We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Enjoyable Weekend !!!!!!!”
Review of Simcoe Manor

Simcoe Manor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simcoe Manor
St.Catharines
1 review
“What an Enjoyable Weekend !!!!!!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2008

My wife and I received a gift certificate for the Simcoe Manor for our wedding. Due to many reasons, we were unable to use the gift certificate for almost two years. When I contacted the owner John Gartner, he was very accomodating. We arrived the weekend of a major snowstorm and were virtually snowed in. John was an excellent host and provided an excellent breakfast for us. The manor itself is top notch. The residence was extremely clean and comfortable. There are fireplaces in each guest room. John provided us with a tour of the entire residence and I would recommend the Simcoe Manor to anyone. If you are looking for a relaxing time in Niagara on the Lake consider the Simcoe Manor as your home away from home. My wife and I only live a few miles from Niagara on the Lake and we have personal knowledege of the hotels in the area. Considering all options, I would stay at the Simcoe Manor over any of the Hotels in the area. Thanks again John. Terry and Linda.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    8
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2007

This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast and it exceeded our expectations! Upon our arrival, we were immediately greeted and made to feel at home. John the proprietor, was very helpful to us, his many reccommendations of where to dine and where to go made our trip such a wonderful experience. We were able to enjoy the whole property...sitting by the pool one afternoon, then we also sat on the expansive porch and enjoyed conversations and NIagra wine with John and a few of his friends. Our three room suite was spacious and kept very clean. The house felt very comfortable, and it was relaxing to stay there.
Although our trip was short, we were able to meet some wonderful people, and truly ejoyed our first experience at staying in a Bed and breakfast. We look forward to a return trip to Simcoe Manor.
Thank you John.
Terry and Gina Lemon
Pennsylvania

  • Liked — the friendliness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Simcoe Manor is a lovely Bed & Breakfast located within walking distance of the historic district of Niagara on the Lake which includes all the theaters that are part of the annual Shaw Festival. What makes Soimcoe Manor special is the host, John Gartner. He talks to the guests to learn their interests and then helps direct them to local events, plays, concerts, shopping, winery tours, etc. that he feels will be of interest. The pro-active approach results in a great time, particularly for new visitors to the area. It was a perfect location for our 38th wedding anniversary.

  • Liked — Walking distance to shopping, theatrers, and restaurants
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bllschwrtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2007

My wife and I just returned from a three day stay at Simcoe Manor in Niagara on the Lake. We had a delightful time. We stayed in the beautiful Mauve Room. This provided lots of space and a seating area with a tv and fireplace. There was a large bathroom with a separate shower and an air jet bath tub. Our host , John Gartner, was very helpful with suggestions about restaurants, plays at the George Bernard Shaw Festival and wineries.

Simcoe Manor is very convenient to the town. Everything is within an easy walk, including the 3 venues that host the Shaw Festival Plays.

A highlight of our stay was a wine tasting at nearby Peller Estate Winery. Everyone from the Estate Manager, Executive Chief to the wine taster stopped to say hello to John during our visit. Make sure you try their Ice Wine. It is delicious.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We arrived at Simcoe Manor 1 week after John had buried his wife Vera.

We were obviously very sympathetic but felt that we should have been told about this as it did affect our stay.

Breakfast was taken at the Golf Club nearby and John was understandably quite vague at times. A slightly odd thing was that he used the funeral flowers to 'brighten up the house'!

I think it would have been better if he had given us the option of cancelling.

I'm sure when Vera was alive this was a lovely place to stay but at the moment I could not recommend it as the cost is not justified by the current service.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The fact that we were not told that the B&B would not be running at full service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MKKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Simcoe Manor. John was a gracious host and always willing to guide us in any way to make sure that we had the best Niagara-On -The-Lake experience. Our room was the Mauve Room and it was very plush. The bathroom tub was awesome with the jacuzzi! Very quiet B&B. Right off the main street and very close to the wineries. Do not do a tour of the wineries since you can do it all on your own. Wine route is very well marked! Highly recommend the Eclipse Salon on Mary St. for all those who are looking for a great massage at a VERY reasonable rate!!!! Thanks to all for making our anniversary weekend one to remember!

  • Liked — Beauty of the manor
  • Disliked — structured breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2007

What a find! Not only was the accommodation in pristine condition the hosts were delightful.
Nothing was too much trouble and we felt really welcome.
The location is perfect. The manor is an a quiet position but within easy reach of all Niagara on the Lake has to offer.
I would recommend this to anyone wishing to enjoy a quiet and relaxing stay at what must be one of Niagara on the Lake's best places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WizardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#61 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Historic Pacific
The Historic Pacific
#133 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Annette Twining House
Annette Twining House
#84 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Byron House
The Byron House
#4 of 19 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simcoe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simcoe Manor

Property: Simcoe Manor
Address: 242 Simcoe St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious, friendly accommodation just 50 yds. off the main street in the "Old Town" of Niagara on the Lake with all its attractions. Spacious, elegantly decorated suites with the charm and grace typical of Old Niagara yet with all the modern conveniences (A/C, Jacuzzis, fireplaces etc.).Gourmet breakfasts amidst rich mahogany and crystal. Relax on the verandah or poolside or enjoy the view of our gardens, stately pines and creek. A short walk to theatres, shopping, restaurants, golf and the rivermouth. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing