We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, OK location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel, OK location”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel was exactly what I would expect from a Hilton Garden Inn, but don't expect to be too close to anything touristy in the area. If you don't have a car, you won't really be able to do any of the attractions in the area like hanging out in the downtown area. If I went again, I would try to stay closer to the historic downtown area, but this hotel was perfectly good as far as hotels go.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleagus, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for awarding us with five star rating for our facilities and services and we are happy to hear that you had a enjoyable stay the Hilton Garden Inn and that our professional team made you feel at home. Thank you for selecting the Hilton Garden Inn and Niagara Glorious Wine Region for your trip and looking forward to welcome you back: Frank Vismeg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    484
    148
    38
    24
See reviews for
345
585
45
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Good - great location in wine country, lovely hotel, great pool and hot tub area that opens to a lovely terrace, wonderful helpful staff.

Bad - Nothing really...

Great place to stay if you are doing wine tours and dont want to have to travel too far afterwards. I do believe they have shuttles that run to various wineries too.

Room Tip: Forest side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cballarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleagus, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for awarding us with high rating and I am happy to hear that you had a enjoyable stay and the Hilton Garden Inn and that our team made you feel at home, as well that you had a great experience in Niagara Region. Thank you for selecting the Hilton Garden Inn and Niagara Glorious Wine Region for your trip and looking forward to welcome you back: Frank Vismeg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This hotel almost got a 5 star rating, it was so very close and comes down to some understaffing and cleaning issues.

Check in was quick and easy. The room was clean and fresh, the upgrades were apparent. The hotel was quiet, parking is free. The location is ok...about 10 minutes from the nearest wineries. Since I was traveling alone, I chose to eat several meals at the hotel.

The food was good and plentiful...but I was amazed at how one waitress was responsible for staffing the bar, waiting tables, and delivering room service. She did a great job, but it was tough to get what you needed (at one point I needed utensils, at another point a correction on my order). She was very courteous and professional...but seriously overworked.

Breakfast was complimentary for me, as a Hilton Gold member. There was a very nice selection, including omelets. Again the staff was overwhelmed. It took me 20 minutes to get coffee. On the weekend, I had to wait for my omelet for 15 minutes (they forgot to make it). The other issue was the cleanliness of the plates and glasses in the restaurant. I often had to get new silverware (food in the tines of the fork) or a new plate because it felt gritty.

Overall, a very nice stay. Hopefully they can work out the few kitchen issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleagus, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive review. Please accept my apology for not leaving up to your high expectation. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and our Buffet Breakfast and eggs to order and meals in ou Great North American Grill. I have discussed your comments and some of deficiency you have stated with our Restaurant Supervisor and Executive Chef and insured that will not happen again. Chateau des Charmes Winery is less than 3 minutes drive from the hotel on 1025 York Road and Pillitteri Winery is around 7 minutes drive, which is very reasonable. Niagara-on-the-Lake - Downtown is 12 minutes drive, as well Niagara Falls too. We are ideally located in midst of Niagara Glorious Wine Regions. Looking forward to welcome you back: Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is a great place to stay in the Niagara-on-the-Lake region if visiting to explore wine country. The room was very nice and clean and there were several restaurants across the street that were much easier on the wallet than the restaurant at the hotel. The one drawback is that the hotel is about a 10 minute drive from everything. If you're willing to stay a little further away, you probably won't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dburges2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleagus, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking time to write the positive four star rating review and that you enjoyed staying at our " modern hotel with well appointed and comfortable rooms”. The FREE Internet service and many other amenities.
We have recently revamped our fitness Facility which feature the latest Precor equipment and 37” Widescreen LCD HDTV with pay-per-view movies and games and in the very near future we will be doing some more improvements in the hotel.

We at Hilton Garden Inn serve wide selections on buffet breakfast including fresh to-order any style eggs only $12.95 per person, which is very resonable. Also, we serve Continental and Canadian Cuisine from the freshest local and regional ingredients for lunch and dinner.

Yes, you are right that we are only 10 minutes away from Niagara-on-the-Lake, but also
our rates are much more reasonable.

We are looking forward and welcome you back to the Hilton Garden Inn and Niagara Glorious Wine Region: Frank Vismeg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I have stayed at your hotel on Monday and would like to comment on the hotel.
When i arrived the checkin was done professionaly and we got the suggestion of how to use the knob to firm the matress which I found an excellent Idea
The room was clean and all amenities where available.
I went for breakfast the next day in your resteraunt which well supplied and fresh, the waitress Petra was very friendly and helpful
I enjoyed my stay very much and certainly will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbictache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleagus, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your five star rating and I am happy to hear that you had a enjoyable stay and that Hilton Garden Inn, and that our team made you feel at home, as well that you had a great experience in Niagara Region. Thank you for selecting our establishment for your trip and looking forward to welcome you back: Frank Vismeg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haliburton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

From the moment we arrived , we knew we were staying at a Hilton Hotel by the genuine hospitality of both the management and staff. Service with a Smile.
Our room was fantastic,It had two queen beds, just what we needed for my daughter and I to get a wonderful good nights rest. and that is exactly what we had. Our room overlooked the beautiful conservation area. We enjoyed watching the birds in the early morning. Free wireless was great as well, very easy to use. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the morning. Our server Petra was very kind and very helpful. We spent our day at Niagara Falls, seeing the sites and experienced the Maid of the Mist boat tour for the first time. It was only a 15 minute drive to Niagara Falls from the hotel. After a full day in Niagara Falls we went back to the hotel for a swim. The water was nice and warm and the pool area was very clean. We found the whole hotel was very clean as well. We met up with Frank in the evening and he asked how our stay was going and we said that we were having the best vacation ever.
Frank is a genuine entrepreneur. He went the extra mile to make sure that our stay was everything that we were hoping for..
I will certainly recommend this hotel . We are looking forward to making this our yearly vacation destination.
Thank- you Frank and your staff for everything.
The Miller family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor have a fantastic view of the Niagara-on-the-lake area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleagus, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Miller Family,

I would like to take this opportunity for your five star rating and I am happy to hear that your family had a enjoyable stay and that Hilton Garden Inn team made your stay memorable, as well that you had an enjoyable experience in Niagara Region and most importantly that you plan to return back. Thank you for selecting our hotel and looking forward to welcome you back: Frank Vismeg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband tried to book through the hotel directly,a few days before, but was told that they had no availabiltiy so he booked the room online at under $220,a pretty good rate considering some hotels wanted $500 for Sat. night.Our room was 277, second floor, at the end of the hallway from the elevator.The room was nicely set up with a Jacuzzi in the corner of the bedroom we didn't expect. The bed was comfortable.The bathroom had a bathtub/shower with Bath & Body Works shampoos, etc. but the bathroom was nothing special.The Jacuzzi was nice to have but when we turned it on, it was very noisey & we worried about the other guests. We heard the sound of what was someone else filling their Jacuzzi which was very noisey & could hear toilets flushing & the shower of other guests. We would probably stay there again if we needed to but it isn't really in Niagara-on-the Lake for people who think they are going to be on King Street around the Prince of Wales is. There is complimentary coffee and a decent buffet breakfast at an extra charge for those who want it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleagus, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Hello "Luci",
Your review on our site is not matching, as we do not have Jacuzzi or any rooms numbered 277. Our highest number ends with 28 on any of our five floors. Our hotel is only 7 years and all the equipment is new and our maintenance team inspects each room in the hotel quarterly for any deficiency. Our housekeeping team uses ECO MAX Ultra Cleaner Odour Neutralizer after "Green product" between each use to thoroughly clean the Jacuzzi as well as turning on the jets to clean them. As you know the water level has to be higher than the Jacuzzi jets before turning on the jets. The only way there could be noise was if you turned on the jets before you filled the water over the jets level. We are getting many positive comments from our guest about our upscale facilities especially using the Eco friendly products, which are well known by Hilton Hotels. I am happy to hear that you noticed that our prices are very reasonable for our unique location between Niagara-on-the-Lake and Famous Niagara Falls in Niagara Great Wine Region. We have many loyal customers returning again and again including Hilton HHonors members, which receive great rewards. I am happy to hear that you will be back and that you enjoyed a wide variety of selections on our Hot Buffet breakfast for only $12.95. Please give me a call: 905-984-4200
With kind regards and Skål: Frank Vismeg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,634 reviews
8.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,450 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,180 reviews
7.9 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Address: 500 York Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#9 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#11 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five storey hotel nestled in park like sating and less than 15 minutes either from Niagara Falls or Niagara-on-the-Lake features 118 spacious guestroom: 43 King rooms, 63 Queen rooms with two QQ beds, 11 Deluxe Jacuzzi Suites, which includes plenty of amenities such as: The Sweet Dreams Bed Experience, Luxurious linens and duvets and the remarkable Garden Sleep System adjustable bed, fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, 37” LCD High Definition Digital flat screen TV with on-demand movies and video games, complimentary wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, Ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra Chair, Secure PrinterON remote printing, two dual line telephone and MP3clock radio and iron/ironing board. Complimentary 24 hours Business Centre, Complimentary “to go” morning Coffee or Tea. We also offer a 24 hour Pavilion Pantry for snacks and microwavable meals, coin laundry service and complimentary parking and Electric vehicle charging station FREE of charge to our guest.Recreation Facility: Fitness centre with the latest in equipment by PRECOR, indoor heated pool and invigorated whirlpool and outdoor patio. For your dining pleasure The Great North American Grill – Restaurant, which offer Mediterranean & American cuisine and featuring made to order eggs and other delicious items, a hearty lunch and dinner specialties daily prepared by our talented Chef. Prime Rib Special every Friday & Saturday night. We can accommodate in our Garden View Ballroom conferences, dinner parties or weddings up to 220 persons with outdoor Gazebo for Wedding Ceremonies.Welcome to the HILTON GARDEN INN, Niagara-on-the-Lake and great Canadian Wine Region, Art Galleries, Golf & Journey back in time-relive the War of 1812 , “the Prettiest Town in Canada” please come and Witness History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-On-The-Lake Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hilton Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing