We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos are very misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed there about a month ago and while the location was great, the accomodations were second rate. From cobwebs lining the windowsills to no soap in the bathroom and a plug-in heater running constantly on the pipes in the bathroom to prevent a freeze-up, the house was in need of some much TLC. Additionally, the breakfast was very poor. We had the pleaure of a relative running the show, instead of the owners, and breakfast consisted on a piece of bacon, simple omelette and a small yogurt dish. The coffee was great but it kept running out and was only refilled once for us, which took about 10 minutes. I would never go here again, and would NOT recommend this place. I've been to many b&bs in this area. This was the worst thus far.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLKERobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manican, Owner at Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We truly hope to provide an enjoyable experience for each and every guest and it is apparent this accommodation did not rise to your expectations.

The house is a circa 1820 clapboard structure and does need regular maintenance. This past winter was brutally cold so a plug in heater was added to insure there was no inconvenience to the guest in the way of frozen pipes.

Pure essence of lavender soap and shampoo are provided complimentary in each guest room. It is a premium product that is sourced and produced locally.

Cleaning, vacuuming, and removing cobwebs are daily events here. But occasionally we do encounter an over achieving arachnid that evades immediate eviction.

Our food standards are high and we use top quality, fresh, wholesome ingredients and prepare it by hand daily. There are many comments in our guest book about the delicious breakfasts. Our coffee is brewed with fresh ground premium beans and yes it does take about 10 minutes to brew the perfect pot of java.

Although we do personally provide guest services here about 350 days a year Gail's sister provides outstanding customer care in our absence. In fact her expertise is "in demand" by other exceptionally rated B&Bs in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Thank you for considering our property. We sincerely strive to provide a positively memorable guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Gail and Dave are wonderful hosts to a lovely B&B in a great location. We walked everywhere (and it was chilly!) They gave us great tips on where to eat, shop and drink! We took a wine tour with Grape Escape on one of our days- they picked us up at the Apple Tree, and our driver couldn't say enough good things about Gail and Dave. Nice room, great breakfast, outstanding hosts. Just a fabulous time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmdressel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manican, Owner at Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank You for your kind words. We work diligently at improving the customer experience and it is gratifying to know the efforts are appreciated.

When you go to a new town how do you know where to eat or what are the best shops? As residents we sample everything and pass on that info so guests can benefit from that experience.

We strive to provide a friendly, open hearted experience for all those ready to accept it.

We appreciate your positive review and hope you come back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The owners are very friendly, accommodating, and had some really good suggestions of places to go and things to see in the area. The house is located just a few short minuets away from the main street. We stayed in the Golden Delicious room, the largest of the 3 rooms. It has its own ensuite bath with Jacuzzi tub. It also had an electric fire place and a docking station to play your own music if you want. The toiletries smelled of lavender and added to the relaxing feel of our stay. There was a fire burning in the living room on the main floor, great place to cozy up and chat or read. We had a really nice night’s stay and a lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: The Golden Delicious room is the biggest and best room of the 3.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manican, Owner at Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We are fortunate to have such nice things said about ourselves and the Apple Tree B&B Guest experience. Especially from someone who has written comments about so many places. Obviously you are well traveled and have experienced so many places. We are grateful that you would share your kind and positive opinions with other potential travelers. Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our stay at this quaint B & B. Although we do not frequent this type of accommodation, we decided to book a reservation while in the area for the ice wine festival. Our hosts Gail and Dave were incredible! We were greeted like family upon arrival, and upgraded to the front room as it was available (what an unexpected and generous gesture). Their beautiful home is full of antiques and we felt as though we had stepped back in time. Gail was very informative and provided helpful recommendations for us (we are not familiar with this area). Our favourite part of our stay was sharing coffee with our gracious hosts after enjoying a tasty breakfast. Thank you for a lovely weekend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank calOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manican, Owner at Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

You may have heard people say it is a lot of work running a B&B. Well when you have great people like this stay with us it is more like being on vacation. Thank you for sharing your positive views with the on-line community. We hope you'll be back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The owners are very pleasant and accommodating but we found our room to be very small. Bed was comfortable. Room temperature not adjustable and no TV. Excellent location and good breakfast.

Not a bad choice but there are better accommodations available.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank golfer328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the B&B in July 2013 for our Honeymoon. The hosts were great, helpful with our bags, helpful with where to eat/ visit etc. The room was very pretty and well appointed. The bathroom was very luxurious with the spa bath.It was clean and there were free hot drinks downstairs which was very nice. Breakfast was wonderful- Gail's Inventions were great and so tasty, they set us up for the day and the quality was clear- from the food to the cutlery. The history of the house was interesting and it was very querky and interesting.

Niagara on the Lake itself was beautiful, we felt very safe walking about at night and the views were fabulous looking over to Toronto. It was relaxing and the locals were friendly. The houses were so quaint and it was the type of place you would want to live!! There were lovely restaurants and shops and it was very clean. We really would suggest that if anyone wanted to visit Niagara Falls to stay at Niagara on the Lake, as you are aware from the hustle and bustle but only 20 mins from the falls.

Room Tip: The double room was fab!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezbarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Ideal location right in the middle of the historic district, easy walking distance to first-class shops, restaurants, and other attractions. Lot's of charm, very clean and well appointed: perfect really! Despite being 'difficult guests' (arriving late, food allergies, etc.), our hosts Dave and Gail graciously meet our every need - even mailing a misplaced iPod back to our home address. Great service, delicious breakfast, and awesome location - it's clear Dave and Gail are passionate about what they do. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#85 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#35 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#48 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Bre...
#38 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 263 Regent St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £119 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location. In the heart of Old Towne Niagara-on-the-Lake this charming home is a two minute walk to theatre, restaurants, & shopping. Free parking in our driveway. 3 guest rooms, all with private en-suite bathrooms. Beautiful linens cover cozy feather beds. Period antiques grace natural wood floors. A delicious breakfast including fresh fruit, baked goods and a hot entre is cheerfully served at a specially prepared table. A warm welcome and friendly ambiance await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing