We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Luxurious Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakewinds Country Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, Luxurious Retreat”
Reviewed 21 May 2010

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in the Sans Souci room at Lakewinds. It was JUST what we needed to relax and wind down after all the craziness of planning a wedding.
The room is very cozy and romantic and PERFECT for a couple's getaway! It was rainy and chilly during our stay so, the en suite jacuzzi tub for two was a welcome end to the day!
The house itself is gorgeous and very thoughtfully and tastefully decorated. Piped in classical music set a relaxing atmosphere in the common areas.
Steve and Jane were incredible hosts! They made sure that your every need was met without being intrusive.
The breakfasts every morning were INCREDIBLE .... some of the best I've ever had! Conversation with the other guests every morning was delightful!
We also enjoyed the beautiful grounds, the DVD and game library, and yummy cookies at check-out!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajera1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
213
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We have been staying with Jane and Steve Locke, the owners of Lakewinds, for at least 7 years for our annual trip to the Shaw Festival in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Jane and Steve's warm hospitality is unsurpassed. The rooms are all comfortably and attractively appointed, each with a unique theme. Jane's breakfasts are outstanding. Trust me, you won't need lunch! On our most recent stay, a cold drizzly day, the dining room was inviting with a fire in the fireplace and beautiful fresh flowers.

Jane attends to every detail. When you return late afternoon, you will find sherry and nuts awaiting you on the table in the spacious front hall. After dinner or an evening performance you will return to find the nuts and sherry replaced with yummy chocolate truffles - to die for!

Steve and Jane are always very helpful with restaurant suggestions and reservations or a tee time at the golf course across the street.

We have stayed at several other B and Bs in NIagara-on-the-Lake. Lakewinds Country Inn has them all beat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Our group stayed with Steve and Jane again this year and thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality! My wife and I have stayed in several B&B's over the years and this is certainly one of the very best! I'd strongly recommend Lakewinds B&B if your travels take you to Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConesusLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

On a recent May weekend, my husband escaped to a little piece of heaven called The Lakewinds in Niagara-on-the-lake. The inn is conveniently located just inside the beautiful historic district of this delight filled town. It is a meticulously restored Queen Anne Victorian with all of the comforts required for a restful stay.Our room was titled "Heaven" and was fully equipped with a wonderfully comfortable king size bed and a serene white on white decor. The whirlpool tub was a treat. Antiques and comfortable upholstered pieces furnish the guest spaces. There ia a large porch overlooking the golfcourse with plenty of wicker seating. The entire B&B sparkled with cleanliness. Our breakfast was served by our charming host,Steve...belgium waffles with sliced bananas and strawberries... delicious! At 5p.m., our host put out sherry with a selection of nuts and chocolate truffles. Our bill was served up with two fresh chocolate chip cookies for the ride home.. The grounds are extensive and include a path through beautiful gardens and an inground swimming pool. There were also bikes available for use by the guests. A wonderful respite is available at the Lakewinds B&B.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyracuseNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We had a wonderful stay, in a wonderful location, with wonderful hosts who took wonderful care of us. And we enjoyed the play as well...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Great B&B at a central location. Everything was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We spent the weekend with Jane and Steve and were treated to top notch accommodations and truly elegant breakfasts. Their hospitality was outstanding. Their Manor is spacious and there are lots of places for guest to mingle, separate from the host family. This isn't your normal B&B - this is truly a Country Manor with all the best features of a B&B. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,978 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,193 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewinds Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewinds Country Manor

Property: Lakewinds Country Manor
Address: 328 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special and unique experience awaits you at Lakewinds, a recently restored Victorian manor, offering the best of bed and breakfast experiences. Situated on a quiet acre of extensive flower gardens and mature trees, Lakewinds offers you unparalleled views of the golf course beside the lake. A short walk away is the centre of the old town where you will find the theatres, shops and restaurants. Acclaimed by media and repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lakewinds Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing