We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
franklin ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Such a lovely atmosphere Gail and Dave have created in their beautiful Victorian three bedroom B and B! Located two short blocks from Queen St. makes this location easily accessible for a quick trip back to your room after a morning exploring the area for a forgotten item, a nap, or an afternoon read in their serene back yard. A wonderful visit with a host and hostess who feel more like friends than owners of the establishment. Perfect!

Room Tip: The McIntosh room is the smallest of the rooms. It has a king bed that easily converts into two twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    30
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
112
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We jut returned yesterday from out stay in NOTL and we had a great time. Gail and Dave were WONDERFUL! The location of the house is perfect, close enough to the center of shopping but just far enough away so that it's quiet at night. The house is a little worn, but its from 1820 so that is expected. I am sure the maintenance on it is unbelievable! The room was a little smaller than the impression I got from the website but it suited out needs well. The bed was hard but I sleep well on a hard bed with soft comfy pillows (which they were). My husbband and i slept like the dead, There were small laps on either side of the bed so I stayed up a little bit later than my husband reading and the light didn't disturb him. I enjoyed the fact there was no TV, my husband (who is currently a little world cup obsessed) not so much. I think it added to the charm. The bathtub in the Golden Delicious room was awesome, very deep with Jacuzzi jets. The shampoo and soap was great, it smelled so good. We actually visited where it was purchased from the next day, and I will be going back to get some at home. I was especially pleased to find out it was locally made instead of generic, mass produced stuff that most hotels have. My husband loved the breakfast, I am a little fussy so while I loved the berried with whipped cream and bagel, the quizza (quiche and pizza) was not my favorite. I gave it a good try and just didn't like it. They asked if I had any dietary restrictions and I don't, I'm just really picky. The rest of the breakfast was amazing. Gail and Dave even let us keep out car there after checkout so we had a place to park while we went on a wine tour! The only bad thing I can think of was the towels, they were really really rough and scratchy! but other than that, everything was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We just returned from a wonderful time at the Apple Tree B&B. The charm of the surroundings is matched by the warmth of the hosts Dave and Gail. The breakfast as always is innovative and delicious. Both Dave and Gail, if asked, are happy to share their wealth of information about the area; that we find makes the stay that much more enjoyable, and provides insight into the best values, food, and wine tasting in the area.

We have stayed in many hotels and B&Bs over the years; the Apple Tree is always like coming home and we would not have it any other way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was my first experience to a B&B so I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The house is full of charm & character & is in a great location. It is decorated very much in the period in which it was built (1820) so it was like going back in time but with some modern day conveniences. We had a room with 2 two twin beds and an adjoining 3 piece bathroom that included a stand up shower. Breakfast was tea or coffee & fresh orange juice, pineapple with a scone and the hot breakfast consisted of a baked English muffin, with prosciutto & with an egg & goat cheese on top. It was different and lovely. We dined for breakfast with 2 other couples staying at the Inn who provided nice conversation & company. The only thing I would change is the pillow on the bed which I found not to be very fluffy and perhaps some extra towels in the bathroom. We were two women & an extra towel for each would have been nice. But Gail could not be more welcoming to us & we felt like family by the time we left.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We visited in November and were very excited after seeing all the positive reviews but were thoroughly disappointed when we got there. The rooms were small.. the entire house including the room, the bathroom as well as the common area was freezing cold at all times! We were given a room heater to keep the room warm and took that to the bathroom as needed. How can one enjoy the common area if it is freezing? Also, the common area was very gaudily decorated with large red shiny eagles or owls or parrots not quite sure right now. The breakfast was a frittata that looked and tasted like eggs covered with cheese microwaved. The eggs lay there covered in a pool of hot melted cheese and oil. When I go to a B&B, I really look forward to a great breakfast and was disappointed. In the winter, I was expecting a warm and cozy experience and this place failed to provide that. This was a bad B&B experience for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manican, Owner at Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We regret that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Every guest stay is important to us and clearly we did not meet your expectations.

The house temperature is centrally controlled and we do respond to requests for warmer or cooler adjustments. We often light real wood burning fires for guests sitting in the common space and always have a fire roaring each morning before breakfast in the colder months.

Regarding the breakfast: there are no egg dishes that are cooked in the microwave. Never. Not ever once in eleven years. In fact we even prepared Creme Brule French Toast on the BBQ once when the power went out right at breakfast time.

But hey there are plenty of B&Bs here in Niagara-on-the-Lake. You can try another place next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed there about a month ago and while the location was great, the accomodations were second rate. From cobwebs lining the windowsills to no soap in the bathroom and a plug-in heater running constantly on the pipes in the bathroom to prevent a freeze-up, the house was in need of some much TLC. Additionally, the breakfast was very poor. We had the pleaure of a relative running the show, instead of the owners, and breakfast consisted on a piece of bacon, simple omelette and a small yogurt dish. The coffee was great but it kept running out and was only refilled once for us, which took about 10 minutes. I would never go here again, and would NOT recommend this place. I've been to many b&bs in this area. This was the worst thus far.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLKERobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manican, Owner at Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We truly hope to provide an enjoyable experience for each and every guest and it is apparent this accommodation did not rise to your expectations.

The house is a circa 1820 clapboard structure and does need regular maintenance. This past winter was brutally cold so a plug in heater was added to insure there was no inconvenience to the guest in the way of frozen pipes.

Pure essence of lavender soap and shampoo are provided complimentary in each guest room. It is a premium product that is sourced and produced locally.

Cleaning, vacuuming, and removing cobwebs are daily events here. But occasionally we do encounter an over achieving arachnid that evades immediate eviction.

Our food standards are high and we use top quality, fresh, wholesome ingredients and prepare it by hand daily. There are many comments in our guest book about the delicious breakfasts. Our coffee is brewed with fresh ground premium beans and yes it does take about 10 minutes to brew the perfect pot of java.

Although we do personally provide guest services here about 350 days a year Gail's sister provides outstanding customer care in our absence. In fact her expertise is "in demand" by other exceptionally rated B&Bs in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Thank you for considering our property. We sincerely strive to provide a positively memorable guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Gail and Dave are wonderful hosts to a lovely B&B in a great location. We walked everywhere (and it was chilly!) They gave us great tips on where to eat, shop and drink! We took a wine tour with Grape Escape on one of our days- they picked us up at the Apple Tree, and our driver couldn't say enough good things about Gail and Dave. Nice room, great breakfast, outstanding hosts. Just a fabulous time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmdressel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manican, Owner at Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank You for your kind words. We work diligently at improving the customer experience and it is gratifying to know the efforts are appreciated.

When you go to a new town how do you know where to eat or what are the best shops? As residents we sample everything and pass on that info so guests can benefit from that experience.

We strive to provide a friendly, open hearted experience for all those ready to accept it.

We appreciate your positive review and hope you come back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#60 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#76 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#78 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#32 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast

Property: Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Address: 263 Regent St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location. In the heart of Old Towne Niagara-on-the-Lake this charming home is a two minute walk to theatre, restaurants, & shopping. Free parking in our driveway. 3 guest rooms, all with private en-suite bathrooms. Beautiful linens cover cozy feather beds. Period antiques grace natural wood floors. A delicious breakfast including fresh fruit, baked goods and a hot entre is cheerfully served at a specially prepared table. A warm welcome and friendly ambiance await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing