We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything a Niagara-on-the-Lake B & B should be.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakewinds Country Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakewinds Country Manor
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything a Niagara-on-the-Lake B & B should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Magnificent. Spectacular. Lakewinds has everything. Warm and inviting hosts, succulent top-quality breakfasts that beat most 4-diamond restaurants in the area, a relaxing porch with a beautiful view, a temperature-controlled pool surrounded by lush gardens, and comfortable, cozy rooms. Plus a pool table, WiFi, sherry at cocktail time, and chocolates in the evening. And tucked away from the main town traffic, yet with immediate town access - walking distance to all restaurants. We have been trying B & B's in NOTL for over 10 years now, and this is the first one we would definitely revisit. (We could barely leave this time, and ending up booking an extra night.)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stomping_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
205
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

My wife and I stayed for a few days during our honeymoon. The manor was beautiful, and the Sans Souci room was very romantic. Whether just strolling around the town or sleeping in late after a great breakfast, we enjoyed the slow-pace and warm atmosphere. My wife loved the gardens; they exemplify the effort and attention to detail that these hosts (The Lockes) apply to every part of running this Bed & Breakfast.

The Lockes gave great suggestions for restaurants and wineries in the area. Also, if you stay during good weather like we did, be sure to walk up the road and watch one of the gorgeous sunsets over the lake. There are bicycles to ride around town, and it's just a short drive down to the falls. I look forward to another stay in the future. Enjoy the photos, they are just a tiny taste of what the place has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in the Sans Souci room at Lakewinds. It was JUST what we needed to relax and wind down after all the craziness of planning a wedding.
The room is very cozy and romantic and PERFECT for a couple's getaway! It was rainy and chilly during our stay so, the en suite jacuzzi tub for two was a welcome end to the day!
The house itself is gorgeous and very thoughtfully and tastefully decorated. Piped in classical music set a relaxing atmosphere in the common areas.
Steve and Jane were incredible hosts! They made sure that your every need was met without being intrusive.
The breakfasts every morning were INCREDIBLE .... some of the best I've ever had! Conversation with the other guests every morning was delightful!
We also enjoyed the beautiful grounds, the DVD and game library, and yummy cookies at check-out!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajera1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

We have been staying with Jane and Steve Locke, the owners of Lakewinds, for at least 7 years for our annual trip to the Shaw Festival in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Jane and Steve's warm hospitality is unsurpassed. The rooms are all comfortably and attractively appointed, each with a unique theme. Jane's breakfasts are outstanding. Trust me, you won't need lunch! On our most recent stay, a cold drizzly day, the dining room was inviting with a fire in the fireplace and beautiful fresh flowers.

Jane attends to every detail. When you return late afternoon, you will find sherry and nuts awaiting you on the table in the spacious front hall. After dinner or an evening performance you will return to find the nuts and sherry replaced with yummy chocolate truffles - to die for!

Steve and Jane are always very helpful with restaurant suggestions and reservations or a tee time at the golf course across the street.

We have stayed at several other B and Bs in NIagara-on-the-Lake. Lakewinds Country Inn has them all beat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Our group stayed with Steve and Jane again this year and thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality! My wife and I have stayed in several B&B's over the years and this is certainly one of the very best! I'd strongly recommend Lakewinds B&B if your travels take you to Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConesusLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

On a recent May weekend, my husband escaped to a little piece of heaven called The Lakewinds in Niagara-on-the-lake. The inn is conveniently located just inside the beautiful historic district of this delight filled town. It is a meticulously restored Queen Anne Victorian with all of the comforts required for a restful stay.Our room was titled "Heaven" and was fully equipped with a wonderfully comfortable king size bed and a serene white on white decor. The whirlpool tub was a treat. Antiques and comfortable upholstered pieces furnish the guest spaces. There ia a large porch overlooking the golfcourse with plenty of wicker seating. The entire B&B sparkled with cleanliness. Our breakfast was served by our charming host,Steve...belgium waffles with sliced bananas and strawberries... delicious! At 5p.m., our host put out sherry with a selection of nuts and chocolate truffles. Our bill was served up with two fresh chocolate chip cookies for the ride home.. The grounds are extensive and include a path through beautiful gardens and an inground swimming pool. There were also bikes available for use by the guests. A wonderful respite is available at the Lakewinds B&B.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SyracuseNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We had a wonderful stay, in a wonderful location, with wonderful hosts who took wonderful care of us. And we enjoyed the play as well...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewinds Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewinds Country Manor

Property: Lakewinds Country Manor
Address: 328 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special and unique experience awaits you at Lakewinds, a recently restored Victorian manor, offering the best of bed and breakfast experiences. Situated on a quiet acre of extensive flower gardens and mature trees, Lakewinds offers you unparalleled views of the golf course beside the lake. A short walk away is the centre of the old town where you will find the theatres, shops and restaurants. Acclaimed by media and repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lakewinds Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing