We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful inn in a beautiful town”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The staff, accommodations, and grounds are wonderful. And the working fireplaces add a romantic touch! We were in a room with a porch, which made for a very nice relaxing and reading area. In the summer the main street in the small town of Niagara-on-the-Lake has numerous flower boxes on each block, each of which had different arrangements of flowers. It was a beautiful street just to walk down. And Niagara Falls is just a 20 minute ride away! Many cities are lucky for have one live theater.....Niagara-on-the-Lakes has four (the Shaw theaters).

Room Tip: Room 4 is a 2nd floor room (the inn has no elevator), but it has an (almost) private porch overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Steve,

Thank you for your wonderful reflection of your stay at The Charles Inn! Niagara-on-the-Lake certainly is gorgeous at this time of year with lush and colourful flowers lining Queen Street. I am delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location to the Shaw theatres and nearby Niagara Falls. We hope to welcome you back to The Charles Inn sometime in the near future!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

200 year old building has areas that look it's age. They've tried to keep the rooms from being too outdated. There are modern tvs, a/c, and decent bathrooms. The Apple room (smallest and most inexpensive) was clean and fairly comfortable. There are tables and chairs located right outside the windows to the rooms on the second floor. So, tough luck if you want to have the window or curtains open and someone decides to sit right outside your window. There wasn't that much activity on a Wednesday night and that wasn't a problem for us.The creaky floors and doors did wake me a couple of times, maybe I was jumpy because you could almost see through the gaps under and around the door, We had to put a towel at the bottom of the door, we like to sleep in the dark, there was a lot of light seeping through the door. Then we had to unplug the tv because it had a blue nightlight. Not exactly a luxurious place, not impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lienaDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I regret that your room was not as luxurious as you were expecting. The Apple room is one of our smallest room types and does not offer some of the extra conveniences that other rooms provide. We have 12 guest rooms in total that range in size, many of them including in-room sitting areas, fireplaces and outdoor verandahs. We appreciate your honesty as we are continuously striving to improve for our future guests!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay at the Charles inn. The location was great, and the continental breakfast was fantastic! We stayed in the daisy room which is on the first floor with a private screened in porch on the side. The room in really tiny with only a little room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was very nice with a large glass shower with a rainfall and regular shower head. It was very humid in our room. When we got dressed our clothes felt slightly damp. We weren't too bothered by this as we know we paid for a lower end room. If we stayed here again, we would pick a larger room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Jen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and the beautiful, spacious bathroom that the Daisy room offers. We appreciate your honesty concerning the humidity in your room as we are always striving to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Charles in the near future!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at The Charles Inn during the July 1st long weekend. We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary and the staff treated us like family, we also received a nice surprise in our room to celebrate this milestone! Everyone including the front desk, to the maid in the morning were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay even more enjoyable. Our room, the Poppy room was located on the 2nd floor, it was a good size and a nice bathroom. We really enjoyed that we had access to the upper screened in verandah where we watched the rain one evening and enjoy our cont. breakfast on the comfy wicker furniture. The breakfast was perfect, (included in your room cost) We had yogurt, granola & fruit parfaits, hard boiled eggs and smoked salmon and crossants. It was more then enough and very nicely presented. We also enjoyed a fantastic dinner on the first night, the chef and servers were amazing. The white fish was melt in your mouth and the scallops we had for an appetizer were cooked perfectly. The Inn is well cared for and located on Queen Street, about a 5-10 min walk to all the shops on Queen. The golf course is also located behind the Inn.
Would highly recommended this Inn and the restaurant to anyone looking to be pampered!!

Room Tip: Only 12 rooms, I'm sure they were all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koda555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for joining us on your special Anniversary celebration and for the wonderful reflection of your stay! Our covered verandahs are perfect for enjoying breakfast or an after dinner drink...rain or shine! I am delighted to read your lovely comments about our breakfast and dinner selections. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fabulous overnight and dining experience!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Charles Inn is a lovely 12 room Inn. I believe they said built in 1832. The reception ladies treat you like family. We asked for a room with balcony so we could sit outside in the morning and have our coffee, which you can get delivered to your room. We had stayed at the Prince of Wales before which is nice, but we LOVED this small quaint hotel. Cont. breakfast (which is included in room price) was delightful and served in sun-room area. The dinner in diningroom was fabulous. By 7:00 p.m. on a Wed. there wasn't a seat left. They have a great Chef. The whitefish was the best I have tasted, and the Lemon dessert was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat and bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Charles Inn! I am delighted to hear that our staff made you feel like family during your visit. The private balconies that some of our guest rooms offer certainly add a special touch and are perfect for a morning coffee! We hope to welcome you back to The Charles in the near future and to serve you another fantastic meal!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed in two rooms at the Inn for an extended weekend the second week of June. One part of the party stayed in the Newark Room, and the other part stayed in the Renoir Room. Both rooms were a good size with a comfortable seating area, and a large, very well-kitted out bathroom. We had two kids, age 8 and 2, with us, and the Inn was extremely accommodating in providing for them. They have a wonderful continental breakfast that is complimentary and it is above and beyond a typical continental breakfast. It includes smoked salmon, delicious homemade granola and chutney, Brie cheese, croissants, a hard boiled egg and ham. You could order a made to order breakfast for a small additional cost, and our last day there they actually gave my daughter an extra poached egg, which they knew to be her favorite. The restaurant as part of the Inn is wonderful as well. We have stayed here for many years during the Shaw Festival and look forward to our visit each year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydiamaxsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful reflection of your stay at The Charles Inn! I am delighted that you and your family continue to return to The Charles while you enjoy the Shaw Festival each year! Our breakfast is certainly a treat and I am glad that we were able to provide your daughter with a little something extra! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

we stayed here for 4 days for a wedding. our room was rather small, but you can surely get a bigger room for more money. i thought our beds were very comfortable. bathrooms were spacious and clean. their continental breakfast is amazing. their hot breakfast was pretty good as well. the only thing was that we saw a centipede crawl in our bathroom, but i think that's because the building and structure of the inn is pretty old...
the inn is in great location....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaykkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and delicious breakfast. I apologize for the insect you found in your room and trust that you otherwise had a very pleasurable experience. Thanks again and we hope to see you for a return visit!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,600 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £97 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing