We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appreciation of the Hilton Garden at Niagara on the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After a convention in Welland, we extended our stay at Niagara on the Lake. We toured some wonderful wineries and attended a musical play at the Shaw theatre. We were very pleased to find the Hilton Garden for a very confortable stay. We strongly recommend it. It is interesting that it is so close to the new shopping outlets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Gilles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Location - it's very close to the highway, the new premium outlet mall that opened, and about a 15-20 minute drive from Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Service - it's good. Staff are friendly and welcoming, and generally mind their own business (ie, don't trip over themselves to help you). They are also helpful when you have any requests or issues.

Rooms - the best I can say is that they provide modern luxuries, such as bed, bathroom, desk, wifi, and a telly. But they came in a box with all the other hotel rooms maintained by Holiday Inn, Best Western, etc., etc., that generate the singular sentiment when you walk in that can only be described by "yup, this is a room and there's the bed". On that note, the beds are not great quality - they have a nifty dial-a-firmness feature that did not work for me in any way (I spent most of the night unable to sleep due to discomfort) and seemed better in theory than in practice. The walls aren't very thin, so best of luck with your neighbours.

Cleanliness - no complaints. The staff do a great job in maintaining it.

One note: the breakfast may leave you searching beyond the hotel's walls for something that isn't likely to immediately reduce your life expectancy (incredibly oily everything; evil-looking sausages; possibly synthetic egg-like material passing for eggs). The coffee was quite good, though.

Bottom line: it's cheap and convenient, but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Part of the hotel faces the road, so it might be somewhat noisy. Because the walls and doors are not...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here on a combination of Hilton points and a reduced room rate. The food service at breakfast and dinner was good. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the Q, the wineries and the town of Niagara on the Lake. Staff were friendly and attentive. We'd stay here again if we are ever back in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Niagara on the Lake for two weeks was fantastic. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere with mature landscaping that gives you the feeling of being in a resort. The friendly helpful staff made the stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Room was OK. Staff were dreadful.
Arrived tired after long drive expecting the welcome that we have received all over Canada on many visits - sadly mistaken.
Decided not to book as thought staff would be helpful regarding this. Asked weather it was better to book on internet and desk staff said it was only 8 dollars difference so I didn't bother. In fact if we had booked it would have included breakfast ($12.95 a head) which would have saved me in total $67.80! (unfortunately I booked 2 nights)
But it didn't stop at bad advice...
we were given a room on the ground floor (referred to as first floor by the receptionist hence mistake on my part) which was right by the fire escape on ground floor. Considered this to be a security risk and asked for another room as soon as I saw it. I was told that there were no other rooms available. I was suspicious of this and checked on the internet and was told that there were king sized rooms available. So suspected that the receptionist had lied to me. when I asked about this she said that 'there were only queen sized rooms available no king sized and that there must be a mistake on the internet.' (btw at no point had I specified a KS room and was not given an option on arrival - just quoted $159.) I checked on a different site later and they still said that there were king sized rooms available so if there was 'an error' it was at the Hilton end. It was at this time that I noticed that not only could I have got free breakfast by prebooking but the Hilton website was offering a KS room for $137!!
It was about this time that we had dinner which took over 1 hour to arrive and we got ours before the people next to us who had ordered before us! (Their meal for 4 arrived in 2 parts too.) we were given a free drink but yet again the staff were full of implausible excuses. It seemed to boil down to a lack of kitchen staff but we were told that they had a lot of room service (restaurant was mostly empty), guests had cancelled orders (no surprise there) and one of the machines had stopped working for 15 minutes.
Apparently we guests are really inconvenient - so I guess we just shouldn't bother.
PS. I am about to check out and have picked up the bill which has been put under the door. I can't actually read the total but I note that I have been charged an extra $12.08 'destination promotion fee' which I have checked on the web is voluntary (I won't be paying) and a facility fee of $6.36 which I have yet to have explained to me. I wonder how that conversation is going to go!

Room Tip: Good luck if the staff can be bothered to give you a choice!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melonta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCSAWYER, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the quality and value of your stay was interrupted by misinformation from our front desk team. I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of advising and communicating with our guests so that you receive the quality hotel stay you expect and deserve. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, I hope that you will be our guest again. If we may be of any additional assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact our office directly.

Thank you,

Leea Sawyer
Assistant General Manager
leea.sawyer@flemingc.on.ca
905-984-4200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We came with a big group of people so I understand that it could be overwhelming, the girls at the from desk did an amazing job doing everything as quick as possible,I think her name started with an Rosie but she was very nice and the one next to her, didn't catch her name but both helpful and smiling.The rooms where clean so its a big thumbs up to housekeeping ! the pool was tidy and clean.. when i called for towels they came right away! overall GREAT stay for one night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Another great night at our "local hotel" for our regular bi monthly girls getaway. Everything great as usual. Clean comfy speedy check in always friendly front desk staff.

The only disappointing thing was the next morning all the stuff we had kept in the fridge for our breakfast snacks and drinks left over from the night before had frozen solid. Obviously needed checking.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mattnvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
8.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
7.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,734 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
5.5 mi away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
80 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake

Address: 500 York Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#9 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#11 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £81 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five storey hotel nestled in park like sating and less than 15 minutes either from Niagara Falls or Niagara-on-the-Lake features 118 spacious guestroom: 43 King rooms, 63 Queen rooms with two QQ beds, 11 Deluxe Jacuzzi Suites, which includes plenty of amenities such as: The Sweet Dreams Bed Experience, Luxurious linens and duvets and the remarkable Garden Sleep System adjustable bed, fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, 37” LCD High Definition Digital flat screen TV with on-demand movies and video games, complimentary wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, Ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra Chair, Secure PrinterON remote printing, two dual line telephone and MP3clock radio and iron/ironing board. Complimentary 24 hours Business Centre, Complimentary “to go” morning Coffee or Tea. We also offer a 24 hour Pavilion Pantry for snacks and microwavable meals, coin laundry service and complimentary parking and Electric vehicle charging station FREE of charge to our guest.Recreation Facility: Fitness centre with the latest in equipment by PRECOR, indoor heated pool and invigorated whirlpool and outdoor patio. For your dining pleasure The Great North American Grill – Restaurant, which offer Mediterranean & American cuisine and featuring made to order eggs and other delicious items, a hearty lunch and dinner specialties daily prepared by our talented Chef. Prime Rib Special every Friday & Saturday night. We can accommodate in our Garden View Ballroom conferences, dinner parties or weddings up to 220 persons with outdoor Gazebo for Wedding Ceremonies.Welcome to the HILTON GARDEN INN, Niagara-on-the-Lake and great Canadian Wine Region, Art Galleries, Golf & Journey back in time-relive the War of 1812 , “the Prettiest Town in Canada” please come and Witness History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-On-The-Lake Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hilton Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing