We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bernard Gray Hall Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 28 May 2013

What an amazing property! We scheduled very last minute and our hosts were amazingly accommodating. Location is perfect and close to everything. Our room was very large and we loved the adjoining sitting room. Breakfast was awesome and we had great conversations with the hosts as well as the other guests. We will definitely return. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shaw Room. Very spacious and the separate sitting room was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Just got back from our 2nd stay at Bernard Gray Hall. Gloria & Henry are wonderful hosts. Beautiful, comfortable, large rooms. Wonderful breakfast (Henry's poached eggs are stunning). Very close to Queen Street so you can easily walk anywhere you choose. Would recommend without hesitation and will be back ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveysew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here for one night and found it to be perfect location for walking the town and seeing a play. The hosts are helpful in a low key way. Breakfast was tasty. The bed was very comfotable. All in all for an older house it was pretty comfortable. And we enjoyed seeing the cats who went in and out at will. It was defintely worth the stay. The town is very charming and walkable.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank gratzparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We've been attending the Shaw Festival in Niagara-on-the-Lake in Ontario, Canada for a number of years, the last several of which we've stayed with Gloria & Henry at their Bernard Gray Hall B & B. "Our" room is very comfortable, wifi works great and Henry's breakfasts are good and certainly plentiful. With the Festival theatres all within 5 or six walking minutes, it could not be more convenient. We will no doubt continue to stay there during our yearly visits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The old house that was once a doctor's office and residence is very warm and comfortable. Our hosts, Gloria and Henry Szylak were very accommodating and friendly. The house sits just 2 blocks from the main intersection in NIagara-on-the-lake. Close to everything. The Shaw Festival theatre is just a short distance away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shaw room that overlooks 3 sides of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at Bernard Gray Hall for only one night but we'll be back.

Gloria and Henry Szylak are wonderful, knowledgeable, helpful hosts and their home is very comfortable, clean and quiet. Our room had some very nice antiques plus we had the use of the lounge (with a very good book selection), front portico (equipped with a small bar fridge!), yard and pool. Free wi-fi is also available.

The breakfast was very, very good. We had fresh baked blueberry muffins, fruit salad, orange juice, coffee, bacon and eggs (any way you want), breads and a variety of wonderful jams.

Bernard Gray Hall is very close to everything in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

In a Canadian town(NOTL) on the Niagara River there is great theatre at the Shaw Festival. And an abundance of hotels and B&Bs.During our many visits there, we stayed at various ones. We found a keeper on a previous trip and that choice was reinforced this time. Henry and Gloria have been hosting for 22 years and are not bored or boring. They attract a repeat business and that tells it all. Relaxing public spaces- indoors and out, plentiful breakfasts, Wi-Fi, and even a pool and air-conditioning. Location is ideal. Comfortable beds and baths. If they have room, book it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenReber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Bank House
The Old Bank House
#100 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#9 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#88 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#12 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellington House B&B
Wellington House B&B
#79 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernard Gray Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernard Gray Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 143 King Street | P.O. Box 1718, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £103 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1988, at the corner of King Street and Prideaux Street , we are hosting a successful 3 bedroom Bed and Breakfast named Bernard Gray Hall Bed and Breakfast. Please come and join us and the history of the corner of King Street and Prideaux Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bernard Gray Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing