We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got Lucky at the last minute!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840
Reviewed 25 July 2013

On a whim... we decided to take off for a getaway to Niagara-on-the-lake and lucked out by getting a room at Parliament Cottage. Super Cute.. Clean and amazing place plus friendly Isabelle serving a wonderful (and I mean ful) breakfast with fresh local fruit parfait, goat cheese fritata, toast, scones, jelly, sausage & even a chocolate truffle dessert! We were with friends who had never stayed at a B & B before.. so for their first time, they got spoiled and are now converts. I got up later in the morning - and found them sipping fresh coffee out on the patio after touring the pretty garden. We will gladly stay there again and not just because of the free wine tasting gift certificates... but that was a real treat too. We must have gone to 20 wineries in two days!

My Tip for last min. bookings like me
We call on the best places on line, knowing they are likely booked- but then, they will recommend another great place that may have a vacancy! That's how we have done it many times. All the owners know each other and will make the best recommendations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lootlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

It comes with no surprise to us following our pre-booking research readings of the extensive and highly commendable Trip Advisor reviews of The Parliament Cottage B&B that my husband and I’s experiences during our recent stay there met with all the previously reported and numerous ‘plus points’
We were left in no doubt that Parliament Cottage is definitely in the ‘Five Star’ rated B&B category, situated in the most beautiful and pristine town of Niagara-On-The-Lake .
The beautiful cottage and well-manicured gardens are expertly managed and operated by its owner, Isabelle who simply could not do enough for us to make or stay a most pleasant and enjoyable one
We concur with previous reviews that the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation is second to none and, in our opinion, the breakfasts prepared and presented to us by Isabelle was simply ‘fantastique’ and in worthy of a ‘Michelin Star’ rating
For all prospective travellers to ‘NOTL’ we would advise that any opportunity to stay at Parliament Cottage should not be missed

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RALPH822129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you are looking for a welcoming bed and breakfast experience in Niagara-on-the-Lake at a more than reasonable price, you cannot do better than a stay at Parliament Cottage. Isabelle Parliament offers a charming, homelike environment with delicious gourmet breakfasts and a wealth of information about things to do and see. Isabelle's stories about Niagara-on-the-Lake and it's fascinating history are a delight.
Well located just a short, pleasurable walk to downtown and the theaters, the neighborhood is quiet and restful. My friends and I find the rooms clean and extremely comfortable, and the beautifully decorated sitting room and private garden make you feel right at home.
Thank you, Isabelle, for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: For people who have trouble with stairs, Parliament Cottage has a charming and comfortable room with...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandora77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I just returned from my fifth visit to NOTL and this charming B&B. Just a short walk from downtown Niagra-on-the-Lake and the Shaw Festival theaters, Parliament Cottage is a great place to stay. It offers all of the amenities and at a very reasonable price. The rooms (and my friends and I have stayed in them all) are clean and comfortable. Isabelle is a wonderful host, knowledgeable and helpful with lots of suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Her gourmet breakfasts are to die for. NOTL is also a great town to visit. In addition to the theaters, there are great wineries, potteries, scenic trails and parks, music and places to eat. I look forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: First floor room is very accessible for those with mobility problems
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenV2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Parliament Cottage is for sure one of the best B & B's in the Niagara region. It is ideally situated in Niagara-on-the-Lake. It's just a short walk to the business area of the town, the many restaurants, the Shaw Festival theatres, etc. The owner, Isabelle, is there to greet you and to make you feel right at home. Isabelle's breakfasts are superb. She makes a different breakfast each morning using fresh local, seasonal produce. Also, she is always available if you need any information about the area. Her B & B is really clean and comfortable. Everything you might need is at your finger tips. There is also a beautiful outdoor garden with a patio and sitting areas for you to enjoy. I would certainly give Parliament Cottage a thumbs up for a place to stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Elaine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a lovely, quaint and extremely clean B&B. My friends and I had a two night stay and were charmed by Isabelle and her B&B/home. The grounds are private and peaceful, great spot to drink some NOTL wine. Isabelle is extremely knowledgable, helpful and ready with lots of suggestions and anecdotes to make your time in the area interesting and fun. The rooms, beds and linens are really superiorly comfortable! Then to top it off guests are served an amazing three course breakfast of truly fresh and locally accessed foods and excellent coffee(which really matters to me).
Parliament Cottage is well situated in the Village. It is an easy walk to the cafes, shops and theatres on peaceful streets with historic properties.
All four of our group would return to stay and with out a doubt recommend to family and friends.
Thank you Isabelle!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just returned from my second stay at this B&B. It is a great place to stay for a relaxing few days . It is situated within walking distance of the town centre, theatres, fine dining restaurants and of course, shopping. Isabelle is a wonderful, entertaining hostess and is eager to please her guests.The house is spotless. Our room was nicely decorated with all the comforts one would wish for in a B&B. The gourmet breakfast was beautifully presented and very delicious. I anticipate returning to Parliament Cottage next year and would highly recommend these accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
4.5 mi away
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kellar House Accommodations
Kellar House Accommodations
#70 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annette Twining House
Annette Twining House
#88 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Somerset Bed & Breakfast
Somerset Bed & Breakfast
#96 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wellington House B&B
Wellington House B&B
#81 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#82 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Cottage B&B circa 1840

Address: 418 Gate Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £69 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a house with history. Enjoy the charm of yesteryear and the comforts of today. A blend of 19th-century Canadian antiques and modern amenities are throughout the house. The "cottage style" casual elegance of home and garden beckons you to rest, relax, and rejuvenate. Featured on the site "Best Bed and Breakfasts in Ontario" as good value for Niagara on the Lake. Located in Old Town...four short blocks to main street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing