We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place and wonderful host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Charming place and wonderful host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a night and it was splendid. Wonderful house and Isabelle was a gracious host who not only cooked us a delicious breakfast but also drove us to our wedding. I definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    22
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
96
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Parliament Cottage provides a peaceful & comfortable base for exploring the Niagara region. Begin each day with a wonderful breakfast then explore Niagara-on-the-Lake on foot from this convenient yet quiet location just a few blocks from the main street shops, restaurants & theaters. The rooms are charming, clean & comfortable. It was hard to find a B&B with a room with more than 1 bed. Our room had 2 double beds & a single which is great for a girls trip. I highly recommend Parliament Cottage.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElSmCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Parliament Cottage is the perfect location for exploring the Niagara region wineries and taking in plays of the Shaw season. A quick walk down Gate street brings you to the main area of Niagara-on-the-Lake. The quiet setting and comfortable furnishings of the cottage assure a restful stay. We were doing a girls' trip and found the perfect three-bed room. The proprietress was a wonderful cook and concierge, as well. Try to book early!

Room Tip: The photos and descriptions are accurate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, MD
Level Contributor
188 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We returned this year for our third stay at Parliament Cottage. We parked the car there on arrival, then for two days we walked to the Shaw Festival theatres, restaurants, and shops. The cottage is on a quiet street, away from the bustle of the main street with its tourist buses and crowded sidewalks. We enjoy strolling to see the many historic houses in Niagara-on-the-Lake. And Isabelle's homemade breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatonsvilleGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howe Island ON Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I just enjoyed one night and highly recommend for both comfort and food. Isabell was charming and helpful providing suggestions for less touristy spots to eat. We enjoyed a bottle of wine at the back patio with a pond beside a charming historic shed. It is a short walk to the main shreet.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with slanted ceiling. Lovely furnishings, comfortable bed, clean and well appointed en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This past weekend was our one year anniversary of when we started dating. We started dating this date last year and also stayed at the Parliament B&B. We were so impressed by the cottage and Isabelle that we did not hesitate to rebook this year - we just had to stay there again. Isabelle is a wonderful cook. The breakfasts are simply scrumptious!! The rooms are very clean and decorated beautifully. Isabelle is a wealth of knowledge of the local area and can make great recommendations for sight-seeing and dining. The B&B is located a short walk from downtown. I highly recommend Parliament Cottage. It is now the only place we will stay when in NOTL!

Room Tip: Just give Isabelle a call. She'll help you in every way you need. She is a most gracious and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have now stayed at Parliament Cottage B&B for 2 years running, and will return many times. Pleasant, clean rooms, absolutely delightful and well informed hostess, incredible breakfasts, quiet location within pleasant walking distance of all the main sites in town. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardG9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#114 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Via Veneto
Via Veneto
#40 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#37 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#38 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Brea...
#68 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840

Property: Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840
Address: 418 Gate Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a house with history. Enjoy the charm of yesteryear and the comforts of today. A blend of 19th-century Canadian antiques and modern amenities are throughout the house. The "cottage style" casual elegance of home and garden beckons you to rest, relax, and rejuvenate. Featured on the site "Best Bed and Breakfasts in Ontario" as good value for Niagara on the Lake. Located in Old Town...four short blocks to main street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing