We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Special Hotel”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed the 20-21 April 2013 and were pleasantly surprised. The building is old, but beautifully cared for, and the bar served one of the best meals I have had in a long time. The staff were unobtrusive but available. The hotel is at one end of Niagara On the Lake but easy to walk to entire area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main street which gets quiet after 10pm, so if you want quiet , pick a room at the...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us! I am delighted to read your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for The Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had an extra night to spend before heading home, so we went back to Niagara on the Lake. When we went to the Chamber of Commerce accomadations Desk, they suggested the Charles Inn. They called ahead for us and got an excellent deal. When we arrived, we were also given an upgrade!! The staff was terrific, and our server from our meal the night before remembered s and said "Welcome back". The rooms (we saw 4) were fantastic. Many of their rooms have private verandas or balconies- what a bonus.
Our Balcony had a view of the golf course and the gardens which were in full tulip bloom.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the2Lynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback of The Charles Inn! We are delighted
that you enjoyed our hospitality and returned for an overnight stay after
dining with us. Relaxing on our verandahs is the perfect way to enjoy the
beautiful views of the golf course and gardens on a nice spring day! We
appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome
you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Built in the early 1800's The Charles Inn is charming with a lovely curb appeal. The gardens were blooming with spring flowers, forgot to take a picture. Parking is on the side of the building but is limited. You can park on the street for free after 6:00pm. We stayed in the Daisy room, which was clean, good size bathroom with rainfall shower and came with your own private veranda. Cool! My husband and I did find the room a little too small, will have to ask for a larger room next time. Also there seemed to be a lot of foot traffic in the halls and stairs. If you like to sleep in, I recommend an upstairs room. Continental breakfast comes with the room fee. Served by Peter, a very accommodating gentleman. Fresh juice and French Pressed Coffee. It's definitely enough food and you can ask for more if you so wish! Breakfast photo enclosed. We also had a lunch in the pub area, a 3 cheese plate consisting of Waltzing Matilda; buffalo milk rolled in balsam ash, Toscano; sheep's milk and Pia cere; sheep's milk scented with Juniper, Rosemary and Chilies. YUM! We also had the burger, perfectly cooked !
The Inn is located next to a golf course. Starbucks is a block away. The Shaw theaters are all within walking distance. 2 in town 1 on the outskirts with so many wonderful shops!! Winery tours are also offered and can be booked with the front desk. Thank you Chelsea for make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsKarenNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay at The Charles Inn! Spring is such a beautiful time of year to visit Niagara-on-the-Lake as the weather is beginning to warm up and the blooming flowers add an array of colours to Queen Street. The sizes of our guestrooms do vary with some offering more spacious accommodation and extra amenities. The private verandah off the Daisy Room provides an extra touch with a private area to relax and enjoy the warm sunshine. I am delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and lunch at The Charles and that you made the most of our convenient location by walking to the many wonderful shops and cafes that are nearby. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at the Charles Inn for one night last summer while attending a performance at the Shaw Festival. Although we are not fussy travellers, we were very disappointed with the quality of the Inn, especially given the price of the rooms and the favourable reviews on this site.

Good points first - the location of the Inn cannot be beat if looking to walk about Niagara on the Lake or if attending a play. The Inn also has a ton of curb appeal. It also has a nice veranda in which breakfast is served.

We stayed in the Poppy Room, which we found to be dark and drab, and in desperate need of updating. The room also had a fairly strong musty odour which we both found disturbing - especially in the morning. Overall, just not a nice room to stay in (perhaps other rooms are nicer?). We checked out early in the morning as we were both uncomfortable in the room.

We also had a disappointing experience in the restaurant. Although some of the food was very good, the service was very slow - we had to rush to make it to our play. It took almost an hour to get our first course, partly due to our food having been delivered to the wrong table. Although mistakes happen, it took forever for the server to notify us of the error. The beef was also grossly overdone. Perhaps they were having an off night (it happens).

Overall, we found the Inn to be extremely over-priced and would definitely not stay there again. We have given it an unfavourable rating as we would have expected far superior quality for the price. If you do want to try the Inn, our recommendation is to stay away from the Poppy Room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaTO_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your candid feedback as this is what helps make improvements for our future guests. I regret that we did not meet your expectations and that your room was not as bright and fresh as you were hoping. The Inn does have several different room types and some have more natural light than others. All of our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and inspected on a daily basis to maintain our high standards of cleanliness. I am disappointed to hear of your unsatisfactory dining experience. Perhaps the restaurant did have an “off” night, as this certainly does not live up to the high standards of service that we have become known for. We sincerely hope that you visit again and give us the opportunity to provide you with the outstanding experience that we strive to achieve.

Sincerely,
Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Charles Inn for 2 nights and we loved it. The staff was very friendly and the house has great period charm. We stayed in the Poppy Room, which was also charming, as well as roomy and comfortable. Temperature control was perfect and we were cozy despite cold weather and period architecture. In-room fireplace and firelog added a touch of romance. The luxury dual-head shower was very just the thing for a relaxing, decadent experience.

But the unexpected highlight of our stay was the 5 star FOOD! An outstanding value and an indescribable sensory experience. Dinner was stellar. You must try the crispy skinned Atlantic Salmon and Israeli couscous. The flavors were incredible. The complementary breakfast was nice but the French toast and the omelet were such a great value we went for those. Heavenly.

Conveniently located at the end of Queen St. with convenient parking. We will definitely stay at the Charles Inn when we return to Ontario.

Room Tip: Poppy Room was very nice. Second floor, quiet, away from street and facing golf course. Luxury dua...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Douglas,

I am thrilled to read your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us! The wood burning fireplace in the Poppy Room is the perfect way to warm up on a chilly evening. Your detailed review of your dining experience is fantastic and I am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with an exceptional meal. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Inn the next time you find yourself in Ontario!

Sincerely,
Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Charles Inn and it continues to be our favorite indulgence. This time we stayed in the Library Room which was comfortable, warm and stylish. The sparkling bathroom and featured the same fabulous giant shower head as the other rooms in which we have stayed. Dinner and breakfast were excellent but what really makes staying at the Charles Inn special is the service. Ray, Martin, Peter and Jiliian blend warmth, hospitality and professionalism with great knowledge the wonderful regional food and wine that's a hallmark of the Inn. We really enjoyed our weekend and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardenia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comforts and luxuries that our guest rooms offer. We have a wonderful team working at The Charles and I am glad that our staff was able to make your stay extra special. We look forward to your next visit to The Charles Inn!

Sincerely,
Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just got back from a weekend getaway to The Charles Inn. Attention to details is their trademark. Room was great, service was terrific and food was wonderful (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Centrally located. Definitely will be back next year.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Rick,

Thank you for your kind comments! We are thrilled that you appreciated our attention to detail and we look forward to your return to The Charles Inn!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,215 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £119 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing