We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
toronto
1 review
“Cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

This was our second time staying at a B&B; it was such a pleasurable visit; truly home away from home! The private suites are clean and very private; the breakfasts are DELICIOUS!!!! The neighborhood is beautiful; just a short walk from the centre of town, it is a very picturesque walk!!
Anca is a very gracious hostess; will definitely go back in the summer!!
Enjoyed our stay immensely!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitchued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

We traveled to Niagara on the Lake for the American Thanksgiving weekend, not in search of Canadian turkey, but in search of a relaxed weekend of simple elegance. And we found it - again. We returned to stay at the WGB&B because we know that we can always find a warm, welcoming smile, total privacy in our own little apartment (there are two, one-floor options, in this larger-than-it-looks-on-the-outside house) which is impeccably clean, delightfully quiet and tastefully decorated. Because we like to travel and have stayed in a wide variety of B&Bs, we feel confident saying that this is the best and we like it the best. Sure, we've stayed at large, fancy B&Bs and we've stayed at B&Bs that are simply a room in a family's home. Each experience has had something interesting and unique to offer. The WGB&B combines the best of a B&B stay. We feel at home, enjoy the wonderful home-cooked breakfast of recipes from the proprietor's homeland (her grandmother's recipes), and enjoy the quiet elegance of this gem. The Williams Gate B&B feels like being a guest in you own home. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

The rooms are beautiful, the hostess, Anca, is gracious and accommodating. The food was consistently excellent and made with fresh ingredients. I am vegetarian, which was not a problem at all for Anca.
We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Unfortunately we only had one night in this accommodation and would have loved to have stayed longer but it was already booked - I'm not surprised. Could hardly believe it when we walked in, it was a perfect home from home - put the kettle on, sit down and switch on the TV or read a book (all provided + DVD.s). Our host was first class and very helpful advising on the local amenities, breakfast was delicious and more than ample. The location is ideal and Niagra on the Lake is beautiful. It was the perfect end to a perfect day at Niagra Falls. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppetUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

This was our third stay at Anca's B 'n B. We enjoy the ambiance there, the relaxed atmosphere, the accommodations, the location, the food and especially the chance to talk with Anca and catch up on her progress in establishing the business and their new life in Canada. We anticipate going there long before the Shaw brochure is in our hands.
Although not centrally located, we welcome the opportunity to leave our car behind and to take a leisurely walk to the various theaters. Our upstairs accommodations were large and ample and included a separate sitting room, a more than ample bedroom, and a large kitchen with a microwave and a full sized refrigerator.
The place is perfect for a relaxed stay, the reception is warm and inviting, the price is right and the whole experience is ideal and worth recommending to others and repeating for ourselves. What more could one ask ?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabond209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

The B&B is located close to the village centre, and the village certainly deserves its reputation as the prettiest village in Canada. The B&B is on a quiet street, but situated only a 5-10 minute walk from shops and restaurants.

The house itself is charming. We stayed in the two-bed suite, and found the rooms wonderfully furnished. Having said that, the door to the bathroom/toilet didn't shut properly.

The owners do have direct access into the property via a door in the kitchen, and we were slightly surprised on a couple of occasions to note the owners standing in the kitchen when we hadn't heard the door open. Although I am sure it was not intended, it did give us a slight sense of unease and lack of privacy.

The B&B is probably perfect for elderly couples, but be careful with young children. Our children are aged 7 and 4, and can be considered well-behaved. However, on the first night, the owner did appear in the kitchen to ask that our children stop running around the house, as it was too noisy in the owner's flat downstairs. For the rest of our stay, our children were conscious of walking quietly, and were paranoid about making the slightest noise. For us, it did mean that the polish was slightly taken off our stay as we found it somewhat difficult to fully relax.

The owner brings breakfast up into the kitchen each morning. We were given no real choice as to breakfast, although we did start to ask for specific foods towards the end of our stay. Initially, the owner said that breakfast would be available at any time from 8:30am onwards - this did create a problem for our planned early start into Niagara Falls. On the last day, we needed to leave the B&B early, so asked for breakfast at 7:30am. The owner agreed, but we got the impression that it was not to be encouraged. I should add, however, that the quality of food was excellent.

Therefore, this is a difficult B&B to rate. In terms of the house itself, its location, its furnishings and its cleanliness, it deserves nothing less than 5 stars. However, in terms of a relaxed stay with young children - no.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

We spent three wonderful nights at Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast. Anca greeted us with a warm smile and information on the region and her hospitality just continued from there. We stayed in the lower suite which was very spacious, comfortably decorated, had access to internet, and stocked with teas and coffee. And the breakfast.....WOW! It was amazing with the omelets truly being the best we have ever had, the smoothies topped with a hint of fresh grown mint, the best sourcream raisin pie ever, fresh fruit,and dishes with just the perfect touch of spices. Anca was also quick to remember our daughter does not care for tomatoes and even turned the living room light on for us one night when we were out late at the Theater so that we had a welcome entrance home. She is very respectful of privacy too and even the breakfasts are brought directly to your suite. Would we return? In a heartbeat. Bonnie from Calgary, Canada

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#6 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#2 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#11 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites

Property: Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites
Address: 413 Gate Street | Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy and comfort at its best, with all the conveniences of a B&B in Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, within walking distance to Main Street. Two private suite accommodations (one or two queen bedrooms), each with its own living room, eat-in kitchenette, bathroom and separate entrance. Full home cooked and baked breakfast served en-suite at guests' leisure, open all year round with low season rates and promotions from November to end of April, each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Williams Gate Bed and Breakfast Private Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing