We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is a jewel in the Best Western Crown!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Often pass "Colonel Butler" on way to Niagara in the past Booked a weekend & much impressed!
Excellent Pricing, great Room & Super Bed, the +FREE Breakfast was excellent!Staff :"Peggy" is tops! - she warned us of pastry shop - and it was all LOW CALORIE - GRIN! Hotel was quiet, immaculate and modern! A pleasure!
Come and stay - We'll be back!
Tony & Heike P

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter, although the whole area is not that noisy anyway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Tony, thank you for such high compliments calling us the jewel of Best Western. I'm glad after passing us by in the past that you gave us a chance and had such a terrific experience. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I have to admit, I don't care for NOTL. Too touristy and stuck up. Our first night here, it was noisy out and it made sleep poor.

But, our second day was better. The breakfast was decent, with waffle maker, and the staff were just great with our kids. They were friendly, cleaned around naps, and gave them cookies. With the fan on, our second night was better.

If we went back to NOTL, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DadAndPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We appreciate you letting us know how your recent stay was. I'm sorry for any noise issues during your stay and for not providing you with a great experience. If any issues arise during a guest's stay we do our best to resolve it as quickly as possible. We hope you will give us another chance in the future and if there is anything else that could have made your stay more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Good services , good location , the Breakfast very nice with good services, very Nice Rooms and excellent Staff I hope all Hotels can have the same services, also you can walk from the Hotel to the Niagara on the lake Centre area and to the shopping Historic shops

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 997nadyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were in the dog-friendly room supplied with dog bed, and food & water bowls. Our dog was given a welcome bag with her name on front. Bag had treats, a new toy and scoop bags The room and washroom was very clean, check in pleasant and a short walk to a great bar "the Sand Trap".
The breakfast was excellent, fresh made muffins, bagels, breads and raisin bread, cereals, juice, coffee, boiled eggs, and make your own waffles. The breakfast room is bright and again very clean and well staffed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat and bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Pat and Bill, it's wonderful to hear the two of you and your dog had such an enjoyable stay! We love having guests make use of our dog-friendly room. The Colonel Butler Inn is very fortunate to have a team that prides itself on friendly service, cleanliness standards, and providing a complimentary and excellent breakfast to start off a guest's day right. We hope to see you again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We loved this hotel, especially for the value. It was definitely not like the Best Westerns I stayed at when I was young, and I was surprised that it was so nice. The room was beautifully decorated and so comfortable, and the staff was delightful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank ge0rgiannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We picked the Colonel Butler for our stay, as we had been here previously and enjoyed the accomodations. The complimentary breakfast is very good and the kitchen staff kept everything clean considering it was quite busy. The rooms are clean and the hotel was quiet even though busy. A very enjoyable stay for taking in local wine tours. We definitely will return!! Doug & Pam Cook

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We just recently stayed at the Colonel Butler Inn. I found the Inn to be extremely clean and the staff were amazing. It was conveniently located just a short drive from the shops and many wineries. The amenities were great right down to the fresh baked cookies you receive upon arrival. I used the fitness room and it had just what I needed to work out. The breakfast had many options and satisfied everyone in my party. I give this place two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbducharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was and for giving us such high compliments! I'm so glad our hotel provided you with everything you needed for your visit to Niagara. We are very fortunate here to have a team that love their job and pride themselves on service and cleanliness. And our freshly baked cookies at check-in and our complimentary breakfast are definitely big hits with our guests. We hope you can join us again soon!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
957 reviews
1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,791 reviews
6.4 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £69 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing