We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely terrific experience at the Colonel Butler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Friendly, accessible, and helpful staff. Very clean rooms and fitness equipment. Extensive, delicious breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank geodebCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2007

My boyfriend is a farmer and this was our first weekend away and his first weekend off in over 6 months. We wanted to get away relax and but still have a good time.

After checking out many properties in the Niagra On The Lake area we decided to choose the Colonel Butler because of the price, wow were we happy we did.

LOCATION: The hotel is just off the main strip, about a 3 min drive I would say a 15min walk. We were here in the off season and it was a cold weekend so we choose to drive but it would be a nice walk in the warmer months. There is a Tim Hortons, a family style restaurant, a Sunoco and a Sports Bar all within feet of the hotel.

CHECKING IN: We had no problem checking in and actually arrived early but thought we'd stop in to see if our room might be ready a little early, they were more then happy to accomidate us and had us up in our room in no time.

THE ROOM: we stayed in a king suite and it was phenominal. The room is HUGE there was a very comfortable King Bed and then almost the size of another full room that has a fireplace, a sitting area and the tv. The bathroom is a little on the small side but who hangs out in their bathroom. They also had a small vanity outside the bathroom which was perfect.

THE SERVICE: everyone at this hotel is so friendly, they went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and when we inquired about restaurants not only did they have lots of personal knowledge on all of them but also had the menues of almost all the restaurants. They offered to make us reservations and when we arrived back at the hotel made it a point to ask how our dinner was. Very, very friendly!

I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in the area the prices are great but importantly the staff are phenominal.

Thanks for making our weekend away a great one!

* If you are doing a wine tour while here I would highly recommend going to Hillebrand and doing the Art of Red Wine Session. For $25 you get a little mini tour, a wine tasting and get to make your own blend of red wine to take home. It is so much fun (and I'm not even a fan of red wine) and definatly something you MUST do!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelin_The_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Had not planned on staying at this hotel but we were having such a great time in Niagara on the Lake that we decided to add on another night and we were able to get a room here. This is a great hotel to stay in if you are looking for a clean, nicely decorated hotel with really nice people working there. The Manager and the front desk staff and the housekeepers were all so friendly and really wanted to help us to see and do everything that we wanted. When we asked about wineries, they had a map to help us. When we asked about the theatre, they offered to call and see about availability. They made great recommendations for dinner and we had a wonderful meal at the Charles Inn. We usually stay in small boutique hotels but this hotel was great and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank madrid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

I used TripAdvisor to book 5 hotels for an 11 day trip of Canada, starting in Niagara on the Lake and ending in Sutton, Quebec. Car or bike is suggested if you stay at the BW Colonel Butler Inn but it is conveniently located for meals, winery visits and away from the traffic associated with Niagara on the Lake in the summer. It is a small establishment, but very clean, with excellent breakfast included in price. Personnel friendly and helpful when questioned. I felt this was an excellent choice for cost and value.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junieSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

we had a pleasant stay here. we came to niagara for a wine tasting weekend. it is in a nice building and the rooms are a good size, clean and nicely decorated. it is in a good location with a tim horton's across the street and a couple of local restaurants i hear are good, the red rooster and the rest.

the hotel is quite close to the main area. we drove and we surprised how close the hotel was to everything. compared to other hotels in the area the price is great. we would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unplainjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Providence, Rhode Island
110
Reviewed 8 July 2006

We just stayed at the Best Western in Niagara-on-the-Lake and we loved it! We were there last Wednesday - we got the last room in the hotel and it was great! The room had a queen size bed and a fireplace - for the rate we paid it was a great deal (esp. in this town) only $193.50 with a AAA discount. We loved the breakfast - the waffles are wonderful. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. If you are going to Niagara-on-the-Lake, you must stay at the Best Western.

Stayed: July 2006
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Best Western for one night on Canada Day/July 4th long weekend. I had not stayed at a Best Western before and was somewhat nervous about what to expect (I’m used to staying at 4* hotels) but I was pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere of this hotel feels more like an Inn than a traditional hotel. The check inn clerk was very friendly and all the paperwork was ready for me. As others have noted, this hotel is not on the ‘main drag’ of NOTL, but is only a 1-2 minute drive from it, which was convenient. We had a room with 2 double beds, which was very clean. I inspected the bathroom and found no hairs. Flat screen TV was nice, too. The hotel includes breakfast which was better than most ‘continental’ breakfasts I have had. They have a waffle iron where you can make your own waffles, as well as the usual cereal, bagels, danishes, and toast. The only thing I was disappointed about was the bike rentals. They have bikes on site which they rent out but I found the rates to be exorbitant – I think it was $12 an hour, which obviously gets pretty expensive for 2 people. All in all, though, a pleasant experience from a picky traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zzzoe_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
957 reviews
1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,791 reviews
6.4 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £69 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing