We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B with Wonderful Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Gables Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Beautiful B&B with Wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at this B&B because I didn't want to stay at the hotels closer around Niagara. I was not disappointed. Kathy and Don were so hospitable and informative. They made great recommendations on where to eat, where to drink, and what to see. My girlfriend and I arrived late at night (11 PM EST) but they accommodated our late arrival anyways. We spent four nights there and awoke to an amazing breakfast every day. The room itself was spacious and decorated with class. Our king-sized canopy bed was very comfortable. We went in May and the weather was great for sitting in their gazebo in their large backyard.

The B&B sits right near the Niagara Parkway, giving easy access if you wanted to go to the falls and back. Kathy and Don also had plenty of free wine tasting tickets to the numerous wineries at Niagara-On-The-Lake. The B&B also had cable and wifi should you need it. Good for Americans who don't want serious roaming charges. It was well worth the price and I would recommend it for anyone who wanted a quiet and high quality get away!

Room Tip: The Magnolia Room was the best! Large room, large bathroom, sunny, and overlooked the beautiful gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
189
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We chose this B&B in the Niagara-on-the-lake area based the the positive reviews and were not disappointed. We booked the largest Magnolia room and upon arriving we immediately received a warm welcome from Kathy who showed us to our cozy and well-furnished room. The property is extremely well-maintained with a lovely backyard garden, reading room, and various sitting spaces. We found the location to be extremely convenient - about 10 mins walk to the main street with many shops / restaurants and just a block to the Lake Erie part of the waterfront trail, which allows you to bike along the Niagara river past cliff views and wineries.

Don and Kathy were very helpful with local recommendations for dining / attractions, and treated us to a memorable breakfast made lovingly from scratch. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Victoria Gables to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCCYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Loved this place, the only unfortunate part was that we were unable to stay longer. We spent one night in the Rose Room. Kathy and Don were very helpful and welcoming. This B&B is very clean, spacious and the food was amazing…it smelt like chocolate chip cookies when we arrived!
We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Wonderful breakfasts, spotless rooms cleaned daily, and all the little extras. Kathy and Don are great people who cater to one's every needs. We spent four nights at their bed and breakfast, and could not have ask for a better experience. Love their huge back yard with the gazebo.

Room Tip: Love Jacuzzi tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This perfectly situated B&B is exceptionally run by hosts Kathy and Don... and Hudson... their friendly, fun dog! Kathy and Don are very warm and accommodating, and can assist you with information for anything you want to do in the Niagara region.

Every aspect of Victoria Gables is well maintained, clean and welcoming the second you park your car in one of their private parking spaces.

The instant you step inside Victoria Gables, you feel warm, cozy and are invited to "come on in, relax and let your worries melt away". But don't relax too much, they are located a short walk away from Queen St. (the main street) where various restaurants, wine tastings, ice cream and unique shops await you.

And perhaps before you leave for the evening, take a stroll through their beautiful backyard with lush greenery, flowers and a gazebo.

When you are ready to retire for the night the clean, comfortable beds will hug you to sleep and refresh your mind and body to get you ready for a brand new morning! And speaking of the next morning, Kathy and Don prepare the most delicious and hearty breakfasts made from local ingredients with homemade jams to spread on freshly baked bread. They'll get you properly energized and send you on your way to enjoy the fruits that the Niagara region has to offer.

We've been to Victoria Gables twice within a year already, and it will be the only place we stay when we visit Niagara On The Lake. I highly, highly recommend that you stay at Victoria Gables for your next getaway as well!

Room Tip: The Magnolia room is the preferred choice for couples. It is spacious, warm, with a large en suite e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in the beautiful Magnolia Room. The room was huge and so clean, the jacuzzi was a real treat too! Kathy and Don are the best hosts, and their dog Hudson is an absolute doll. The three course breakfast every morning really set this place apart. Kathy is an amazing cook, she uses as much local and home-grown ingredients as possible, and everything she made was delicious. Sticky buns, rhubarb coffee cakes, cherry vanilla muffins, crepes, frittata, salads, sausages..the list goes on. All of that plus her homemade cookies are always available outside of the bedrooms! They were so helpful and offered so many great recommendations for wineries and shops to visit. They even dropped us off at a concert so we wouldn't have to walk both ways. We had the best weekend, and can't wait to go back!! Thanks Victoria Gables :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Kathy and Don are wonderful hosts and really go above and beyond to ensure great experiences for guests! My friend and I had asked in advance to check in late as we wanted to have dinner at a restaurant further away from NOTL; this was accommodated without a problem. When we realized that we had left a suitcase at the restaurant, they immediately volunteered to drive us back to pick it up - an incredibly gracious gesture that really touched the two of us, as it would have been another 15+ minutes taxi ride to go back. The bedroom was beautifully appointed and so clean - in fact, my friend commented that it was the most comfortable bed she had ever slept in. On to breakfast...truly a gourmet breakfast! The owners are wonderful cooks, I would pay to eat their meals at a restaurant any day. In all, our stay was wonderful and we wish we could have stayed longer, everything about the house was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Gables Bed & Breakfast

Property: Victoria Gables Bed & Breakfast
Address: 427 Victoria Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L5G 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by dozens of exquisite wineries, the Shaw Theatres, historic golf courses and countless appetizing restaurants, we are pleased to invite you to our newly-refreshed Bed & Breakfast in this lovely area of Southern Ontario. Victoria Gables, built to host and welcome guests from around the world, is a custom home with large rooms, en-suite bathrooms and spacious hallways. Our main level features a welcoming sitting area, along with our breakfast dining area complete with coffees, teas and an array of biscuits and treats available at any time of the day. The front veranda invites you to sit and relax, read a book or daydream the day away. The 1/2 acre property offers plenty of space to wander in our gardens with surprise corners to explore, including the charming gazebo and tiered waterfall. We are a leisurely 10-minute stroll to the lovely Old Village of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Niagara Falls and its many attractions are just a short drive away, along with wineries, the Butterfly Conservatory and many more alluring historical sites. Guests can rent bicycles for the day to enjoy a short cycle towards the oldest golf course in North America, the Niagara Region bike trail, or countless other attractions in short proximity. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing