We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Beautiful home, lovingly restored and furnished with genuine pieces. Our room was very comfortable and had a wonderful ambiance. Eva is warm and welcoming and our breakfast was delicious. Late evening we sat around the entry room fireplace and enjoyed a relaxing chat with our friends. It's like a step back in time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    11
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

we recently spent 2 days in NOTL just after Christmas and stayed overnight at the Grand Victorian along with our daughter and her fiance. We loved every minute of our stay and found the building to be wonderfully authentic. the furnishings are all period pieces and give that aura of both opulence and comfort at the same time. There are lots of places to sit and relax through out the home and while we were there, the fireplaces all had glowing fires. the bedrooms are large and well appointed with comfortable beds, wood burning fireplaces and cozy sitting areas. Some of the bathrooms could benefit from some updating and improved lighting but since we were only there for one night it wasn't a major inconvenience. Breakfast was wonderful - a huge sideboard full of hot and cold selections to suit anyone's tastes. We sat in a beautiful glass enclosed conservatory that looks toward the Niagara River - a beautiful room. We particularly enjoyed chatting with Eva, the owner, and Klaus Reif, who both live on the upper floor of the home. they are so welcoming and friendly and very knowledgeable about the area, the wine industry and things to do. On our first day we thoroughly enjoyed a wine tasting at the adjacent Reif Estate winery with the very entertaining sommelier, Archie Hood. Afterwards we purchased some wines, cheese and charcuterie to enjoy in the evening at the Grand Victorian while we sat by a roaring fire enjoying a good book and playing board games. it was a wonderfully relaxing visit in a beautiful manor house. exactly what we were hoping for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

From the moment we pulled into the driveway of this enchanting property we fell in love with it! The grand wrap-around porch, the amazing fireplaces, the tasteful antiques, the charming cat and dog that roam through the house, the cozy feather bed in the Rose Room, and of course the lovely Eva - everything about this place made it an idyllic setting for a weekend away from the big city. My favourite part of the Grand Victorian was how comfortable and cozy it was - you can feel the history and the happy memories that have been made here.

Eva was very helpful at pointing us in the right direction for the quintessential NOTL experience, and the conveniently located Reif Winery was only footsteps away from the front porch. You really could spend the entire weekend on the Grand Victorian property and it would be a pleasant experience.

Eva has a great collection of records, and classic games to play, and the bountiful breakfast she surprised us with is a reason to return. Set in the observatory, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river, the breakfast set the tone for our day.

We will definitely return to the Grand Victorian, there is no doubt about it!

Thank you to Eva for the greatest experience!

- Jenna

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Nostalgic, Victorian house. Beautifully decorated. Eva is a wonderful hostess. Rooms were lovely. Newly renovated bathrooms were really nice and came with nice amenities. Old houses are money pits so you have to overlook a few things. Eva is working her way through a long "to do" list but has accomplished so much. The Grand Victorian is a true gem. Breakfast was nice but not what we expected. We were looking for a substantial hot breakfast. Dining area was beautiful and we met some nice people at breakfast. The weather cooperated so we were able to enjoy the front wrap around porch both upon arrival and after breakfast the next day. The house is affiliated with Reif Winery which is right next door. A complimentary tour and wine tasting are included in your booking but you must make your reservation directly with the winery. Tours at the time we were there were 11 am and 1 pm. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely in their own way. I would book an upstairs king or queen bedded room. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemyrtle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent 3 days at the Grand Victorian and loved our stay. The large old house was full of character and felt very inviting. We stayed in the West Room and our friends stayed in the North Suite. We both liked our rooms and were very comfortable there. Breakfast was excellent every morning with a nice variety of items and a different main dish each day. The hostess (Eva) provided an excellent history of building. We enjoyed several bottles of wine and cheese plates at the Reif Estates winery right next door (steps away, so no driving is necessary). We borrowed some bikes from the B&B and rode on the trails along the river one day. If you like B&B's you should be very happy choosing this as a destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We went to Grant Victorian for a wedding and also checked out all the rooms there. It is such a lovey place to stay and is very close to the river and bike path. The Inn itself is very nicely preserved with all the antique and classic furnitures. It will be my place of choice to stay over some other fancier venue in the area just for its charm! The food for the wedding was just one of the best I have tasted for any big function. The vegetable, fruit and salad are cooked to perfection and extremely tasty. The main course was well executed and the salmon was so delicious.

I would highly recommend this place for a weekend stay, big outdoor function and group meal. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silvia20003544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband & I have been visiting the Grand Victorian several times a year since 2011. We have always enjoyed our stay. The location is terrific, Eva is so very helpful and sweet, and our rooms have always been clean & comfortable. Her recommendations for dinner have been outstanding. Brunch is huge and the homemade dishes are wonderful. It's fun meeting and talking with other guests and you just feel so welcome here. We will continue to stay here when we travel to Niagara-on-the-Lake. It's great to step back in time and enjoy the home and the winery next door!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursejan0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
2.2 mi away
On the 6 Bed and Breakfast
On the 6 Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
99 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
397 reviews
2.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#10 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
350 reviews
2.2 mi away
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfast
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfas...
#59 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15618 Niagara River Pky | Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go back on whispering winds of time in this circa 1860's mansion. This very grand Victorian mansion is located on the scenic Niagara Parkway across from the Niagara River. It has a wrap-around veranda, tennis court and over an acre of gardens. This 6 room bed and breakfast's grandiose interiors boast 12-foot ceilings, stained glass windows, fireplaces and is furnished with 4-poster beds and antiques.Guests can enjoy a brunch-style breakfast buffet in the conservatory. Many lovely spaces for relaxing and having a glass of wine. Modern amenities include a guest pantry and Wi-Fi The Grand Victorian is next door to the Reif Estate Winery and offers complimentary tours and tastings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Victorian Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Grand Victorian b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing