We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B and Amazing Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My fiance and I went on a short little vacation before our wedding to escape the wedding planning frenzy. We received a gift card to the Davy House from her bridesmaids as it was rated the number 1 B&B in NOTL. The Davy house, Flo, and Jeff lived up to their reputation and more. They were amazing hosts, accommodating, and knowledgeable about the area. The pictures on the website do not do it justice, our room was impeccably clean, and delightfully cozy. The grounds were maintained beautifully and the hot tub was great for relaxation. Location-wise, the Davy house is super convenient. Breakfast was delicious, I wish I would have taken pictures, it was better than any hotel breakfasts we have had in the past. I highly recommend the Historic Davy House to anyone looking for a great place to stay in NOTL.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Davy House – a few words that come to mind – divine, exquisite, perfection, quaint, welcoming. But, these words really don’t do justice to the experience we had at Davy House. Upon arrival, we were struck by the sheer quaintness of the exterior and grounds of the home. However, once we were welcomed into the B and B by Flo (who is an absolute delight), it was easy to see that the same quaintness was also throughout this lovely home. It is so beautifully decorated – easy to see that everything has been thoughtfully and lovingly selected for each room’s décor. The backyard is also quite the beauty. Although we didn’t have time to use the hot tub, we did find time to enjoy the peaceful gardens and very large putting green. The breakfast meal was delicious and decadent, as well as beautifully presented on the plate. This was fine dining at its best. Flo and Jeff do such a wonderful job of making their home your home while you are there. Their warm and friendly personalities made us feel instantly welcome. This home is so centrally located that we didn’t need to use our car at all. We were able to walk to the Niagara on the Lake Golf Club, Fort George, and of course, to all the shops and restaurants in town. The room we stayed in felt so luxurious and was very private. We will definitely be telling everyone we know about this little gem of a B and B. Can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: We loved our room #1841 -- beautiful king sized sleigh bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Call us “Repeaters.” In July, 2014, we returned to Davy House for what we believe is the tenth time. We stayed for five nights. This visit we occupied the very comfortable lower floor suite, composed of a room with a couch and chair and a very commodious bedroom. The two were joined by an area which contained a built-in gas fireplace, which is perfect for winter stays.

As with every previous visit, we were treated to truly artistic breakfasts – a balance of juice, fresh fruit, an elegant egg dish or gourmet pancakes, bacon strips and potatoes. We learned from one couple that Jeff and Flo made a strong positive impression by creating vegan breakfasts for them. We were told by two other couples that they had stayed at other B and B’s in Niagara on the Lake (NOTL) but never were as completely satisfied as they were at Davy House. Among the guests we met and enjoyed was a couple from Germany. They told us that they were directed to Davy House by a European travel agency that had visited several B and B’s in Niagara on the Lake and selected Davy House as their first choice. They also told us that their stay confirmed the recommendation.

In addition to coming to NOTL in the summer to attend plays at the Shaw Festival, we also attend “Progressive Dinners” which are held on three weekends, one in January, one in March and one in April. We know, from personal experience what a delight it is to return to the town and to Davy House for winter weekends. Davy House owners Jeff and Flo are as welcoming in winter as they are in summer. So are the accommodations.

Anyone looking for a relaxing winter getaway will find Davy House a very special place. If you are thinking about a very special Christmas gift for friends and family members, a gift certificate for a stay at Davy House is something worth considering seriously. Anyone who receives such a gift will never forget your thoughtfulness.

Miriam and Marty Plax
South Euclid, Ohio

Room Tip: We have stayed in every room at Davy House and found each of them comfortable and charming. Two of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank plaxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our time at this historic B&B from July 24-27 was unforgettable -- so much so that we booked again for next year. Outstanding hospitality, well appointed rooms, marvellous home cooked breakfasts, eye catching grounds, proximity to the Shaw theatres -- all combined to make these three days one of our best B&B experiences ever. The hosts, Flo and Jeff, don't miss a trick. if you're like us, you'll wonder why you didn't discover Davy House before!

Room Tip: Better views from second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Davy House came highly recommended to us. After staying there for 2 nights we can see why. The location is perfect! You are a stones throw away from all the activity yet you wouldn't know it from the quiet, peaceful atmosphere of the Inn itself! Our room (including private bath) was meticulously clean and very comfortable. I can't say enough about the gourmet food offered each morning. The owners were extremely welcoming and yet unobtrusive. We are already checking our calendar to plan our next visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martintmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently spent a weekend at The Historic Dave House B&B Inn. It is an amazing place run by amazing hosts, Flo and Jeff. They have thought of everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Well appointed and comfortable rooms. Delicious, gourmet breakfasts. A covered hot tub. Beautiful blue koi pond. Robes, slippers, fridge with ice, wine glasses - the list goes on and on. I have already recommended to family and friends. When in NOTL, this is THE place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Davy House. Everything was superb - the location, the breakfasts, our room, the lovely backyard and especially our hosts, Flo and Jeff. I would highly recommend staying here if you are planning a visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake. We will definitely be making a return visit!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#9 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Davy House B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Davy House B&B Inn

Address: 230 Davy Street | Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £117 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Davy House B&B Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive, Romantic, Intimate and Cozy all describe our Heritage Home. A tasteful blend of Canadiana Pine mixed with Charming Decor and lots of Character. Meticulously Maintained and located right in the Heritage District of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Historic Davy House B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing