We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place run by awesome people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at Irene and Ed's beautiful bed and breakfast Sept.8. The place is wonderful and the setting is so peaceful. It is within walking distance of the main street so one does not have to drive. The rooms are emaculate with even the smallest detaied attended to. The menu for breakfast would rival any retaurant and the choices are many. Omlettes, fresh friut and breads, baking, meats, etc. We will definetly be returning as we could not imagine staying anywhere else in the Niagara area. Close to many vineyards and coupons for tastings.What else could you want!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful so any one you have will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manitobabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review J & J, it's really appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we did. We hope to see you again next time you are in from MB. Regards, Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Abacot and the best part of our trip was meeting Ed and Irene, the owners.
Sometimes what makes a trip special are the people you meet on the way. Well, Ed and Irene are
two of the nicest people you would ever want to meet. The accommodations, breakfast, and other guests we met were exceptional.
Thanks again Irene and Ed, you made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ec35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Hey M & J - Think it was a memorable weekend for all of us especially with you being here. Thanks for the great review it helps us greatly. Look forward to seeing you again soon probably in Buffalo. Cheers, Ed& Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Ed and Irene are the perfect hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and it was a lovely way to spend our last two nights in Canada. We loved Ed's creative breakfast, a great way to put a smile on your face for the day. John and Fay Boag

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

G'day mates - you made it back home to the ranch - We had some good laughs didn't we. We enjoyed the time spent with you both. Thanks for giving us a great review it is really apreciated. Hope to see you in Australia soon. Keep the bikes warmed up for Ed. Best wishes, Ed& Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We celebrated our 24th anniversary in NOL and stayed at the Abacot for two nights. The hosts Ed and Irene were exceptionally friendly and helpful during our entire visit. We purchased a package that included several winery tours/tasting and a gourmet meal at the Strewn Winery ( incredible meal). Ed took care of all of the details of our tour and we were picked up and dropped off at the front door of their home. On our first evening, we were invited to join them on their back balcony for a glass of local wine. The landscape was beautiful with plenty of flowers and plants. The breakfast menu was very creative and the food arrived hot, delicious and very quickly. The rooms were elegant, clean, quiet and very tastefully decorated. The atmosphere at this B&B was always warm and friendly and we had many laughs with the hosts and other guests staying there. I highly recommend this top quality B&B for anyone wishing to treat themselves while staying in NOL. We'll definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thanks very much for your super review Anna & Alan. We are so glad thank everything was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your special occasion. It was our pleasure to be able to sit on the terrace and sip some wine and chat with you. It gave us the opportunity to get to know you better. It was also great that all of the guests were so nice and got on so well - that makes life so much easier. We look forward to seeing you again next year...for the big 25th!!! regards, Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We visited the Abacot Inn for our honeymoon and arrived very late at night. Ed and Irene had kindly arranged with the other guests that breakfast be delayed until 10 am so that my wife and I could wake up well rested. It was a most appreciated accommodation!

We also appreciated the tranquility of the Inn. It is on the edge of town (but by no means far away; within biking and walking distance) and that meant that we could enjoy the peaceful back deck for a few hours and avoid the hustle and bustle of NOTL during a long weekend !

Finally, we are both avid cyclists and Ed and Irene had reserved two bicycles for us that we could use to wine taste and explore the environs. They were most useful and certainly the best way to get around the area. Wonderful bike paths line the Niagara river.

Of course our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious but the great virtue of the Inn is Ed and Irene. They are such gracious and welcoming hosts.

We hope to see them again !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Now remember what Ed told you at breakfast Michael - you're right - I'm wrong etc (Marriage 101) - Seriously, we were honoured that you and Yvonne chose Abacot Hall for your honeymoon and are extremely pleased that you felt at home here. Everyone has said what a great time they had that weekend. We look forward to stopping in to say hi. Our best wishes for your future together, cheers. Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Found Abacot Hall online and it was great. Ed and Irene are very nice and helpful, Ed even tried to update our GPS. Breakfast is great and Eggs Abacot is the best. Everyone should stay here and we hope to go back soon.
Kathleen G.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgatrell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

So you managed to find you way home..haha Thanks for your review Kathleen & David it's greatly appreciated - we did have a good time didn't we. Hope to see you again soon. Be well, regards, Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This (I think) is our 11th year at Abacot Hall. The standards set by Mike and Pauline have been well matched by Ed and Irene. Every request catered for. Accommodation beautiful and breakfast conversation stimulating. We'll be back for #12 next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thanks so much C for doing a review, it is greatly appreciated. We are very proud that you consider us on par with Mike & Pauline as they were extremely successful with the B&B and also good teachers as they taught us well.. We look forward to seeing you and MB again next year. Regards, Ed & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,382 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Address: 508 Mississauga Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £127 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Georgian style Bed and Breakfast on large private property in the Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, theatres. One block to bike trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacot Hall Bed And Breakfast
Abacot Hall Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing