We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
Princeton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, peaceful stay!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our stay in the Riverbend Inn and Vineyard is one we will always remember. For any couples young or old it is a beautiful place to stay. Beautiful rooms and decor, beautiful view overlooking the Reif Estate vineyards. The food at the restaurant inside the Inn was absolutely delicious, 2 thumbs up. The service was great, very friendly and helpful ladies!! Joanna and Lynda were excellent always so helpful and always saying hello when we passed by them, or making small talk. Not a far drive to the town of Niagra-on the-Lake. Just such a beautiful stay and I highly recommend staying there for a romantic, beautiful time!

Room Tip: Rooms 320, the bed is on the wall of the bathroom of room 321. If you can get a different room, get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evangeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    118
    45
    24
    15
See reviews for
32
327
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Wonderful inn for a romantic stay! Great location~~ close to the town yet right across from the river. Enjoyed morning walks along the parkway followed by breakfast on the patio overlooking the vineyards.Lynda was a wonderful host in the afternoon & evening hours. She was very courteous and helpful. She was also very knowledgeable of the area, as well as the history of the inn. Looked forward to our evening chats with her.Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p00h13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Liskeard, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great location in the middle of vineyard country. The wineries were close by and Niagara on the Lake downtown was just close enough.
Serene surroundings, great service especially from the front desk. The ladies, especially Linda, provided us with wine tasting tours and vouchers and information on where to get the best deals. Great package included breakfast and dinner voucher. Restaurant was good.
Will definitely go back and refer it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms with the vineyard view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We love to hear from guests how thier stay was. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I have long admired this property as we drive through wine country. We finally booked, a bit last minute, over the recent I4C Chardonnay weekend.

Using our AAA/CAA card, we knocked the nightly rate down from $360 to $320. We weren't able to request any specific room/view.

The property is very nice, located right next to Peller. It has a beautiful view of the vineyard, with seating around the grounds. I got up in the morning and ran along the nearby Niagara River Parkway, which is a very nice route.

The room was nice...old fashioned decor, but a spacious room and bathroom and fairly nice amenities. It wasn't 5 star, but was nice.

My overall impression was good but not great. We've stayed at the nearby Shaw Club, as well as the Prince of Wales and White Oaks. For the money, I was disappointed with the level of service and luxury at the Inn. Some examples...
- we came down for a late cheese/charcuterie plate, which was served with no explanation of the different meats, and with one rather bland/basic cheese
- when we did ask, the other server wasn't very well-versed in the details...exact words - "oh, the other server went home, I'm not sure"
- when we asked for recommendations for dinner on night 2, the lady at the front desk could not suggest Stone Road Grille or the inn's restaurant. For $300+ a night, I'd expect far better guidance than this.
- we sat outside to watch the sunset on Saturday, and the table beside us sat for the entire hour, full of empty glasses and beer bottles
- when I came down n the morning to sit and have a coffee outside in one of the muskoka chairs, there was an empty beer bottle sitting there
- no breakfast included, not even continental
- no replacement bar of soap for second day, though it was needed

May sound nit-picky, and I'm not saying our experience was bad. It just wasn't as good as I would have expected having paid $800 with taxes and a small meal for 2 nts. I feel like the staff was not overly interested in providing great service, but more content to provide good service. It just didn't feel like a luxury inn. I would spend the same or less and stay at the shaw club next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rico44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you want a first-class experience, make a reservation at the Riverbend Inn located 90 minutes from Toronto. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated; the food and wine excellent; the staff friendly, helpful and proud to work there. Can't wait to make a return visit. Jim Streeter

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the inn very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is just an absolutely perfect spot to have a great lunch or dinner on the patio...I normally dine here for lunch and ride my bike there often to just sit alone and enjoy a great meal, great wine and beautiful view....they have a set of great chairs on the lawn that overlook the vineyard...so perfect one of my favourite spots in the Niagara Region ... I cant wait to go back again very very soon

Room Tip: I have yet to spend the night as I live only 20 minutes away but the Inn as well as the Restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetorunallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georegtwn ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Booked the weekend 1 night get away package(1 night stay queen room, $50 coupon to be used at the restaurant and a complimentary breakfast in the morning = $390 )

Check in was smooth and friendly

Room was well kept and clean

Bed was horrible...mattress springs were worn out on right side so essentially I felt like I was falling off the bed all night

Dinner - Wow ( and not a good wow)

Service - male waiter was pleasant but was utterly confused and disorganized. Both at Dinner and breakfast he seemed to be only waiter working and was over whelmed with running the dinining room ( only had 15-20 people to serve, not a overwhelming amount by any standard)
Had to ask for water,wine list. Never given bread basket or steak knife.

Dinner - with a average plate price for entree at $35-40 one would expect a decent meal but both the tenderloin and stuffed chcicken lacked flavor and effort. Both were served with mashed potatoes and a green ( 3 asparagus spears w/beef 1 oversteemed bok choy with chicken) Meal was just OK

Wine - Disaster. Being wine country and on a Vineyard one would expect that there would be a ok or even good wine selection of local and international wines. Wifey and I are not fond of Ontario wines so we were pleased to see a small but ok list of 6 different International reds. Nothing fancy but adequate. When we ordered the waiter informed us that they dont really carry any of these wines but he will check to see what they have. After coming back witha dusty bottle of Borolo I said that would be good but at what price he went to check that out and came back with a diffrent bottle of Chilean Merlot ( Borolo was not for sale?) We were ok with the price $40 unfortunantly it was awful. The second bottle we decided to go for was a Ontario wine $34 as our options were limited, again awful. (checked the lcbo app it retailed for $7.95..nice mark up!!!)

breakfast - Patio had not be cleaned from previous night, food and straws still on ground. Service again was slow and disorganized. Was told by waiter (same as night before) that they were only serving Engligh breakfast and nothing else,fine with us. OJ and Coffee were ok but slow to receive. When the food came we noticed our plates did not look similar to other guests,no fruit no toast. Waiter said tosat will be right out..10 minutes later after we had finshed our partial breakfast he came over with 4 peices of cold un buttered toast!!

Great grounds and beautiful view, Inn was nice but the restaurant was so badly managed that I would strongly recommend another hotel.

Room Tip: ground floor was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We take all reviews very seriously and hope to hear back from the reviewer. An email has been sent requesting details regarding stay, waiting for a reply email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,666 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,480 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
468 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,980 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Inn and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Inn and Vineyard

Property: Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
Address: 16104 Niagara River Pky, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#11 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverbend Inn and Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbend Inn ; located outside one of the prettiest towns in Canada, along one of the most scenic roads anywhere in the world, stands a Georgian mansion surrounded by 17 acres of vineyards, manicured lawns and gardens, and only minutes from the old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Recently restored, all will enjoy the countryside from our bar and restaurant, vineyard patio or settle into one of our individually appointed rooms reflecting our commitment to the finer things in life. Drop by and enjoy a glass of our own Riverbend wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverbend Inn and Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Inn And Vineyard Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing