We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW Attention to detail and Customer service still exists!! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Charles Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOW Attention to detail and Customer service still exists!! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Charles Inn!
My husband and I always intend on reviewing the places that we stay and never seem to get around to it.
Our experience at The Charles Inn left us with such a great impression that we had to write a review!
My husband is booked for Surgery this week, so we decided at the last minute to go to NOTL for a romantic evening alone.
From the minute we arrived at The St. Charles Inn, until the time we left, we were very happy.
Sarah at the front desk made sure that we had everything we needed at all times.
Attention to detail is very evident at the Inn.. from the heated floors in the bathroom ( in the rooms) to the complimentary yummy hot chocolate.
The decor is lovely updated, but keeping with the historical charm of the Estate.
We felt extremely relaxed and comfortable in our gorgeous guestroom, that had a nice fireplace and sitting area.
Our dinning experience was fabulous and priced right.
Our breakfast was excellent as well!!
My husband and I have traveled extensively and we would not hesitate to recommend The Charles Inn as one our top places to stay. We will definitely return.. hopefully by this summer.
The customer service was outstanding!!
Keep up the Great work!
Anne Marie & Kevin Baker

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for the honour of being your first Trip Advisor review! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We strive to make sure our guests are comfortable and really feel taken care of. The Newark Room is always a favourite and really captures the character of the home while offering modern comfort and our dining experience is not to be missed! It was lovely to have met you both, and all of us here at The Charles wish your husband well with his surgery. For your next visit, please feel free to contact me directly at slegault@charlesinn.ca and I would be happy to look after the details of your stay myself!

Safe travels.

Sarah Legault
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    67
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
18
273
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a last-minute weekend getaway and decided that Niagara-on-the-Lake was the perfect location to relax, get some great food, and experience some excellent local wines. A friend recommended that we look at the Shaw Club, however it was unfortunately booked solid for the weekend. In looking at their website, they are part of a group called “Niagara’s Finest Inns”. After looking at the other two options (Harbour House and Charles Inn), we decided on the Charles Inn as it had a great weekend price (lower than most other accommodations I’d seen advertised)

We could not have been happier with our selection! Both of us travel a lot for work, and therefore have high standards when it comes to accommodations, and we were both blown away by the excellent customer service we received this weekend. The staff was exceptionally customer focused; upon checking in we were given a full tour and a few recommendations for dinner, and we were even bumped up to a slightly larger room than what we had booked. We ended up having dinner in at the restaurant within the Inn (Charles Inn Restaurant) and it was amazing. Such wonderful food and again the service was top notch.

The Inn itself is lovely. It has a heritage feeling about it, with lots of exposed wood and beautiful details, and our room was very nice as well. I would guess that most of the rooms in the Inn are on the smaller size (as ours was), but it was perfectly suited for a weekend away. We stayed in the “Renoir Room” and it was very nice. The room was very private (located at the top of a small flight of stairs) and the washroom was modern and we even had a jet tub and beautiful shower.

The breakfast dining area is along a hallway with windows facing the main street; so each morning you are showered in natural light while having breakfast. And the ‘continental’ breakfast was AMAZING. We were expecting the typical complimentary breakfast of toast, some fruit and an egg. The Charles Inn went well above our expectations: hard-boiled egg, ham, smoked salmon, brie and a baguette along with a delicious yogurt parfait with homemade granola. The coffee was on the weak side, but it did come in a full French press!

All in all, we had a wonderful weekend. The staff really made the stay; they gave us tons of advice on what to do during our weekend, made some WONDERFUL restaurant recommendations, and even organized a shuttle to get us to our dinner location on our second night (even though we totally could have walked as the location is very central and close to everything!)

We will 100% return! Thank you to all of the staff for making our relaxing vacation a reality!

Room Tip: Each of the rooms seem to be very different. We stayed in the "Renoir Room" and it was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you so much for such a glowing review, your stay really reflects everything we strive for! We are so lucky to have such an exceptional team who all work together in an effort to produce the best guest experience we can. ‘The Inn’ is a unique and special place with the perfect combination of history and as you say a ‘heritage feeling,’ with great food and wine, distinctive rooms, and exceptional service. We are so glad you were able to enjoy everything we have to offer! It was wonderful to meet you both; we look forward to welcoming you back!

Safe travels.

Sarah Legault
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I have eaten here many times. It was on the advice from the driver from the Harbour House Hotel that we tried it. We were not disappointed. Food was outstanding. Service was attentive and pleasant. We got the same waitress on two visits, almost a year apart and she remembered us. I would highly recommend it. The chef can produce the most flavour full concoctions I have ever tasted. On our last visit we decided to stay in the Inn. We have stayed overnight in pretty well all the hotels in Niagara on the Lake. During the winter the Charles Inn is only open on the weekends. We booked for the end of January. My wife phoned them to upgrade our room which they did at no extra charge. I guess they weren't that busy. They put us in the very top room in the over 100 year old Inn. Unfortunately it was too hot to stay in that room and turning off the heat didn't make a difference, so they moved us to another upgraded room with this massive fireplace in it on the main level. Quite lovely it was but my wife is a light sleeper and the exhaust fan for the kitchen was nearby and did disturb her sleep. I on the other hand slept soundly. We again enjoyed a delicious meal for dinner and the light breakfast in the morning. I would highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Next time I'll ask for a room on the second floor maybe to the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your candid review of The Charles. Our dining experience is second to none; Chef Sperling and his team truly produce amazing food and Jillian, your server, is an invaluable part of our service team here at The Charles. We regret that you had to move because of the temperature of your room and that your wife was not able to enjoy a restful sleep. We are always looking for ways to improve guest experience and will be addressing the issues that affected your stay. We have twelve rooms here at ‘the Inn’, each of which is completely unique. For your next visit, I would be happy to look after the details of your stay myself, helping you select the best room based on your preferences; feel free to reach out to me directly at slegault@charlesinn.ca. Thank you again; we look forward to the opportunity to provide you with the complete experience we have become known for!

Safe Travels.

Sarah Legault
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent 2 nights in the Charles Inn end of February and our stay was just perfect! We highly recommend this hotel, we had an amazing experience! All personal was very kind and we were given very good advices regarding activities to do around and wineries to visit. We had a really warm welcome and we enjoyed a lot all Hotel services, starting from the breakfast to the cleanliness of room. We had dinner at the very cosy, warm restaurant, food is excellent, and service is really qualitative. We had a really nice and spacious room with a fireplace that we were able to use very easily. Bathroom was really nice too and clean. Decoration is really authentic and modern at the same time. You feel like at home when you are at the Charles Inn, it is a long time since I haven't experience this sensation in a hotel. The hotel is located in the main street and near the lake. The location is perfect, you can go for a walk on the main street to discover all the nice and cute shops or go around the lake and take a big fresh breathe. We will definitively come back to the Charles Inn for Spring and summer. Thank you Sarah for your kindness and for having made our stay just perfect! We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are always thrilled when our service, food, atmosphere, and ambience intersect to create such a fabulous guest experience! I especially love when guests can really feel that The Charles is a home away home because that truly is what makes this place special. It was such a pleasure meeting you both and we are all looking forward to your next visit!

Safe Travels.

Sarah Legault
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here from February 14 - 16, 2014, in the loft Safari Room. Dined here two evenings, and breakfast both mornings. Loved everything!

From the moment we walked in the door, the manager greeted us and checked us in. She then showed us to our room and explained a number of things to us. Our first time staying here thus started with a great first impression. We arrived on a very busy dining evening of Valentine's Day. We headed to the lounge side for a late dinner, and despite the business of the servers, we were greeted and served there in decent time. The service on the lounge side was good. Food good as well - liked that you could order from the lounge menu or from the dining room menu, have a pint or a glass of wine, and relax.

The room itself is in a loft, with slanting ceilings, a couple of small dormer-style windows, but with lots of space for a couple, and was nicely decorated, cozy, and with a gas fireplace. We have previously strayed several times at the Harbour House and Olde Angel Inn, but this is our new favourite lodging.

The serving staff at breakfast (Lloyd), and at dinner (Alan) were professional, courteous, and well informed. Praise to them all - this helped make our stay most enjoyable.

I would recommend Charles Inn for its' unique room offering, excellent lounge, dinner, and breakfast offerings, and for its' top notch front desk staff and servers.
We will return to lodge here on our next visit to NOTL!

David & Lisa

Room Tip: Safari room is in a loft, spacious, but a bit of stair climbing. Unique, cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
From all of us here at The Charles, thank you for your thoughtful review! We really appreciate your kind comments as we really do have an amazing team here all working together to deliver our absolute best; I will be sure to pass on your review to the team in the restaurant. The Safari Loft is a truly unique room and a perfect hideaway for a chilly Valentine’s Weekend! It was lovely to have met you both, and I look forward to seeing you again!

Safe Travels.

Sarah Legault
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great hotel nice location with very enthusiastic and helpful staff. The food was first class with knowledgeable staff who understood what they were serving. Room was very clean and comfortable. Would visit again soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! We do have a very enthusiastic team and I’m pleased that was reflected in your stay. I have passed on your kind comments to the kitchen and serving staff and we are all looking forward to the opportunity to once again take great care of you!

Safe Travels.

Sarah Legault
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingersoll, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Lucked out and managed to get a cancellation on the day. The hotel rocked, the staff were great (very helpful and had a great sense off humor too). The room was beautiful and very clean. Thanks staff for a great night. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back. Gina and Sarah x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We have a fantastic team here who really strive to make your stay the best it can be, and we are all so happy you had such a great time! Take care, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Safe Travels.

Sarah Legault
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing