We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay June 23-24”
Review of Simcoe Manor

Simcoe Manor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simcoe Manor
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had a great stay in the Mauve room recently, it is spacious with many windows. John is a perfect host with a wealth of local knowledge and recommendations. The breakfast is a great event noting one has to be prepared for a fixed time sitdown with other guests at a large table. We likened it to the meals in "Room with a view", it was great fun.

Many thanks.

Room Tip: We liked the Mauve Room, corner with 7 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

It's been about 15 years since my sisters and I were in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We stayed at the Simcoe Manor mid-week for two nights. What a wonderful experience! The property is beautiful and well maintained. It's in a great location, within walking distance of everything. Our host was gracious and witty, a world traveler with lots of interesting stories and a wealth of knowledge about restaurants, wineries and everything in between. A most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: My sisters and I shared the basement accommodations, which are really large with three separate beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Simcoe Manor! Spectacular breakfasts that accommodated dietary needs; charming rooms, and that great deck on which to relax in between shows at the Shaw Festival! John is a gracious host who knows all the plays, restaurants and wineries intimately, and happily dispenses assistance and information. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Pick any room - all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Another visit at Simcoe Manor was a wonderful start to a week's road trip ... this B&B ... really an Inn ... is about as good as it gets. Charm, comfort, excellent food and luxurious accommodations all with a gracious host. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Mauve Room is very good! Washer & Dryer in your suite ... rare. Breakfast was delicious and ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoostTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We returned to the Mauve Suite at Simcoe Manor in Niagara-on-the-Lake for Victoria Day weekend. By now, it feels like our home away from home. The room is spacious and has a living room area and windows on three sides. The weather was beautiful and we sat outside on the porch overlooking the extensive and well-kept garden.

We also took a carriage ride around the town which took us by our bed and breakfast. We were able to walk to all three Shaw Festival theatres from Simcoe Manor. The plays, in our opinion, were well worth seeing and the stage scenery was spectacular. We also walked to all of the unique shops on Queen Street.

John and Alison were gracious hosts who went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was comfortable. John is very knowledgeable about the plays at the theatres and the history and architecture of the town. He is always willing to suggest suitable restaurants to eat at and wineries to visit. For history buffs, John is a virtual War of 1812 encyclopedia.

We sincerely recommend this B&B for both first time and returning visitors to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camera56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A nice place to stay when visiting NOTL. Innkeeper is very helpful and will book wine tours and restaurants as needed.
Steps to shopping and restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our second trip to Simcoe Manor was even more wonderful than our first. Although we arrived a little behind schedule, John, the always gracious host. lined up several wonderful wine tasting experiences for us - including a private tasting at one of the areas oldest and most notable vineyards. With the cozy, in room fireplace and comfortable, spacious bed, the accomadations were the best we've ever experienced in a bed and breakfast type setting. The real treat of the trip was the fabulous breakfast, (German style apple pancakes with whipped cream). We are already planning another trip back - as we would to share this wonderful experience with other friends and members of our family

Room Tip: The Velvet room was very luxurious and large enough to accomadate a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim and patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,389 reviews
8.3 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,564 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simcoe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simcoe Manor

Address: 242 Simcoe St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £113 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious, friendly accommodation just 50 yds. off the main street in the "Old Town" of Niagara on the Lake with all its attractions. Spacious, elegantly decorated suites with the charm and grace typical of Old Niagara yet with all the modern conveniences (A/C, Jacuzzis, fireplaces etc.).Gourmet breakfasts amidst rich mahogany and crystal. Relax on the verandah or poolside or enjoy the view of our gardens, stately pines and creek. A short walk to theatres, shopping, restaurants, golf and the rivermouth. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing