We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class accommodations at a reasonable cost”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class accommodations at a reasonable cost”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I just returned from my fifth visit to NOTL and this charming B&B. Just a short walk from downtown Niagra-on-the-Lake and the Shaw Festival theaters, Parliament Cottage is a great place to stay. It offers all of the amenities and at a very reasonable price. The rooms (and my friends and I have stayed in them all) are clean and comfortable. Isabelle is a wonderful host, knowledgeable and helpful with lots of suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Her gourmet breakfasts are to die for. NOTL is also a great town to visit. In addition to the theaters, there are great wineries, potteries, scenic trails and parks, music and places to eat. I look forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: First floor room is very accessible for those with mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenV2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    22
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
96
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Parliament Cottage is for sure one of the best B & B's in the Niagara region. It is ideally situated in Niagara-on-the-Lake. It's just a short walk to the business area of the town, the many restaurants, the Shaw Festival theatres, etc. The owner, Isabelle, is there to greet you and to make you feel right at home. Isabelle's breakfasts are superb. She makes a different breakfast each morning using fresh local, seasonal produce. Also, she is always available if you need any information about the area. Her B & B is really clean and comfortable. Everything you might need is at your finger tips. There is also a beautiful outdoor garden with a patio and sitting areas for you to enjoy. I would certainly give Parliament Cottage a thumbs up for a place to stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elaine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a lovely, quaint and extremely clean B&B. My friends and I had a two night stay and were charmed by Isabelle and her B&B/home. The grounds are private and peaceful, great spot to drink some NOTL wine. Isabelle is extremely knowledgable, helpful and ready with lots of suggestions and anecdotes to make your time in the area interesting and fun. The rooms, beds and linens are really superiorly comfortable! Then to top it off guests are served an amazing three course breakfast of truly fresh and locally accessed foods and excellent coffee(which really matters to me).
Parliament Cottage is well situated in the Village. It is an easy walk to the cafes, shops and theatres on peaceful streets with historic properties.
All four of our group would return to stay and with out a doubt recommend to family and friends.
Thank you Isabelle!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just returned from my second stay at this B&B. It is a great place to stay for a relaxing few days . It is situated within walking distance of the town centre, theatres, fine dining restaurants and of course, shopping. Isabelle is a wonderful, entertaining hostess and is eager to please her guests.The house is spotless. Our room was nicely decorated with all the comforts one would wish for in a B&B. The gourmet breakfast was beautifully presented and very delicious. I anticipate returning to Parliament Cottage next year and would highly recommend these accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Parliament Cottage. Isabelle is a great host and the breakfast was gourmet. Great location for the Shaw Festival. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Niagra-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My mother and I stayed here during an all-too brief first visit to Niagara and had a wonderful time. If you are on the fence: go for it.

First off, Isabelle is an incredibly welcoming and gracious hostess. Her luminous personality is reflected in her bright, comfortable, and lovely house, which comes with it's own compelling history. Next, the layout of the house is ideal - the sitting and dining room on the main floor are a great spot to wind down and plan a visit in the area. Finally, our stay was capped off by a delicious gourmet breakfast replete with Niagara food (she even worked wine into breakfast!) . If we were local, we'd be tempted stay at Parliament cottage just for the breakfast alone.

Definitely recommended, and I hope that I'll have another opportunity to enjoy another stay soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrimcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a night and it was splendid. Wonderful house and Isabelle was a gracious host who not only cooked us a delicious breakfast but also drove us to our wedding. I definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Wishing Well Historic Cottage
Wishing Well Historic Cottage
#13 of 18 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kellar House Guest House
Kellar House Guest House
#56 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Via Veneto
Via Veneto
#39 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Andrews House Bed & Breakfast
St. Andrews House Bed & Breakfas...
#87 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840

Property: Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840
Address: 418 Gate Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a house with history. Enjoy the charm of yesteryear and the comforts of today. A blend of 19th-century Canadian antiques and modern amenities are throughout the house. The "cottage style" casual elegance of home and garden beckons you to rest, relax, and rejuvenate. Featured on the site "Best Bed and Breakfasts in Ontario" as good value for Niagara on the Lake. Located in Old Town...four short blocks to main street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing