We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakewinds Country Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Located near Lake Ontario - this is one fabulous B&B. We loved our experience. Breakfast was fantastic, staff was great, house is beautiful, clean and an easy walk to town. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We dont like to stay at big hotels, so we look after those small and precious "stones" still remaining in touristic areas.
At Niagara on the lake, Ontario, Canada, we found the ultimate B&B. Jane & Steve Locke run
Lakewinds Country Manor with all the right ingredients to make your stay a long and lasting beutiful experince.
The rooms, the building, the ambient, the breakfast long table make all one of those you want to keep for long after you left, waiting for next opportunity to come over.
Great place for friends.

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PABLO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

It was a pleasure to meet a couple that has traveled so far and wide and still appreciate Lakewinds. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent one evening at Lakewinds while visiting Niagara on the Lake & it's surrounding vineyards. The Inn is very quaint. Loaded with antiques and over-stuffed furniture. We were met by one of the owners, Steve. The introduction to the property was a little odd. He spent more time showing us the "off limits" areas than showing us where we could go. We were escorted to our room and left to settle in. Much to my dismay, there was no tv in the room. (this was not mentioned in the room description). The Inn was full so there was no chance to change to a room with a tv. No big deal to some people but I enjoy the evening news. The owners were entertaining friends with children for dinner on their deck, which was right below our windows, and it was a little disruptive. They also allowed their friend's kids to play in the guest's pool. I felt this was out of line. The claw-footed tub was cute, but to use the shower head, a wrap around curtain was required and it stuck to you as you showered. The pedestal sink was located next to the bed (no counter to put your toiletries).
The 9AM breakfast in the dining room was superb. All guests ate at the same table which was prepared with china & crystal ware. It was truly elegant. The meal consisted of juice, tea, coffee, homemade muffins, scones & croissants, fresh fruit compote & eggs benedict. It would have been a perfect breakfast if the orange juice was freshly squeezed. Unfortunately, it tasted like it was from a wax container. We dined for over an hour with coffee and tea being served throughout. Jane, the other owner, was very pleasant and wished us a safe trip home. We were given a pair of fresh baked scones for the road. (nice touch).
The Inn is within walking distance of the village shopping and dining areas.

Room Tip: If you want a tv in your room, ask about it before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank almtyr0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

While we do always try to take criticism to heart and make improvements where we can, in some cases we are just flummoxed. As part of our 5-10 minute personal introduction and tour of our over 7,000 square foot home, we do point out our personal living area (less than 15% of the total space shown) in a sentence or two. As a traditional B&B, this is our home in which our common area is not separated from our guest area by locked doors. We have found that guests are usually happy understanding this arrangement. The one acre outdoor verandahs, gardens, pond and pool are available to all guests and ourselves.

As for room set up, these guests booked on-line and all booking system room descriptions point out that 3 guest rooms have TV's and 3 do not. This is shown right below the online booking availability this guest used. There is a TV in the billiards room for all guests to use. We agree that an old, original iron claw footed tub is better suited to soaking than showering and will continue to strive for a better solution. The pedestal sink is twinned by a pine washstand for guest toiletries, as shown in the picture from the guest.

Lastly, as we are a family home, from time to time we entertain our children and grandchildren here. Such was the case on the Monday in question. They arrived at 5:30 pm and were gone by 8:30. We are sorry that these guests were disturbed by the gang and would have asked for less exuberance from the kids and moved to a different location had we known we were bothering them. If there are guests in the pool area, we always ask them if our grandchildren can share the pool and usually have them use it at "off hours" (early evening).

We strive to make a stay at Lakewinds a most pleasant one and to this end have responded directly to the guests in question regarding their concerns. We are delighted they were pleased with our breakfasts. We will continue to work towards enhancing the travel experience for visitors to Lakewinds and our lovely town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Step onto the verandah of this elegant Victorian manor and return to the tranquility of the 1880's is the best description of this lovely bed and breakfast. My husband and I enjoyed our wine and cheese each evening on this veranda watching the golfers with the view of the lake beyond them. If you are looking for two wonderfully attentive innkeepers, superbly delicious breakfasts, in a lovingly presented formal dining room, this is the bed and breakfast for you. The furnishings are comfy and use of the billiard table and extra amenities of a small service area for coffee, refrigerator and cold drinks was a pleasant addition. Although we did not have time to use the swimming pool it looked pristine and other guests were found enjoying not only the pool but the lovely respite of quiet beautiful surrounding gardens. Jane and Steve were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Kudos to them and the lovely Niagara-On-The-Lake area. The location is close enough for a pleasant stroll into town where there are many delightful shops and restaurants. The walk along the lake and beautiful displays of flowering baskets and landscaping throughout the town deserves acknowledgment and blue ribbon rewards. Thanks to all for a wonderful experience. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank for your kind review and also for mentioning our superb old town, only steps away. NOTL (notil, as the locals pronounce it) is a great place to live and visit. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have been staying at Lakewinds since the first year they opened. The Lockes are fabulous hosts and their home becomes your home. The ere is no detail overlooked and the breakfasts are delicious, the gardens are gorgeous and they have a pool and bikes for their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

This couple comes with other friends and always have a great time. Most years they ask me to engage a Shaw actor to come and speak to them at breakfast, which is always a highlight. We look forward to your next visit as always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This would explain our experience. The setting, both the proprietors and the guests all added to a wonderful experience. We will do this again. The location and helpfulness not to mention the five star breakfasts - if you are looking for a place to rest, relax and enjoy - this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cyn830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much. We hope you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've stayed at Lakewinds numerous times and have tried a different room every time and they are all great but our preference is the Singapore. It has a great view of the golf course and the lake plus we are able to open the huge window to sleep with cool fresh air. We love the use of the pool after a warm day, sitting on the porch sipping our sherry or having the use of their bikes to explore the area. The thing we also love about the Lakewinds is the room we have to walk about the gardens, have a fun game of pool or our favourite is just sitting outside on the front porch. Their breakfasts are the best we've ever had in B&Bs. Jane and Steve are great hosts. Thanks for making your place a stay like one at home!! Only recommendation is to book early or you won't get in. See you next year :-))

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,752 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,226 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewinds Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewinds Country Manor

Address: 328 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £150 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special and unique experience awaits you at Lakewinds, a recently restored Victorian manor, offering the best of bed and breakfast experiences. Situated on a quiet acre of extensive flower gardens and mature trees, Lakewinds offers you unparalleled views of the golf course beside the lake. A short walk away is the centre of the old town where you will find the theatres, shops and restaurants. Acclaimed by media and repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lakewinds Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing