We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Best!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best of the Best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I've been visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake since 1986 and have stayed at many of the noted Inns and several times at the Prince of Wales and Queens Landing. As lovely and accommodating as they are, I have never had a more relaxing, comfortable, pleasant stay than I just had at Williams Gate. We had the upstairs suite, and it truly qualifies as a home-away-from-home! Lovely surroundings, wonderful, friendly, unobtrusive service, and world-class breakfasts. I look forward to my next visit . . . and my next!

Room Tip: No fancy amenities -- but more than comfortable living quarters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

What a lovely B&B in Niagara-on-the-Lake with an amazing hostess, Anca Buture. We stayed in her 2 bedroom suite with a sitting room area with TV and movie viewing and a full kitchenette with tea, coffee and fridge. Queen beds with full closets, 4 piece bathroom. A very quiet street and a real sense of privacy. great for 2 couples traveling together or a family. We will stay again for sure. Walking distance to downtown area and Shaw Festival theatres

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed in the upstairs suite with a private entrance, private bath, fully equipped kitchen (sans stove), large sitting room and a bedroom with two queen beds. The rooms were immaculate. The five-star gourmet breakfasts were different each day and were served en suite. The hostess Anca was always available for travel advice and to help if we encountered any problems - which we didn't. The B&B is four blocks from the Old Town shopping district and the Shaw Festival.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kensee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Prairie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is my kind of B&B! I love the fact that we had our own very cozy apartment space (we stayed in the 2 bedroom unit); but still got the benefits of a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Our host, Anca, is a wonderful person and made our stay very comfortable. This is the place I will recommend to my friends when they go to Niagara on the Lake and I will definitely stay there again!

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dmeneice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley.CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

In addition to very comfortable beds and a cozy living room in which to relax the breakfasts served every morning were amazing. We had never before had five course breakfasts with such variety. We were there for four nights and the menu was delicious and different each morning. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. The B and B is withing walking distance of the theaters and downtown.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawPlays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

What an outstanding stay for the Tasta of Niagara event. Anca is a perfect hostess - wonderful accommodations and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itravel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

I was delighted to return to the Williams Gate (I think that this was our 10th stay) and this time we came, with family and friends, to experience NOTL through its fine restaurants and vintners. We (my husband, a brother and several friends) attended the Progressive Dinner, an annual event in the late winter/early spring, at the suggestion of our hostess, Anca Butura. What a wonderful weekend. Anca was right; we had a delightful time! The people of NOTL are lovely. And at the head of the class is Anca, the heart and soul of the Williams Gate B&B. Our stay at the B&B was wonderful, as usual, and it was an extra treat to wake up to breakfast of delightful recipes each morning - prepared with such care. When she told us how she made the Peach preserves, I thought myself the luckiest girl in the world. It was good to be back to the WGB&B - and it is fun to see how every time we stay, we see the updates, the changes, the improvements Anca is making to the little white house with the big heart. I suppose a B&B is like art - it is never quite finished. There is always something to do, some changes you want to make when you are as dedicated as Anca is, to making the WGB&B the best that it can be. Finally, Anca, I was not surprised to learn, is very well respected and loved among the other B&B owners, restauranteurs and vinters who participated in the Progressive Dinner. It made me proud to participate, as her B&B guests. Thanks, Anca!

Room Tip: Any room is great; both apartments are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQ042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#6 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#2 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#11 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites

Property: Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites
Address: 413 Gate Street | Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy and comfort at its best, with all the conveniences of a B&B in Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, within walking distance to Main Street. Two private suite accommodations (one or two queen bedrooms), each with its own living room, eat-in kitchenette, bathroom and separate entrance. Full home cooked and baked breakfast served en-suite at guests' leisure, open all year round with low season rates and promotions from November to end of April, each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing