We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A porch from Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent two Heavenly nights at the Colonel Butler Inn In Niagara Falls on the Lake. We were greeted by two of the friendliest Ladies. They where there to help us when ever we asked.
The best thing about the Colonel Butler Inn was their front porch, large, roomy and set up for your special meals. We enjoyed several meals on the porch and were well protected when the rain came.
We will be booking in at Colonel Butler Inn next time we vacation at Niagara on the Lake

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at the Colonel Butler Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RDLeDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I'm so glad you had such a great stay! We are very fortunate to have a team here that prides themselves on providing excellent service and who truly love helping guests. And yes, our patios have been very popular with guests; a perfect space to enjoying breakfast outside, spend the day relaxing with a book or chatting with companions. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent one night here on our way into Canada. We chose it because it was pet-friendly and affordable. The welcome that our dog received here was above and beyond what we expected. At check-in we received a gift bag for her with dog biscuits, a rope toy, and a listing of restaurants in town that had pet-friendly outdoor seating. In the room there was a nice dog bed and a food & water dish. The accommodations were quite nice for us humans as well. The room was a bit on the small side, but it was spotless and the furnishings were modern and tasteful. Very friendly and helpful staff as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jennifer, thank you for choosing the Colonel Butler Inn for your hotel needs. Also, thank you for being our 200th review! We always appreciate when guests take the time to let us know how their stay was. We do love having guests bring their dogs and I'm thrilled you and your pet had such an enjoyable stay! We hope you'll stay with us again when visiting Niagara.

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We pretty much booked this hotel last minute on the 4th of July holiday weekend for the USA. Rooms was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good too with some decent options. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was pretty good. Close enough to the Central Business District of Niagara-on-the-Lake, but far enough away from it. Maybe 1km away from the CBD. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClevelandTraveler216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here with other family members for a wedding. Super accommodations and darling lobby and beautifully decorated rooms. Very professionally run hotel centrally located betwwen the wineries and Niagara on the Lake. Even the "breakfast lady" made sure everything was perfect for the grandchildren. Very happy place! and may I add how quiet it is too.

Room Tip: Corner Suites have fireplaces and are near the veranda if you would like to sit outside with coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbroon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A very nice and relaxing vacation. Good location in the quiet area of Niagara on the lake. There are lots of places to visit like old forts and many places to eat a nice meal. Also a lot of stores to shop at .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was intended as a stopover to see the Falls not far away, and drive on to Grand Bend. We found the welcome in the hotel (Penny) warm and genuine and got great friendly service and help from Marlene the next morning when leaving. Niagara-on-the-Lake is utterly charming - lots of fascinating shop windows and loads of choice for eating. We had a splendid meal in the Charles Inn, wandered round the town that night and would have loved to be able to spend more time in it in the daylight. Would strongly recommend this as a place to stay when visiting Niagara Falls since the town of Niagara itself seemed rather tacky.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmfrt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

We appreciate you writing a review and for your kind words. We're sorry you could not stay longer as well as Niagara on the Lake is truly a special place and well worth taking your time to visit. We are very fortunate to have Penny and Marlene as part of our team here, both being here for over 7 years now. And I'm so glad you enjoyed your dinner at the Charles Restaurant, that is one of my favourite places in town to dine. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope you'll get another chance to stay with us when visiting Canada again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is only a few very walkable blocks from the main drag and is well worth a visit. It is only 2 stories but there isn't an elevator. The rooms are large and well kept. The staff is simply wonderful. The breakfast included is wonderful - eggs, waffles, yoghurt etc in a sunny breakfast room. Especially nice on a warm summer night are the large verandahs where you can open a bottle of wine and chat with a friend. The staff are also helpful in finding restaurants, options for wineries etc. We'll be back in the fall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

I'm glad you had a pleasant stay, enjoying our complimentary breakfast, relaxing patios, and convenient location to numerous wineries and restaurants. Since we do not have an elevator we do take requests for the main floor when guests book. Thank you for writing a review and we hope you'll be able to join us again. And if there is anything we can do to make that next stay more enjoyable please don't hesitate to let us know!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
962 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,823 reviews
6.4 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £69 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing