We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All fine at our friends' wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“All fine at our friends' wedding”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Our friends got married at this hotel and we all stayed in rooms here, allowing us to get a good feeling for the place. The location is pretty non-descript, with almost anything except a fast food stop being driving distance away. Niagara Falls was maybe 10-15 minutes.

The rooms and hotel itself were what you would expect from the size and brand. Pretty non-descript but clean and well maintained. The pool, small but fine. The banquet rooms fine.

I thought the service was OK... overall the staff seemed young and a bit confused. For example, our friends got a wedding guest discount on the room, but apparently for only the night of the wedding, so since we were staying to nights the gal taking the reservation needed us to make two separate reservations, one for each price point (actually four separate reservations, since we had two rooms for our family). She seemed a bit cranky doing it. The wedding was simple and went off nicely.

There is a restaurant on site and the food is OK. One complaint I had was that breakfast was an added fee, and not cheap, probably around $10-12 per person at the end of it which makes a big difference in a party of 6. Most hotels in this price category include breakfast. If the wedding had not been in this location, I would have stayed elsewhere.

Overall, I doubt you'd have a bad experience here, but it won't wow you either and seemed pricey for what it offers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey_family4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    484
    148
    38
    24
See reviews for
345
585
45
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in the Hilton one night to avoid the huge crowds in Niagara Falls itself.
The hotel is located very conveniently and it is only a 15 minute ride to the Falls. The service was very friendly and the room was huge and very clean. We spend a little bit time outside on the patio , which was very calm and quiet.
The following morning we ordered the breakfast buffet and it was plenty and good and kept us going the whole day. Would definitely stop by there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uschi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My wife and I went to see My Fair Lady at the Shaw festival and thought we would stay here instead of paying $300 plus to stay near the show in Niagara on the lake. We are glad we did! We paid the extra $5 for the breakfast package which included a full breakfast for two, which was quite good, except for the rubbery pancakes.

The check in was efficient but excluded any personality or direction to the elevators or hotel features, Other than the front desk staff, the rest of the hotel staff were excellent anf very friendly. The room was large and clean, included a fridge and microwave, and a great shower. We used the pool which was heated to perfection, and best of all was not crowded!

We are very glad we stayed as it was 15 minutes to the show and it was a great hotel. Even had a Tim Hortons across the street if you were so inclined, although there was always fresh GOOD coffee in the lobby and fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyo_and_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here Sunday August 28th. I just needed a "jacuzzi" night, and this was available and reasonable. We booked and asked for early check in, as we had stayed the previous two nights in Niagara Falls NY, so we knew it wouldn't take long to get here. We got to the hotel about 11:30, but the Hotel had sold out the night before due to a wedding, and the room was not ready. No problem. The young lady at the front desk was incredibly pleasant and apologetic, and we just could not complain. So, we went exploring for a bit and drove into St. Catherines and found a grocery store and a liquor store, to replenish our travel stock, and went back to the hotel about 1:15. Still not ready, but the young lady was right on top of things and kept in communication with housekeeping by two way radio. She even offered us an appetizer from their little restaurant (VERY nice touch), but we declined. Once we got to the room, it was lovely! It was a little small and cramped, (nothing a little re-arranging of the furniture couldn't cure) but the jacuzzi area was adorable..There was a really nice comfy club-type chair in the corner for my hubby to sit and read, and the room was impeccably clean with a pretty comfortable bed. Previous reviews are correct, there is not much to do in the immediate vicinity of this hotel, but it's a short drive into NOTL, and a short drive to St. Catherines if you wish. But for us, it was quiet and clean and pleasant, and just what the Dr ordered....LOL Thanks for a relaxing evening, guys! We really appreciated it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPCARC1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

stayed here for one night August 26th for a mini break with my husband. Check in was nice and easy have stayed here before and always ask for a room on the back as it overlooks a small bush/tree area which makes it very quiet. We had a ground floor room that had 12ft ceilings very pleasant the only niggle was the remote for the tv was temperamental to say the least. Think maybe the batteries just needed changing. Other than it a great stay, used the pool a couple of times and it was like our own private one as no-one was there. Ate breakfast in the hotel next morning, very enjoyable - all the staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattnvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had a two nights getaway, which was very quite and enjoble. Nice new beds, clean an very comfortable. Free parking, Internet service and Business centre!!!

Great food at the CopaCabana.

Will be back: Frank and Sonia

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankVismeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
320 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is on the edge of town, away from where the action is; that could be good or bad, depending on what you're looking for. Overall, the place has a clean, modern feel to it and it's decently priced for the area. They have wi-fi, but the price did not include any breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,634 reviews
8.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,450 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,180 reviews
7.9 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Address: 500 York Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#9 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#11 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five storey hotel nestled in park like sating and less than 15 minutes either from Niagara Falls or Niagara-on-the-Lake features 118 spacious guestroom: 43 King rooms, 63 Queen rooms with two QQ beds, 11 Deluxe Jacuzzi Suites, which includes plenty of amenities such as: The Sweet Dreams Bed Experience, Luxurious linens and duvets and the remarkable Garden Sleep System adjustable bed, fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, 37” LCD High Definition Digital flat screen TV with on-demand movies and video games, complimentary wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, Ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra Chair, Secure PrinterON remote printing, two dual line telephone and MP3clock radio and iron/ironing board. Complimentary 24 hours Business Centre, Complimentary “to go” morning Coffee or Tea. We also offer a 24 hour Pavilion Pantry for snacks and microwavable meals, coin laundry service and complimentary parking and Electric vehicle charging station FREE of charge to our guest.Recreation Facility: Fitness centre with the latest in equipment by PRECOR, indoor heated pool and invigorated whirlpool and outdoor patio. For your dining pleasure The Great North American Grill – Restaurant, which offer Mediterranean & American cuisine and featuring made to order eggs and other delicious items, a hearty lunch and dinner specialties daily prepared by our talented Chef. Prime Rib Special every Friday & Saturday night. We can accommodate in our Garden View Ballroom conferences, dinner parties or weddings up to 220 persons with outdoor Gazebo for Wedding Ceremonies.Welcome to the HILTON GARDEN INN, Niagara-on-the-Lake and great Canadian Wine Region, Art Galleries, Golf & Journey back in time-relive the War of 1812 , “the Prettiest Town in Canada” please come and Witness History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-On-The-Lake Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hilton Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing