We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home for 3 days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Our home for 3 days”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I with our mother in law wanted to go to the Shaw Festival Sunday (wonderful by the way) and decided to make a short holiday out of it. We were pleasantly surprised with the NOTL convenient location for the vineyards and other wide range of activities and places. Williams Gate B&B was a pearl !! Our own private apartment to share as a family was clean, attractive and with comfortable beds. Very elderly- friendly, that important to us. Anca is a wonderful hostess and can cook a most breath taking hot breakfast each morning is worth getting out of bed for. There is private parking- love it and a backyard with a gazebo to enjoy. We loved touring the vineyards we only previously new by name and bringing home a bottle to enjoy with supper in the evenings. The town is beautiful to wonder around. My personal favorite are the majestic trees and well loved gardens surrounding the homes of NOTL. My mother in law was in heaven and could rest anytime she wished. we look forward to our next trip. Thanks Anca

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

First, Anca's breakfasts are delicious and most plentiful. Second, as two friends traveling to the Shaw Festival, we really appreciated that our room had two large, comfy beds. Third, our living room and the backyard gazebo were relaxing, pleasant, homelike places to relax with some wine and cheese. The hostess is friendly but not intrusive. We loved that she brought breakfast to our suite, enabling us to eat in our jammies and robes. You can get a suite on either the first or second floor. The only caution I would have is if you have difficulty with stairs, you might want to reserve the first floor as the stairs to the 2nd floor suite are very steep. We didn't mind them, but I can imagine that some folks might. We left our car in the driveway for the whole time we were there, but the walk might be a bit long for some: 4 blocks off Queen Street and a bit of a distance from there to the Festival Theatre. But a lovely walk during which you will pass charming homes and lovely gardens. We truly enjoyed our stay and fully intend to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritLit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My childhood friends came to visit me in Ontario. We wanted a location close to NOTL for the bike & wine experience but still had privacy to talk and come and go as we needed. Williams Gate is perfect! Clean, great food, quiet, friendly, comfortable beds...really...our own well appointed home to relax in and open up the local wine. Zoom bike rental was also excellent and only 2 blocks away. Walk to NOTL is minutes through beautifully landscaped streets. Thanks Anca -

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AintNoThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we just had a three night stay here for our 26th anniversary weekend. We've stayed at several bed and breakfasts during our 26 years and this was by far the best. It wasn't just a room, it was an apartment. It was spotless and had all the amenities of home. Anca is a wonderful hostess and a great cook. We had a private breakfast in our own kitchen each morning at the time of our choosing. We parked the car upon arrival and were able to walk to downtown within ten to fifteen minutes. Anca's attention to detail made this a perfect anniversary getaway. We're looking forward to coming back next year and hopefully staying longer. Also, we'll be sure to bring our bikes with us next time. Anca informed us that there is a bike trail that goes throughout town and to the falls.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My family and I just returned from a 4 night stay here. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The owner, Anca, was friendly,helpful, and gracious. She made our stay top notch and was very sweet to my children (ages 11 & 9). I also must add that she is a tremendous cook and spoiled us with the most amazing breakfasts. She obviously takes great pride in her property and the two bedroom suite that we stayed in was exceptionally clean and lacked nothing. Furthermore, The town is peaceful and beautiful, with tons of flowers lining the streets,shops and restaurants. We were able to walk or bike everywhere from this bed and breakfast as it is centrally located to most attractions. I would not hesitate to return!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My family of four stayed here for two nights and loved every minute. Our suite was very comfortable and spacious, with two bedrooms, a sitting room, an eat-in kitchen and a bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious (one morning we had eggs benedict, carrot muffins and yogurt-and-fruit parfaits), and were served right in our suite. Anca, the host, is a master of small touches that make a big difference, from chocolates to videos to a pitcher of filtered water that was waiting in our fridge when we arrived--a welcome surprise on a hot day. She even found our fairy-obsessed daughter the perfect book to read. Williams Gate is a short walk from Niagara-on-the-Lake's main shopping and eating streets, but far enough to help keep things quiet. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Beautiful old home with walking distance to downtown Niagara on the Lake. Awesome breakfast and hospitality by Anca. Even though the rooms were meant for 4 people, Anca made an adjustment to let a 5th friend stay with us at her B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2 bedroom Main Floor and both rooms were equally beautiful and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanpaul1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#2 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites

Property: Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites
Address: 413 Gate Street | Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy and comfort at its best, with all the conveniences of a B&B in Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, within walking distance to Main Street. Two private suite accommodations (one or two queen bedrooms), each with its own living room, eat-in kitchenette, bathroom and separate entrance. Full home cooked and baked breakfast served en-suite at guests' leisure, open all year round with low season rates and promotions from November to end of April, each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing