We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

The manager is very helpful and professional.

The hotel is in a good location and is a great option if you don't want to spend $200+ a night elsewhere in the expensive Niagara-on-the-Lake region.

My only complaint is that the rooms are a bit dark due to small windows - but it looks like a brick building that was turned into a hotel and that might explain it.

On the whole, good value for what you pay. The free internet was a great perk and the breakfast that was included IS REALLY GOOD!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foufikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    159
    45
    13
    1
See reviews for
105
234
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

All the staff we encountered were really helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good, with freshly baked muffins and a waffle iron with batter ready to go, as well as the usual cereal, juice, toast, boiled eggs, coffee & tea. A free internet connected computer is provided in the lobby. Quiet, clean and reasonably priced. We would return if visiting NOTL again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

my wife and I stayed Jan1-5. Derrick-the manager was awesome-we arrived a day earlier than expected, had to book a more expensive room the first night. Derrick let us keep the room at the lesser price all 4 nights. The hotel is small, like many of the inns in NOTL, but at half the price. This place is not elegant, or opulent, but for us that was perfect. Its super clean, the rooms are well equipped, and breakfast is served in a small dining room, and you use REAL dishes and silverware. Waffles plus a variety of continental items- plenty to start your day. There is a Tim Hortons across the street also. Its about a 5 minute drive to the main shopping area. We can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

Myself, fiance, and another couple stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (Fri and Sat). When I booked, the manager, Derick, was very helpful, and even sent me an email a few days prior to the trip asking if there was anything he could do (book a tour, dinner, ect). Check in was easy. Rooms were clean, and service was fast and friendly. Continental breasfest was great with a large selection. On the Sat night, Derick went out of his way to call around to different restaurants to see what their availability was. Will definitly stay here again next time we visit!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birthdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, 28 December 2009
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I'm glad that you had such an enjoyable experience and that I was able to help you with dinner plans. Best wishes to you and your fiancee for the new year!

Sincerely, Derrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

My friends & I have been attending the Shaw Festival for several years. We prefer staying at the Best Western, rooms with two beds (difficult to find in Niagara-on-the-Lake), Breakfast on the porch, and a glass of wine with a snack (we bring these from home) on the porch to discuss the play. The staff is very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakemisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

This hotel has the best guest service. The continental breakfast has it all and is fresh and well replenished. The rooms are clean and spacious. The location is a short walk to the main street.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pet37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
My staff and I would just like to give a quick thank you for this very kind comment. We take pride and enjoyment on the amount of personal attention we give to our guests as well as the quality of service. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Derrick Medcalf
General Manager
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Nice hotel, checked in early!
Room was on the 2nd floor room was clean loved the Colonel balcony was nice to have a glass a wine outside and watch the stars!
Breakfast was okay, Loved making my own waffle! Not bad for complementry.
Overall experience was good, only one complaint walls are paper thin and my sister and I could hear the bed banging against the wall from next room need I say more!
Would I stay again, probably yes!
Location really great! Tim Horton's right across the street 24hrs

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HopeToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn
Address: 278 Mary Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing