We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Fairport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Although by no means cheap, this hotel was priced reasonably well. My only negative is that they charged us extra for my son (15 years old) and father-in-law (84 years old), and I don't believe they gave us any larger room - we got the same one we would have had if we had just traveled as a couple. Maybe they did that due to the cost of the breakfast, which was decent. Room was clean, staff was VERY helpful - took and delivered phone messages, called around to find out about local attractions at our behest, provided us with parking info (challenge during the summer in this town), etc. NOTL is a beautiful village, and one could spend a few days there easily -- great place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandeepRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Yes, you are correct that the extra charge for your son and father-in-law is for our breakfast as well as additional usages of linens, utiliites, etc.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you can visit with us again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    171
    48
    13
    1
See reviews for
111
250
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

In the pricey area of Niagara-on-the-Lake, it was wonderful to stay in a very good, yet very reasonably priced hotel. The staff bent over backwards to answer all questions, and even get us checked in a little early. The continental breakfast was adequate, and they had great recommendations for restaurants. There is no elevator, so they changed our assigned room to accommodate my elderly mother. All in all, a pleasant experience (but they should invest in some new bed pillows!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Pat, thank you for letting us know how your stay was. We are glad to provide visitors to Niagara a more affordable choice while giving guests comfortable and clean rooms, helpful service, and a convenient location to explore the town. We are actually in the process of ordering pillows and if there is anything we can do to make your next visit more enjoyable please don't hesitate to let us know!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Better than average, not sure if I would rate it "very good". Over the years, we have only stayed at two hotels while visiting Niagara on the Lake. One a little more upscale and this one (overall price / deal being a factor).

The Best Western Colonel Butler has done a good job on re-modelling its rooms since our last visit over 1 1/2 years ago - granite countertop in the bathroom, new bedding, and more space overall in the rooms. The covered patio is great for outside sitting, so you can be out of sun (or rain). The only complaint we had were noisy patrons on the patio who had no regard for those in close-by rooms (after 1 AM...).

Staff were efficient and courteous. Breakfast was basic (muffins, toast, bagels, cereal, waffles, yogurt, fruit, etc.). Free parking and free wifi are available. Very close to a few restaurants, variety store, and a short walk to the downtown or a couple of wineries.

If you are looking for a basic, clean, convenient place to stay while in Niagara on the Lake, the Best Western Colonel Butler Inn will do the trick....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for being a returning guest, we appreciate your loyalty. I'm glad you apprecated all the updates we have done over the past year and our complimentary amenities such as breakfast, wi-fi, and parking. I am sorry to hear that there were noisy guests on the patio and that our night staff didn't notice else it would have been resolved. We look forward to seeing you again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent six nights here in July. I have some limitation physically, so getting in and out of the tub was a bit difficult. They did, however, give us a first floor back room to avoid steps. There is no elevator. The Rooney was small but adequate and very clean. Continental breakfast was very good but without meats. There were hard boiled eggs though. The staff, especially in the breakfast room, we're very warm and friendly. We have gone here while attending the Shaw Festival for years now. It's convenient to nearby eating places and at a moderate walk to downtown.

Room Tip: Anyone with slight disabilities should request the first floor. Not really wheelchair accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Carole, thank you for continuing to stay with us when visiting Niagara. It's always nice to see a familiar face return! We are very fortunate to have a team here that truly enjoys interacting with guests and making sure they have a great experience. We appreciate you leaving a review and we'll see you again next year!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

When my cousin and I booked a last minute room we weren't expecting much. The hotel itself lookspretty ordinary, the service is not. We were very pleased with the personal touches. Everyone on the staff was so friendly and that really makes a difference. The breakfast hostess was very welcoming and kept everything stocked and moving. Two bonuses. It is walking distant from Niagara on the Lake but far enough away too. We had lunch in the adjoining bar and came back for dinner. Once again it looks like a corner bar but with friendly service and the very good food. We felt very welcome there too.The stromboli was really great. The prices were quite a change from the town too.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and no handicap access. There are workarounds and once again the staff goes o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3845marti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are glad you were so pleasantly surprised! We are very fortunate to have a team who strive to provide the extra-ordinary service that you mention. I'm glad to hear you also enjoyed your meals at Butler's Bar next door. I hope you had a chance to try their pizza as it is what they are known for!

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we hope you'll be able to visit us again.

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a small basic hotel about 20 minutes walk from the main street of Niagara on the Lake. We have stayed here several times. There are a few suites but most rooms are basic hotel style. However, the staff are friendly and helpful, the beds comfortable and rooms fairly quiet, although our air conditioner was louder than we have found in other rooms in the past. A continental breakfast is included in the rate with muffins, hot and cold cereal, toast, boiled eggs, a waffle iron to make your own, lots of coffee, juice, fresh fruit, etc. There is a very busy diner across the street if more substancial fare is wanted.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you cannot manage stairs, notify them in advance so you do not get place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a small hotel. It is very clean and comfortable. Although there was no elevator, staff offered to help with luggage to the second floor. Typical of Best Westerns, there was a nice breakfast served. There is only a small bar and grill next door for small meals, but the area does have various restaurants within a mile or so. Staff is very helpful with directions and suggestions. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,485 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,669 reviews
0.6 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonel Butler Inn

Property: Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Address: 278 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing