservations on arrival. We chose to walk around the town and see what there was to offer. The Charles Inn was the first place we went to and the only one we felt we needed to. The front desk personnel were so friendly and the atmosphere was very eloquent but relaxing. The room was very clean and modern and the king size bed was very comfortable. We could not have been happier with our stay and can not express enough how friendly the staff was.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pldries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibbstown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Charles Inn was a wonderful getaway for our 35th wedding anniversary. The staff could not do enough for us. When we arrived we were shown to our room - the Newark, the room's amenities were more than we had expected. The entire staff could not have been more helpful with suggestions for things to do in NOTL, arrange a wine tour for us, etc. The breakfast was fresh and delicious! A nice location just a little away from the center of town, but a short walk to everything! I would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a quiet, romantic few days.

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable, great shower, wonderful bedding (also available for purchase!)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyAnnTortella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We arrived late in the evening and were immediately and attentively taken to our suite. The room was clean and beautifully decorated - the bed was amazing and so comfortable! Breakfast was delicious and served in the main floor of the inn. Niagara on the Lake is a very romantic place to spend a weekend with your spouse!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Stars305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at the Chrales for our anniversary. Our room was the Verandah room.
A great a room that has it's own verandah with a view of the gardens.
The service is very friendly and professional. You ask and you shall receive from the friendly staff.
We also had dinner in the restaurant attached. Food is very good and not over done.
The inn itself is right on the strip which allows for close access to shops and theatre.
A great experience!

Room Tip: book early in the summer months as rooms go quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing