We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great House and Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakewinds Country Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It was our first time in Niagara on the Lake. The town is small but pretty busy with tourists. Lots of nice places to shop and eat.

Lakewinds was the perfect place to stay. Walking distance to shopping and dining. A pool, porch and large garden to relax in. Comfortable beds and fantastic breakfasts. A great host; Steve gave us fantastic recommendations for things to see and where to find the best food and wine.

If our travels lead us back to the Niagara area we will definitely book a room at Lakewinds again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zach7900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Helping our guests enjoy our wonderful region comes naturally, as we think it is a very special place.. Jane and I have traveled extensively in Canada and are always pleased to point out some of our country's attributes to guests from afar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

We noticed the Lakewinds manor at the end of our trip to NOTL last year and decided we would stay at Lakewinds this year. It didn't disappoint. Gorgeous rooms and furnishings inside and meticulously maintained gardens/pool outside. Upon our arrival Steve greeted us with a warm welcome and showed us the house. Complimentary sherry was nice to enjoy before going out for dinner. The breakfast was served at a dining room table that seated 14 people and lots of wonderful conversation was enjoyed. The breakfast was on par with a fine restaurant, and exceeded our expectations. Steve and Jane were quick to offer more coffee/tea/juice. We cooled off in the pool in the late afternoon. Before we left NOTL Steve was very helpful with directions to our next destination and the chocolate chip cookies were a nice touch. I would highly recommend Lakewinds and plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KBSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

We feel that a returning guest is a very good gauge of guest satisfaction. So we are delighted your are planning to return! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent 3 nights at Lakewinds with another couple and we had a great time. We lazed for hours beside the heated pool, played pool and used the available bicycles to ride to town. Steve and Jan are wonderful hosts and helped us with information about the area. They made us feel at home and never complained about anything. The breakfast is so delicious, everything is fresh and the waffles may be the best I've ever tasted. It is served with class in a beautiful room with very nice furniture and every day there is something different. Sherry and nuts are served around 4pm, there is always coffee available and delicious chocolates in the foyer when you get back from an outing at night. Thanks again to Steve and Jan, we had a lot of fun!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We are delighted that you have enjoyed Lakewinds. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Lakewinds is like something out of a Jane Austen novel. It is absolutely lovely! My fiance and I had an amazing time biking to the local wineries, enjoying some alone time in the stunning garden and sipping on sherry on the wrap around porch before dinner. The atmosphere is very peaceful. A great getaway from the city. It's just a short walk away from great restaurants and tourist attractions on Queen Street. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and we enjoyed some great conversation with the other guests around the breakfast table. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

As we enjoyed this energetic and engaging couple who were a pleasure to meet. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

A wonderful bed and breakfast. Large rooms with private bath. Terrific porch overlooking the NOTL golf course fairways and Lake Ontario. Large sitting room for visiting, playing pool or watching TV. An estate setting with beautiful gardens and pool. Very nice freshly prepared hot breakfast to start the day. Jane and Steve, host owners are very friendly and accommodating. This is an annual destination for a multi-day stay. Very relaxing. Well done!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Noreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Sometimes people ask us what guests like best about Lakewinds. This review answers this by pointing out the many aspects and attributes of Lakewinds... something for everyone. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Steve and Jan were excellent hosts for our first trip to NOTL for our anniversary celebration. The Manor was beautiful with a large comfortable porch that wrapped around the front with breathtaking views of the golf course across the street. It was a the perfect place to relax while sipping a glass of sherry before dinner reservations. But the best part of our stay: Our quarters, the San Souci Suite, was heavenly decorated located on the 3rd floor with a cozy sitting area, private bathroom with jacuzzi tub & shower and balcony. Our suite was simply angelic. My husband and I felt like honeymooners when we arrived to our 3rd floor suite. Although the pool was not yet open in mid-May (still quite cold), it looked like a great way to cool off in the summer! The location of the Lakewinds was also ideal as it was across the street from the public golf course, 5 minute walk into downtown NOTL (theater, restaurants, etc) and about a 7 minute drive to the local vineyards. Second best part of our stay: The delicious home cooked 3 course breakfast that included wonderful fresh cutted mango, warm scones and yummy french toast! We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Sans Souci Suite was worth the extra fee, located on the 3rd floor and was in a more private setting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enjoythejourney777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Any time one of our guest feels like honeymooners, we are delighted!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We are always eager to get to Lakewinds every year now for the past decade for a 3 day stay. A most comfortable place to re-energise, within walking distance to theatres and entertainment, golf course, restaurants and shopping, close drive to wineries, antiques, and many sights of Niagara region. We enjoy the elegance of the updated mansion, large luxurious rooms, beautiful garden and pool, fine breakfast dining and most important our hosts Steve and Jane who go all out to make us welcome. There is none other comparable in Niagara on the Lake. We always book a year in advance.

Grace and Dennis Epstein

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

This couple is one of our favourites. They seem so pleased to be at Lakewinds, which makes it us feel very rewarded. We have enjoyed their visits for many years and look forward to them returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,773 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#16 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Darlington House Bed and Breakfast
Darlington House Bed and Breakfa...
#21 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewinds Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewinds Country Manor

Address: 328 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £163 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special and unique experience awaits you at Lakewinds, a recently restored Victorian manor, offering the best of bed and breakfast experiences. Situated on a quiet acre of extensive flower gardens and mature trees, Lakewinds offers you unparalleled views of the golf course beside the lake. A short walk away is the centre of the old town where you will find the theatres, shops and restaurants. Acclaimed by media and repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lakewinds Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing