We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Abacot Hall. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and provide ample space. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony or in the living room with our friends for planning our day's events. Ed and Irene provided a delicious, made-to-order breakfast. Our hosts also shared valuable information on the many area attractions. Their discount cards to local restaurants and wineries added to the value of the B&B. They made us feel right at home!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review Linda. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed meeting you all. It certainly was a fun time. We hope we shall be seeing you again soon. Regards Ed& Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
254
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent a wonderful 3 nights in this lovely B & B located just a few blocks from the beautiful historic tourist area. The home was spotlessly clean, very nicely decorated, with wonderful furniture and artwork. Ed was an excellent chef while Irene served us so elegantly as well as chatting about the area and their B& B experience. They both provided us with excellent suggestions for touring and driving directions. No matter what information we requested, they gladly provided us with the help we needed. We will most definitely stay with Ed & Irene again when visiting NOTL. Jan & Walt

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Jan & Walt. Thanks for the great review and your kind words it is really appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Niagara on the Lake and your stay with us. We certainly hope you will stop in on your next trip up north if you have time. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we will look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Abacot Hall for two nights and opted for the bike wine tour. Couldn't have asked for better accommodations, hosts and breakfast!

The location is good, not hard to get to from out of town and it didn't it take us long to walk downtown. The house and grounds are well kept and the room was very clean. The common back deck is a nice touch too, although we didn't have much time to enjoy it.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Their knowledge of the area and unbiased dining advice was a big help to us.

The food and service at breakfast was amazing, far exceeding our expectations. It's clear they put a lot of care and effort into it.

We will stay here on our next trip and definitely recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Queen Victoria Room was very quiet and had a nice view of the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a nice review and thank you for staying with us Steve & Annie. You really packed a lot in to your 2 nights with us. Perhaps you will have time to enjoy the terrace with a glass of the local brew next time you visit. It was a pleasure meeing you both.
Regards Ed & irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our stay at Abacot Hall B&B was perfect! The house is lovely; the rooms are cozy and immaculate; it's an easy walk into town; the breakfast was delicious. Most importantly, Ed and Irene made us feel right at home! They are gracious hosts. It felt more like visiting friends than being at a B&B. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickyTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
We are so glad that you felt so comfortable during your first visit with us and thank you for writing such a nice review. We try to make our place feel like a home away from home if our guests will let us. We look forward to your return visit, let's hope it will be soon.

Regards, Ed & Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Not at all surprising - Ed & Irene were wonderful and amazing hosts for our stay. They truly go above and beyond with the 'extras' and you can tell that they do enjoy having guests. I will never stay at any other BnB in the area. The rooms are clean & quaint, the house is very well kept, and the back deck is amazing! Take a bottle of wine and sit out on the back deck - it's a beautiful view of their large backyard, and so peaceful and quiet. Ed booked a wine tour for us last minute, even though there was a waiting list for tour he managed to get us a spot. You will never find more genuine, fun, and helpful hosts!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - depends on bed size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuchiSLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to see you again Ruchi. We are so glad you and Trish enjoyed your stay and the wine tour. We always try to accommodate our guest whenever possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards, Ed & Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed with Ed and Irene for two nights. Had we been able to arrange a longer stay we would have. Their home is within easy walking distance of the town core and the walk is lovely. The room we stayed in was beautiful. All of the small things that make the difference were present. Adjacent to our room was a well stocked snack area(coffee, tea, soda,
filtered water). And a lovely patio overlooking a beautifully groomed back yard/garden to sit and enjoy the morning or evening. We enjoyed a movie from a broad selection provided. The breakfast was superb. Lots of choices, all fresh. Homemade bread. Options for every dietary need. By far though, the thing that sets this place so far above others is the hosts have fun and enjoy themselves and enjoy interacting with their guests. Each morning Irene stayed in the breakfast room asking guests about their plans for the day..offering help/directions/suggestions. She asked about our adventures of the prior day. Offered coupons for wine and chocolate tastings. She got the guests interacting. Once the food was out and the
kitchen work finished Ed came out with a cup of
coffee and joined in. We always intended to get an early start each day on our touring but we had so much fun at breakfast we always lingered. That's what it is all about. We like B&Bs because we meet so many interesting people...guests
and hosts.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneWTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Wow! what a great review, thanks so much Anne & Terry. We certainly had a lively group when you guys were here. It really went a long way to remind us why we do this. Meeting great people and being to spend time getting to know them a little bit means everything to us. Even though you are far away we hope that we will meet again either here or there.
Regards, Ed & Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Ed and Irene make all their guests feel like old friends by sharing small snippets of personal information before breakfast each morning which breaks the ice for most guests. They made our special weekend quite memorable by arranging for our winery tour and lunch package. The Queen Elizabeth room was a hit and to pay tribute we watched "The Queen" a complimentary movie provided by or gracious hosts.
We would return in a heartbeat to stay at Abacot Hall again . The highlight was the fabulous breakfast cooked up by Ed who is not only a fabulous cook but an artist with his presentations. Irene keeps the conversation going and after Ed finishes cooking he joins us all in the dining room where we spend precious time in light conversation. AWESOME!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbacotHall BnB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
It was our pleasure to host all 4 of you. Thank you so much Karen for choosing us and for the lovely review. It is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to arrange the wine tour and the theatre tickets and to be able to spend some time with you on the back terrace. Let's face it, Ohio is not too far away, so we hope we will see you again In the not too distant future, next time you head this way.
Regards Ed & Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.7 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#6 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Property: Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Address: 508 Mississauga Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Georgian style Bed and Breakfast on large private property in the Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, theatres. One block to bike trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacot Hall Bed And Breakfast
Abacot Hall Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing