We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK to eat but don't stay”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK to eat but don't stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2008

My wife and I have stayed in over 20 hotels, inns, B&Bs in Niagara-on-the-Lake (NOTL). Our stay at the Charles Inn easily had the distincition of being the worst ever. Problem 1 with the Charles Inn is that they turn off the heat and I assume air-conditioning in the off season, and not all rooms have individual heat/cooling controls (as advertised). So, if it's cooler or hotter than normal for that time of the year, you will suffer. We complained because it was too cold (temperature at night went down to 3 C), but were told its "policy" to turn off the heat on May 1. Problem 2: awful lounge lizard muzak constantly playing in the background. Exactly what you don't want to hear anytime of the day, especially first thing in the morning. when you ask them to turn the music down or off, the manager's excuse for playing the awful music - its policy. And, problem 3: attitude of the managers is deplorable. But, on a positive note, many of the staff are great, but they have to work under these idiotic managers. Food is good, if you're mood isn't spoiled by the inn.

  • Disliked — Poor attitude of the managers
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelledtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, owner at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2008
Although The Charles Inn does have individual heating and air conditioning in each room, there recently was a problem with the system and some in-room thermostats were not operating properly. To correct this problem, an entire new heating and air conditioning system with new thermostats was installed in the Charles last week and should be completed in the next few days. We are very sorry for any discomfort that this problem caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    69
    33
    15
    10
See reviews for
21
280
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wyandotte, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Charles Inn on April 5, 2008. I planned the trip as a surprise for his birthday and I am so pleased with our experience from beginning to end. Gail, the innkeeper, was there to greet us upon our arrival and immediately took us to our room (The Verandah Room). The room and view were breath taking and there were many personal touches that made it extra special. The bed was so inviting piled high with pillows and luxurious linens and the bathroom too with its large jacuzzi tub, rain shower head and heated floors....like heaven! Our dining experience was truly the best ever. Our waiter was very personable and made us feel special as if we were friends and the food was excellent! They were so accommodating...we overslept and they accommodated us by serving us breakfast in our room for which we are grateful. Even by calling them for room service at the last minute they still served us with a smile and a beautiful setting right in front of the fireplace. I can't say enough about the wonderful experience we had. I strongly encourage anyone who is looking for a way to celebrate one of life's special moments to stay at The Charles Inn....it will remain a fond memory for both of us for years to come.

  • Liked — The staff, atmosphere, luxurious accommodations, and food
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We booked a room at the Charles Inn for Easter week end. When we arrived, we found our room a bit too cold and they upgrade us to a nicer room with a fire place!

The breakfast was very good and we took a package including a diner. The diner was fantastic! We had Fresh foie gras and rabbit with tigger shrimp.

Very nice small hotel. We will go back!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

We spent a heavenly night at the Charles Inn this past weekend and found it to be a fabulous experience. This old inn has been completely renovated with such excellent taste and such attention to detail that we were transported back in time. Our room, with its fireplace, veranda and its antique furnishings was just beautiful and well in keeping with the period of the inn itself. The staff were so friendly, unpretentious and yet so professional that their service enhanced our every moment. Dinner in the beautiful dining room was a culinary delight and the intimate lounge was perfectly cozy for an after meal apertif. Bravo to the management and staff of the Charles for their dedication to a new high in quality, service and attention.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbrucieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

If you're looking for a romantic getaway with excellent food and outstanding service then the Charles Inn is a must!
We stayed in the Library room which was just fabulous with a gorgeous 4 poster bed, log fire and jacuzzi. There is even a hotel horse and carriage which will take you for a little jaunt around the town if you fancy it! It really couldn't be any more romantic!!!
Dinner in the stunning restaurant was amongst one of the best meals I've ever eaten and living in London and travelling extensively I've eaten some pretty good food in my time! Breakfast was scrumptious too with plenty of choice and the best French toast in the world!
The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the service at both dinner and breakfast was first class.
We also ate at the Oban around the corner which was also great food but for us, The Charles was the clear winner!
My only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Liked — Log fire in the room
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spannatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our wedding Anniversary at The Charles Inn on Niagara-on-the-lake. It was such an enjoyable event I wanted to share it with other people.

Our children bought us a gift certificate (Life Experiences) through Shopper's Drug Mart for Christmas and we thought since it was special
we would save it for our anniversary. The gift certificate was for a three course meal with wine pairings for each course. We enjoy wine tasting and have done quite a few vineyard tours and courses so this was a perfect gift for us.

We looked into the Inn on the internet and decided that we would stay
there since we were having our wine tasting evening at the Inn. We chose which room we liked and made the reservations in April 2007. We
received a confirmation email and all the necessary information. A
couple of days prior to our expected arrival I contacted The Charles Inn just to make sure things were still ok with our resdervations and
spoke to a member of the staff who was very courteous and friendly and confirmed that everything was ready for our arrival. We were quite taken with the Inn itself as neither my husband nor I had ever stayed in an old country inn so did not know what to expect. We found
The Charles Inn to be beautiful both inside and out. They have beautiful gardens surrounding the Inn and a golf course next door. The back garden is private and great for taking pictures. Our room was much larger than we expected and felt that the pictures on the internet did not do it justice. The room was tastefully decorated and
immaculate. I have to say it was much better than we had imagined it would be.

The dinner was wonderful. We started with hor's doeuvres with a different wine to compliment each. Our server took his time and introduced each wine that was being served and briefly explained why it was chosen. We then chose an appetizer, the entree and a dessert. There was a different wine pairing for each dish. The food was delicious with the perfect amount of food. The wine pairings were a good choice and complimented the food perfectly.

Following dinner we sat in their lounge and thoroughly enjoyed one of their signature Ice Wine Martini's which was out of this world. The Inn is located on the main street however it is at one end and is very quiet but close enough to walk to all the nearby shops and boutiques. It is also close to numerous vineyards if you are interested in taking in wine tours.

The entire weekend was a delight and I would recommend it to everyone. The staff were warm, friendly and very professional. We had an anniversary to remember and I would gladly return anytime to The Charles Inn.
Carol & Hassan Gaffoor

  • Liked — Great food and wine pairings, the rooms were very clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarrieVinyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We had dinner here over the Thanksgiving weekend, and had the table d'hôte. I wondered how they would "fancy up" a traditional turkey dinner, but I was so surprised how amazing the meal was. It was accompanied with a corn chowder that I will continue to crave for years, and wonderful local wine pairings. The price tag was a bit hefty but well worth it. Every bite was better than the next. My husband and I were there to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and it made for a memorable night ! This I am sure is the first of many visits to this culinary delight. Although we did not stay in the rooms, it looked lovely. Great service as well! Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OctoberBride13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,451 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing