We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at this Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights back in June 2011. I had 'liked' them on Facebook prior to my visit to keep up to date with any news and events so they also included me in a 25% discount promotion they were running for my stay! The room was a good size for a family of 2 adults and 2 children, it was clean and tidy, I has requested a cot and a fridge prior to our stay and this was all arranged with no problems at all. The staff were all lovely and helpful and what can I say about those breakfast pancakes??? Well, we went back for seconds both mornings!! I just love Niagara-on-the-Lake and would tell anyone visiting Toronto to take the time to go visit and I would recommend the Colonel Butler as a place to stay.

Room Tip: There's no lift, so if you have small children with a buggy, best ask for a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

We wanted to get away for couple of nights in wine country and while searching on line I saw the Colonel Butler and was immediately attracted to the "look" of the place. After arriving we weren't disappointed. We wanted to do some hiking and visit some wineries and found that we were very close to both. The friendly staff was more than helpful in providing us with maps, directions, and suggestions. The clean comfortable room was very affordable and our stay was very pleasant. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeelyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed at the Inn for one night recently. The cost of the room was excellent compared to other hotels in NOL. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the front desk staff were nice. Only drawback was the 'enhanced' continental breakfast. Not sure what part was enhanced. There were hard boiled eggs and a waffle maker in addition to toast, muffins, juice , coffee, tea, cereal, yoghurt etc. But then again it was included in the price of the room which was about $100 for a Saturday night so really, what's there to complain about. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn_Nadeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just returned from a weekend in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. We have stayed in the area many times and thought this time we would try staying at a hotel instead of a B&B. The staff at the Colonel Butler Inn were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. There is a continental breakfast included, which was very good. You could make your own waffles, which were delicious! A newspaper was delivered to our door. There was a coffee maker in the room but no refridgerator, which would have been nice. I believe they will store perishable items for you but it would be nicer to be able to keep in your room. They are located on the main road into town, probably a 15 minute walk to the main shopping area and a short drive to many great wineries. As an alternative to a B&B, we felt this was a good place to stay and very affordable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JazzLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have travelled the globe, but, this stay was as good as it gets. Excellent service, especially from the Front desk. Nothing was a problem and they made dinner reservations etc. prior to our arrival.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be fine.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cestnous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear cestnous,

Thanks you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I passed on your kind comments to the staff as we pride ourselves on the service we give to guests. We're so glad that you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed here because it was the cheapest hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake that had a vacancy - and despite it being the cheapest, I paid more for this hotel room than I have for any other hotel in my life. Aside from the high price - which appears to be a low price for this city - there was nothing to complain about. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the buffet breakfast adequate. The location is quite a few blocks from the main tourist area but I was able to walk it. Given how expensive hotels are in this city, I can't imagine staying at a nicer hotel due to the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear about your complaint regarding our price. We are competitively priced and we do post periodic promotions on Facebook and Twitter so following us on either of those sites is a great way to stay informed and receive special deals.

Sincerely,

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here the first weekend of October and were more than satisfied with this place. This is not one of NOTL's fancy properties and it doesn't pretend to be. It is a clean, comfortable hotel with a great breakfast - included in the room rate - in a great location. The two outstanding features are the incredibly comfortable beds and the extremely polite, helpful and welcoming staff. They make you feel that they are so glad to see you arrive and so sorry to see you go. Some of the carpeting may be abit stained - as another guest lamented - but clean and cozy rooms with comfy beds are more important us so we were very happy here. The breakfast was ample with lots of variety and great coffee and the hotel is next door to one of the best restaurants we've ever been to - The Stone Road Grill. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We did not see an elevator so if you can't do stairs stay on the first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gowens56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments, I have passed them onto the staff here. We do enjoy helping guests to ensure they have a memorable visit. Please know that a carpet cleaning company will be coming to the hotel to take care of any issues. We're glad you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £76 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing