We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine a better B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakewinds Country Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My wife and I just returned yesterday from a fantastic 2 night stay at Lakewinds. This spectactular old house needs to be seen in person to be fully appreciated. The house has been extremely well-maintained and has all the modern conveniences and comforts, yet still retains the original magnificence of its 19th-century construction. The property includes spectacular gardens and outddor spaces, including a pool, and also a covered porch, which we really enjoyed. The inside common areas are also very nice, if slightly "old-fashioned". Really liked having access to complimentary pop and water, as well as bicycles, wireless internet and daily papers. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful, but not too chatty or overbearing, as some B&B hosts can be. We stayed in the Sans Souci suite, which is French country inspired ( I think) and on the top floor. It's exquisite, with a fantastic bed, hardwood floors, antique furnishings, bathroom and sitting area. We're REALLY fussy guests, and I'd be surprised if this room would disappoint anybody. Peeked into some of the other rooms, and all were definitely very nice. Not necessarily decorated to my tastes, but would have been OK to stay in any of them. The breakfasts prepared by Jane were really excellent, but over the top huge! Not that I'm complaining. The location of Lakewinds is ideal. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the main NOTL "strip", but far enough away to be very quiet. It's also close to the golf course and very nice residential side streets for a run or bicycle ride. I can't think of anything that was lacking at this B&B, and we hope to come back again! Thanks Jane & Steve.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scruff2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2010

This was the first time we had been to Canada and chose Lakewinds for our first stop. We arrived late at night from the UK and were met by Jane who was friendly and understood we needed to go straight to bed! Our five nights here were met with excellent hospitality, filling and wonderful breakfasts, a clean and comfortable room, relaxing by the swimming pool and plenty of guidance on what to do around the area from Steve. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hairbear694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Absolutely positively the best B&B in NOTL. We enjoyed everything especially the hospitality. They made our visit to NOTL very special.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannabetanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

If you are wondering whether this B&B is for you, here are some quick pointers to help you make up your mind.
- Let me start from the outdoor pool: surrounded by a lush Roman garden and fresh lavender bushes. Plenthy of space to lounge and enjoy the sun in privacy. If it wasn't for the thunder storm we would have happily spent one entire day out there.

We stayed at the Algonquin room. Roomy, comfortable, and charming. We enjoyed the fact that there was no TV in our room. The room's antique decore takes you right back to 1800s.

The Manor is a beautiful victorian circa 1800s very well restored and maintained. Surrounded by well manicured gardens and plenty of green space.

The fact that the golf course is immediately across the street adds to the pleasant openness and the beautiful view when one sits out to enjoy the veranda. The golf course is right there if you plan to play. If you are not, the golf course will not, in any way, be bothersome (noise, traffic, etc).

The wonderful breakfast prepared, presented and served tastefully by the wonderful hosts, Jane and Steve, at the company of other guests is quite a treat. We were lucky to be there at the same time with some wondeful people.

The walk to the Royal George theater and the Queen street shops is very pleasant. You will simply walk about 10 minutes under the shadow of old trees and pass by many beautiful houses and gardens.

The free wifi was a pleasant surprise.

We felt warmly welcomed. It felt like we stayed at friends'.

Thanks Jane and Steve. We enjoyed our trip very much and you will be first on our mind if we plan to stay in the region again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AryanaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

To celebrate her 74th birthday, my mom and I treated ourselves to a return visit to this luxurious 1881 B+B. There are a variety of rooms to choose from. Last visit we stayed in HEAVEN, a delightful and comfortable room at the top of the manor, over looking the golf course and the Niagra River. However due to arthritis diffuculties, the 3 stories of stairs proved to be too challenging, so we picked the VENETIAN room this time, with only 8 steps to deal with. Each room has a special theme and the Venetian room was so deliciously Italian, it would not have fazed us to look out of the many windows in the room and see the Grand canal of Venice!! Steve and Jane, our hosted are very attentive, and detail oriented. Our breakfasts were homemade, fresh and very healthy! Lots of fresh friuts, muffins, quick breads, yogurts, cereals, plus a main entre like eggs benidict, or blue berry infused french toast (the BEST I have ever tasted, it was divine!!). There is a happy hour in the late afternoons and home made truffles to satisfy any sweet toothes in the evenings. The property is set on an acre and a half of well groomed perinneal gardens, mature trees, a heated pool (yes, it is REALLY heated!) and well maintained
bikes. The village of Niagra on the Lake is about 10 minutes walking, along a peaceful tree lined street. I am hopeful my mom and I will be able to indulge in future visits at this stunning, welcoming and comfortable manor.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swanganz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I am a NOTL regular and visit Shaw Festival every year. NOTL is a lovely town for a long weekend because of the many restaurants, the plays, and the lake views.

My room at Lakewinds (Florentine) had lovely views of the lake across the golf course and there is a small parkette just steps away where you can sit and watch the lake. If you need to sleep in a very dark room, the Florentine may not be for you, since it's cream curtains let in some light in the morning, and the sink is in the room, not in the bathroom, which may bother those whose partners wake up multiple times at night; however, it is still a very comfortable room.

The inn itself has a beautiful garden and pool. It has lush, English-style flowers and plants (and herbs that they use in the food!), and swimming in the pool surrounded by these flowers is truly getting away from it all. It is a great place to relax and the inn as a whole is spacious and quiet...I didn't hear a thing during the night and was shocked to realize at breakfast that the inn was full! I though we had it to ourselves! The breakfasts are wonderful: there is a variety of lovely, fresh, delicious food. The baked goods are warm and delicious, the fruit salads are fresh and juicy, and the hot breakfasts are just great.

All in all, my stay was wonderful. The inn is walking distance to many restaurants and the theatres, and I would certainly consider coming back (my friend is recommending it to her family already).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyageur100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Excellent service, hosts were very friendly. The room we stayed in was quite romantic with lots of character. The Hotel truly felt like we were staying in a historic manor. The food was fabulous with an abundance of fresh fruit and a delicious home cooked breakfast. Convenient location within a 5 min walk to center of town. We would highly recommend this as a great place to stay and we intend to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrothgerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#1 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#2 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#11 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#8 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewinds Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewinds Country Manor

Address: 328 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £156 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special and unique experience awaits you at Lakewinds, a recently restored Victorian manor, offering the best of bed and breakfast experiences. Situated on a quiet acre of extensive flower gardens and mature trees, Lakewinds offers you unparalleled views of the golf course beside the lake. A short walk away is the centre of the old town where you will find the theatres, shops and restaurants. Acclaimed by media and repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lakewinds Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing